We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was simply fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 May 2011

It's a great place for diving, rain forests and archeologic adventures. But best of all, it's a great place of beauty in which to just relax! We had planned to stay two nights in one of the tree houses and and two nights in one of the ocean front rooms, but we found the novelty and calm of the tree house so wonderful, that we spent all four nights right there. The food was fantastic and the chef highly inventive without being out of touch with reality. The place is intimate enough that you could meet most of the other guests during your stay and what an array of interesting people you'll discover if you just make the effort to greet others! There's wi fi in the lobby, restaurant, and front porch, which was another great way to make the acquaintance of other guests!

When you contact them through their website, the someone will quickly call you back with all the details you'll need to make the reservations process smooth and to arrange your transportation to Hopkins Village. We opted to drive so we could gain an appreciation of the rest of the country, but flying from Belize City is the most common option. This is a truly unusual experience to feel so well looked after BEFORE you even make your booking!

Every member of the staff continues to focus on making your short vacation in their land of paradise a magical experience right up until the minute you leave the property to return to reality, wondering how soon you can return.

Room Tip: Get a tree house for at least part of your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRSDiscerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,458 - 1,464 of 1,982 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

Hamanasi didn't have availability for our full holiday time so we opted to split the vacation between it and Turneffe Island Resort.
Whilst Hamanasi has superb service (American style customer service of the highest quality) and accommodation I would just raise some of the downsides of the resort:
- It takes a very long time to get to the dive sites. These can be bumpy rides.
- The all inclusive "packages" don't include many of the dive sites (i.e. whale shark trip and can't even be partly offset against those extra costs)
- The package deal food is relatively limited/repetitive for the evening meal. For instance there was one "new" dessert choice each night but otherwise the usual ice cream, or banana based options.

On the plus side:
- Excellent lunch and main course menu (starter option just salad or soup on the package deal)
- Excellent service - staff clearly well trained - always introduced themselves and remembered your name
- Dive centre was professional and friendly but lacked the level of attentive service elsewhere in the hotel
- Beachfront accommodation was actually very nice and on reflection I preferred it to the treetops option
- Wifi access was good. Only available in the main building and the rooms adjacent to the restuarant
- Happy hour a little on the early side (4-6pm) but nice atmosphere in the bar
- Mayan ruins trip was worthwhile. Pleasant guide, plenty to see and a nice picnic lunch
- We got to see whale sharks!

Room Tip: Loved the beechfront rooms. No need for the trees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mariemusicademy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I can't say enough about the staff at Hamanasi, they go out of their way to make your stay a rememberable one. We did lots of trips, both on land and off, our guides were amazing! They really know their culture and history, and there was never a dull moment. Belize is a beautiful country and the people are very friendly,

The food was very good at Hamanasi, with a menu that changes overnight. When my daughter asked if they had chocolate soufflé on the menu, they promised her that she would get one before the end of the week, and they kept their promise!

I would go back in a heart beat and recommend to any family that has a sense of adventure!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bberquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My father and I recently returned from a great 9 day stay at Hamanasi. I consider it very good luck that we found this wonderful resort. We "found" Hamanasi on its website after searching for a trip that would combine adventure, scuba diving, and the option for peaceful relaxation with luxury accomodations. The trip was prompted by a recent serious medical diagnosis for my father, so we were looking for a special place for a father and son trip. We certainly found it at Hamanasi.
From the moment we started dealing with the excellent front desk and reservations staff, we were so happy with all the personal touches at Hamanasi. We felt welcomed as family, and treated as such throughout our stay. Every day the Hamanasi staff checked to make sure we were doing well and having a good time. I deeply appreciated the special care they showed for me and my father, and all the friendly warm smiles that greeted us everywhere made so much difference.
We stayed in a deluxe treehouse, and it was perfect. Nestled in a grove of tropical trees at the end of a lovely pathway of paving stones winding through flowers and plants, the treehouse was spacious, private, beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. The large tropical hardwood deck provided a lovely quiet place to rest, nap, read, listen to bird song, or just swing on the hammock.
The public areas of Hamanasi are equally lovely and the grounds keepers keep everyting emmaculate, while still following ecofriendly gardening practices. The swimming pool and grounds are clean and beautiful and the deep clear infinity pool is very nice. The bartenders and restaurant staff are great and the food is superb.
The dive shop and dive staff at Hamanasi are absolutely top notch, and the scuba diving is simply fantastic. A trio of dive boats sits on an elevated dock in front of Hamanasi, and in the morning they are loaded with dive gear ready to go. Each divers personal gear is cleaned and checked and brought down fresh each day. Between dives there is fresh fuit, cookies, juice and shore breaks/lunch and then Voila the gear is all changed and ready for the next dive. The dive masters, boat captains, and deck hands are all wonderful. They are expert, friendly, helpful and great fun to be with on a long day of diving. The dive orientations, safety briefings, dive site quality, safety stops, and attention to detail are great. I am not surprised that they are a PADI 5 star Gold resort. Thanks to all the great dive staff for a wonderful experience, and for taking such great care of us.
The land adventures at Hamanasi are also great, although we were so thrilled with the diving that we only experienced the Mayan ruins trip, and the Monkey River tour. The guides on the land tours are excellent teachers with great knowledge and expertise. It was my first visit to Mayan ruins and I learned a lot. On the Monkey River tour we saw birds, bats, Howler monkeys, crocodiles, and manatees.
We stayed for nine days, but I would love to have stayed longer. Thank-you to everyone at Hamanasi for making the trip so special. There are so many positive things aout Hamanasi and Belize in general, but it was particularly the wonderful people that made the difference.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhkimmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Best place on earth to have your teenager Open Water Certified from start to finish.

Lighthouse/Blue Hole Dive is a great 3 tank value with totally different profiles!
Whale Shark Dive with in 5 days of the full moon April/May is a must!
Scuba gear on sight is top notch and schlepped for you-nice touch!
Air was never short filled-PSI was always 3,000+
Viz had some plankton this trip so it was good but not spectacular.
Great Walls; Reefs & Coral; Swim-Throughs; 3 species of Turtles including a 600 lb logger head; shark; whale shark; eels; sea horses; many kinds of ray many little fishes as well. Quality dives are the norm.

The Guides and Staff are genuinely proud of your having a successful visit.
Try the Snapper Sandwich at Lunch. Always fresh and hits the spot.
4-6PM Happy Hours are financially rewarding and a great place to share iPad Pics and stories from the days adventures.

The Bar is open from 11 am on. Meals are somewhat structured with a start and stop time. Breakfast menu rotates a bit w/ fresh fruit as the constant. Lunch was my favorite.
Dinners generally had 3 different entrée' and they changed every night. Dinner was fairly hearty and deserts were tasty, People from other lodges would find their way to Hamanasi for the food and the diving so there must be an edge there.

Every family I visited with were having time of their lives. Kids from 8-18 were were not wanting to leave, saying "Lets stay another week, or "Can we come back?" Good family chemistry seemed get great and greater day by day. Kid's of all ages loved the In Land Adventures. Rooms were spacious, clean and reasonably well appointed. The beds and linens were first rate. The AC was a welcome friend. Fresh bottled water in the rooms a another nice touch. The Rubba Dubba soap was something to buy at the gift shop.

While day 1 and day 2 at Hamanasi might strike you as being "too quiet" it is because people are properly exhausted from or are out on adventure of one kind or another.
We would suggest you get in the adventure groove right after you settle in.
Divers w/ under water cameras were a hit at happy hour showing their trophy shots.


Casual clothes, great hiking footwear and a good camera is all you need.
Bring 100 % Deet if your skin can handle it for jungle trips and evenings.
The are was SAFE! You can jog up to and around Hopkins at day break w/o a worry.
Use the 100% Deet though.
English is the dominate language.
Most visitors at Hamanasi are UK; Europe; US and Canada.

The most amazing take a way is the culture of the people you have serving you. Genuine, articulate and sharing.

Hamanasi is a versatile choice. Hard core divers; Hard Core Nature lovers or hikers; Couples and families of any configuration will be pleased. These different groups co exist perfectly in the Lodge Like surroundings.

Room Tip: Suites for families/Tree Houses for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IceHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Just got back from a week at Hamanasi Resort in Hopkins, Belize. What can I say? The resort was beautiful. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Kudos and thanks to Toby, Elvis, King, Golden, Stephanie, Norton, C-Dog, Ian, John, Mark, Richard, Pedro, Boots and all of the others. The Chef is talented. The guides are knowledgeable. The premises are clean and pristine. The relaxation factor is high and the stress factor is low. If you want to relax and experience beautiful reef diving and snorkeling and wonderful Mayan ruins and culture...go to Hamanasi.

Room Tip: Talk to Gilda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stetlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hamanasi for our honeymoon and were blown away by the beautiful accommodations and the incredible staff. We chose an all inclusive reef and rainforest adventure package because I am an archaeology student and we are both divers. This is the best dive resort we have ever stayed at! The dive team is knowledgable, courteous and well equipped. Our rainforest adventures were the Mayan ruins tour and horseback riding, both were wonderful! I am a vegetarian and for each excursion where lunch was served they provided me with a very tasty vegetarian meal. Dinners and breakfasts at the resort were delicious as well, with good variety. We stayed in a honeymoon suite with a view of the beach, a porch with a hammock and the best bed I've ever slept on. This may sound like an exaggerated review but it honestly was this wonderful! I didn't want to leave and I'm already trying to plan a return trip. Thank you to the Hamanasi staff for a most memorable honeymoon!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wyckedsizter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
10.5 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
1,035 reviews
22.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#7 of 13 in Hopkins
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 13 in Hopkins
877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 13 in Hopkins
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

Address: Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Green Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range: £127 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Belize on and offshore! Hamanasi is a secluded, casually elegant eco-resort. Unwind in spacious tree houses, beach front rooms and suites with AC, private porches and gorgeous hardwood furnishings. On property has a full service restaurant, bar, pool, lush gardens and a Gold Palm 5 star PADI dive facility. Onshore, explore Mayan ruins, Jaguar Preserve, caves, jungle rivers and rain forest waterfalls. All inclusive packages, Honeymoon and romance packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Hotel Hopkins
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing