We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value and Great People!”
Review of Parrot Cove Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parrot Cove Lodge
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Value and Great People!”
Reviewed 7 May 2007

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at the Parrot Cove Lodge and loved it! We rented a car in Belize City and drove there ourselves, which was an adventure in itself. The roads are bad in some places and some of the signs leaving the airport weren’t clearly marked. I would recommend taking a plane to Dangeria and having the airport pick you up – It’s faster and more comfortable. When we got to the hotel the manager showed us around and made us feel right at home. The next day (when we got up in the daylight) we couldn’t believe our eyes! The hotel is beautiful! It is on the same strip of sand as all those other hotels, just as nice, and less expensive! Everyone we met there was friendly and helpful. One day we decided to go on a hike – the manger cleaned a cooler himself for us, packed it with ice and cold water and even offered to give us snacks for the trip! Little things like that during our entire stay made all the difference. Thank you Ralph and Mr. Williams for your kindness and hospitality.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sieralshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    68
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
103
114
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maple Lake, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2007

This is a small, cozy resort located on a beautiful stretch of beach. The accomodations were clean, the staff friendly, and the food was so good we never wanted to venture anywhere else for a meal. The management took care of arranging all of our activities for us, from reef fishing, snorkeling and visiting the maya ruins. We were thoroughly pampered and my kids (14, 11 & 9 yrs. old) can't wait to go back! Thank you Parrot Cove's staff for creating wonderful memories for my family.

  • Liked — The friendly and very helpful staff
  • Disliked — nothing come to mind
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JaneMapleLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2007

My girlfriend and I just spent 10 days at Parrot Cove Lodge. We got back to Canada on January 7th. We loved it, the people are the friendliest people we have ever met. The food at the Parrott Cove Lodge was outstanding, the service was great but a little slow at times but what is your rush, you are on holidays not in the drive through at McDonalds. RELAX, the food is great and the prices are very reasonable, it is well worth the wait. The staff always greets you with a smile. The Chef, has a great menu.

It’s not easy to get to Parrott Cove Lodge, the roads were bad, we had to take a small plane from Belize City to Dangriga. What is it worth to get to paradise? The people of Hopkins and the staff of Parrot Cove Lodge were great The food, wow, try everything on the menu, take our word, you won’t be disappointed. You will find that Parrot Cove is the best place to eat along the whole stretch of resorts. Get to know the staff and the people of Hopkins. All of the staff is from the village of Hopkins. That is the magic of Belize. If you are a couple that wants romance you got it. My girlfriend and I had the most romantic time together. We saw 3 families that did it all and had a great time. From Parrot Cove you have a number of activities to fill your day from deep sea fishing, snorkeling, kayaking, scuba diving and horseback riding or just hanging out at the beach. We did it all and had the time of our life, from catching a 14 lb yellow fin jack on the Sittee River and taking it to the chef to cook for dinner. We took a few trips to Hopkins on the bikes and spent some time with the locals of Hopkins. That is a must do, spend some time with George the carver go to the New Town Bar for karaoke and get to know the people. We played Uno every chance we could. In closing, Parrot Cove Lodge isn’t a 5 star 2000 room resort thank god. We felt safe and part of the community staying there. We will return and have recommended Parrot Cove to everyone we have talked to since we got back from our trip. To the staff at Parrot Cove Lodge, keep doing what you are doing. We miss you and talk about our great time in Belize every day.

James & Farinaz
January 24, 2007

  • Liked — The Food and the people
  • Disliked — Limited Internet and TV
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank JRcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2006

Near the end of the beach where the other resorts are, and this is definitely the most economical, but very nice and clean. More your Comfort Inn/Residence Inn type of nice, not your 5star resort nice, but who hangs out in their room when you're 20 feet from the beach? They have snorkeling gear that you can use, but it's not the nicest, pretty 'rental equipment' grade. They also offer bikes to ride into town, which is nice, and sea kayaks, which we used every morning. What makes this hotel stand out is that the staff is absolutely wonderful! When I left my wallet with a friend a few towns over, they tracked it down and made phone calls all day while I was out snorkeling, and had it sent to me the next morning. They also will give cash advances for a very reasonable fee since there are no ATMs on site. If you need a ride into Dangriga, or decide to fly to Belize City at the last minute, they will set it all up for you. Our driver Jose was very friendly when he drove us to Dangriga, and we chatted like we were old friends. In short, can't say enough about the helpful staff. Also, there are local people that walk up and down the beach in the morning selling mayan masks and other things, it's definitely worth a look, and much cheaper than anywhere else in the area.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jarrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
16.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
23.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
#3 of 11 in Hopkins
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Cove Lodge

Property: Parrot Cove Lodge
Address: False Sittee Point, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Parrot Cove Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beach just south of the village of Hopkins, Parrot Cove Lodge is a petit resort centrally located between the reef and the rainforest. Parrot Cove Lodge is the perfect location whether you are seeking offshore and inland adventures, or simply looking for rest and relaxation. We are the home of Chef Rob’s Gourmet Café one of Belize’s top ranked restaurants, and 'love on the Rocks' stone grill dining. Come enjoy the Caribbean breeze under the open-air thatch roof of our pier, relax at our fresh water pool and let your adventure begin as you explore the many wonders of Belize! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parrot Cove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Cove Hotel Hopkins
Parrot Cove Lodge Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing