We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot -- Great Country”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 October 2007

This is a great spot in a great travel destination. I highly recommend Hamanasi. The people are great! If you need more room the resort next door (Belizean Dreams) has full villas and is also WONDERFUL.

We will return!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank PositiveVibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,835 - 1,841 of 1,944 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2007

We spent our honeymoon in Hamanasi and had the most amazing time! We were fortunate enough to get in after hurricane Dean and out before Felix. It was great weather with only one day of scattered rain. It rained mostly at night which was perfect for sleeping. I would highly recommend going during the "off season". We felt like we had the place to ourselves. With fewer people during this part of the season it made the tours feel practically private. The Hamanasi property is beautiful and all the employees are so kind and accomodating. We highly recommend the treehouses, especially if your going for a romantic getaway. The food was delicious, although if you go next door to Belizean Dreams the food and beer is just as good and way cheaper. We chose to purchase just the room and pay for the excursions and food separately. It came out cheaper overall doing this and you have the option of a change of scenary for dinner by going in to town or to another resort down the shoreline.

The happy hour at Hamanasi is a great way to meet other guests! Joe is a great bartender and he has great card tricks to show off!

As for the excursions we suggest the Mayan tours, snorkeling and definitely the cave tubing....so worth it! Next trip were doing the Mayflower tour, everyone said that was unbelievable!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nikkioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2007

We first found out about Hamanasi through its website and then read all the reviews on tripadvisor - and they were all true! From the first contact through Hamanasi's website, Stephanie was always courteous and helpful in answering all of our questions and we could not wait to leave for our trip!

We had decided to purchase our trip directly through the hotel and purchased our trip insurance ourselves - thank goodness! We flew with Delta Airlines and booked online with a transfer in Atlanta. We saw our one checked bag taken off of the plane and set aside - but that was the last we saw of it that day as our bag did not show up in Belize! Unfortunately, all of our clothes and bathing suits were in the bag. When we got to Hamanasi, we spoke with Stephanie who could not have been more wonderful! She helped us find some clothing at the gift shop that would fit until we received our bag. She also asked for our claim information, handled all of the phone calls to Delta that day and the next day and coordinated with the adjacent hotel to have our bag driven from Dangriga to our hotel (because our hotel had already left Dangriga airport by the time our bag had arrived) until our bag was returned to our room! Diego was also wonderful and made sure to let us know the status of our bag throughout the day and sought us out to let us know it had arrived!

Though it was the rainy season and hurricane season, we were fortunate to have traveled between Hurricane Dean and Hurricane Felix and it only rained once during the day in our week long stay. One of the main attractions to Hamanasi was the snorkeling, which was not quite what we thought it would be. We snorkeled twice - once from the dedicated snorkel boat and once from an island. The visibility was okay on both trips, which may have been a result of the storms. We snorkeled from the island because it was just my husband and I who went snorkeling that day, which was nice to have a guide all to ourselves! The guide was wonderful and he pointed out an octopus, lobster, eel, and numerous fish! On the trip from the boat there were more people but the guide was still great! He also pointed out various sites and we swam in an area with at least 12-15 rays in the sand - it was awesome! We had signed up to do the birding trip but it had rained rather hard for several hours overnight and into the morning and the road to travel to the area was flooded!

While the breakfast fare did get old by the end of the week, lunch was always tasty - especially the steak sandwich! Dinner was always delicious and there was a nice selection. All of the staff was superb - the chef even came out during lunch one time and had samples of a wonderful seafood souffle made with lobster, shrimp and plantains for us to try and let her know what we thought since she was considering adding to the menu!

We purchased our room (go for one of the treehouses - ours was beautiful and totally worth it!), excursions, transfers from Belize City to Dangriga on Maya Island Air and from Dangriga to the resort, and prepaid meals individually. Overall, we could not have been happier with the resort and definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank StLSnorkelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

I decided to do something different to celebrate my 50th birthday and along with 8 of my closest family and friends headed to Hamanasi. What a great experience. The accomodations were beautiful, the staff was fun, friendly and accomodating. There were fresh flowers in my room and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. The dive boat crew was great, helpful and experienced. The reef was awesome and we saw amazing things, even 2 manatee. I also recommend the Howler Monkey Jungle tour. What beautiful foliage and we saw so many animals. Don't miss the Mayan Ruins. Such an awe inspiring sight. And the Hamanasi staff makes a delicious Birthday Cake! I can't say enough about how welcoming an environment they have created. King is a truly gifted mixologist and entertainer. I hope to return someday!

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank helty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2007

I can't say enough good things about Hamanasi. The accomodations were beautiful, but comfortable. The food was delicious--there was a wonderfully prepared and unique vegetarian option each night, as well as a selection of other tasty meals. My husband and I chose the Reef and Rainforest Adventure package and made full use of it--the diving was great, the Mayflower/Waterfall hike tough but worth it, the St. Herman's cave hike was unlike anything I've experienced before, and the Mayan ruin tour was informative and interesting. The staff at Hamanasi were welcoming and friendly during our entire stay. It was a great time of year to be at the resort as the season is dying down--for two of our tours, it was just my husband, the guide, and me. We also enjoyed getting to know the other guests from all over the world during happy hour. Now, if we can just figure out where to buy Belikin state-side....

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jlneumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2007

If you are the type of person who wants a peaceful, non crowded, but adventurous vacation, you have to go to Hamanasi Resort in Belize! To keep the budget under control, we booked the 8 day/7 night Reef and Rain Forest Adventure package. Our family, including two young teens, had a vacation that not only met, but exceeded our expectations. Our primary mission was to find a vacation that everyone in the family would enjoy and to have flexibility for each to be able to choose daily activities based upon individual interests. The kids and I went on the dive trip each day, while my husband the birder divided his time between diving and jungle hikes. The food was fabulous, plentiful (so much so that three of us started ordering half servings at dinner by the second evening) and made with fresh from the market produce. The staff went out of their way to solve our two emergencies and make each of our experiences nothing but fun. We all loved the dive and adventure staff. By the end of the week, I was a true believer in Hamanasi and the nation of Belize. Thinking about returning is not an option, but a requirement, especially to dive with the whale sharks in the spring and to this time book early enough for a tree house. See you there!

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank susan1417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2007

There was nothing I didn't like about this place!!!
My family went to Hamanasi and shared a 2-bedroom room. The room was really comfortable and had a great porch facing the ocean.
The grounds are small but clean, and the pool is really nice. There are hammocks in the trees just off the beach, as well as hammocks at the end of the pier.
We took two snorkeling trips, which I HIGHLY recommend. We also did a rainforest walk and a tour of Mayan ruins.
The staff was amazing, and remembered everyone's name. All in all it was a great week

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cate-h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
10.5 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
999 reviews
22.3 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
648 reviews
22.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

Address: Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Green Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range: £129 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Belize on and offshore! Hamanasi is a secluded, casually elegant eco-resort. Unwind in spacious tree houses, beach front rooms and suites with AC, private porches and gorgeous hardwood furnishings. On property has a full service restaurant, bar, pool, lush gardens and a Gold Palm 5 star PADI dive facility. Onshore, explore Mayan ruins, Jaguar Preserve, caves, jungle rivers and rain forest waterfalls. All inclusive packages, Honeymoon and romance packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Hotel Hopkins
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing