We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dragging me to the bus to leave”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Galena, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“dragging me to the bus to leave”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Will be leaving here in 15 minutes, wanted to review while still fresh. Great location on the Beach, extremely clean and very consious on keeping it that way. Not one bad meal the entire stay 7 days. Excellant fruit for breakfast and lunchs fresh, but diners meals were the the highlight. Bikes to ride, kayaks avaialble art any time. I recieved my open water diving certificate here and Mario was great. I recomended him to different people and thay all loved his attitude. He was fabulous with a young man that was slightly disabled and could not get the knaack of diving. He was smooth and gentle and let him know thaat he was not going to be ale to be a diver. He handled it great.

I had a bite that hit on the ankle during a hike. swelled up pretty big, the staff arranged for a doctor to come to site very quickly and give some required shots. They went above and beyond during and after the accidednt. They were almost as good as a mother in that degree.

we would suggest to anyone that wants to simply relax, but they have so many activities for you to do, you could easily go home more tired than when you arrived.

Room Tip: Beachfront is really nice but not as secluded as the tree houses. We stayed in #9 two nights beachf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric n Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,772
    66
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
471
1,052
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville,TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Let me start by saying that I have never written a review and think that sometimes people are paid to write some of the things that they say...so this is highly unusual for me to do something like this, but I had to let others know about my experience at Hamanasi.
This is the best vacation that I have ever had...and I've been to Jamacia, Mexico, Dominica Republic, etc. This place is absolutely top notch and blows them all away. From the time you arrive you feel welcome. Melonie, at the front desk, makes things happen. She was so accommodating and helped us set up everything that we wanted to do. The staff is amazing as they will call you by your name during your stay. We were at the pool one afternoon talking about how cool it would be to have one of the coconuts that were up in the trees that surround the pool, and how we would like to taste the coconut milk. Well, the next day at the pool Franklin, the pool boy, walks over to us and hands us a fresh coconut with a straw in it. He says "I thought you guys might want this". Franklin was awesome, he went out of his way to ensure that we were comfortable and didn't want for anything...thanks Franklin! There are other instances where a staff member overheard us talking about something and the next thing we knew we had it or it was being set up for us. It is that kind of attention to detail that sets this place apart from all others.
The diving was great as well. We were able to go on 4 dives and 2 snorkling trips in the week we were there. One of the dive instructors, Mario, was very knowledgeable and patient. He really knew his stuff and knew where to go to see really neat stuff...thanks Mario!
In addition to the water activities there were a lot of inland adventures as well. We went to the Mayan ruins, zip lining, horseback riding through orange groves and the jungle and just drove around town in a golf cart one afternoon. There is so much to do there...or you could just chill by the pool or on the beach. I also have to give a shout out to Ambro, I made a request for something exotic, and kinda elusive that I was after all week and on the last day he walks up and hands it to me...thanks Ambro!
As you can tell, we had a great time. You cannot go wrong with this place, I guarantee it!

Room Tip: the honeymoon suite was really nice...but so was the treehouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles and Jen... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My family and I have done 4 dives so far with Mario and Martin from the Hamanasi dive shop. They were fantastic! My family were all advance divers and I am only a beginner so I felt really nervous before our first dive of the trip. Once I got into the water I started to panic because I felt really uncomfortable and a little terrified. Mario quickly helped me calm down my nervous and got me to focus and breathe. He was extremely patient and kind and helped me get back into the swing of diving. He was literally my xanax!! Mario and Martin were great masters for all levels of divers. I'm hoping we can dive with them on our final two dives. I would highly recommend diving with these two dive masters!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Our fourth trip back to Hamanasi was as wonderful as the previous three! This is a place for those seeking a small, quiet, intimate resort where staff and guests can get to know each other. The food is wonderful, the adventures are even better than described on the resort website, and the pristine reef is heaven for divers of all ability. The dive staff is incredible - our daughter certified there 4 years ago as a 14 year old and is still talking about the experience (her dive instructor is still at Hamanasi). We will return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Everything was fantastic - staff who all know your name, rooms are great, love the eco friendly part a lot, hanging out at the pool, meeting the other guests who were as friendly as the staff, trips they take you on. Saw tons of birds, fish, beautiful coral. Nothing bad to say about the place.

Room Tip: We liked the beach front room but we met a couple in the tree house and liked the privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlw56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Hamanasi is paradise, but paradise staffed by a most genuine, kind hearted gracious people. The staff in every area seem genuinely open hearted, interested in making the guest's stay in Belize as pleasant, informative and memorable as possible.
Accommodations are very comfortable, clean and perfectly appointed. Dining room and bar are casual, relaxed and have everything you could desire. Activities are varied and well organized.
The now famous "scuba whisperer", Mario, was able to relax a very nervous diver into certifying as a PADI Scuba Diver, a miracle worker!
We would not hesitate to recommend this resort, or to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyDoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed at Hamanasi in April for a week and had a wonderful experience. Since the reviewers have highlighted some of the strengths so many times, I wanted to comment on the great time we had SCUBA diving with their team. Our daughter, 12, arrived having only had a couple of resort dives in swimming pools. Mario in the dive shop spent a whole day with her in the pool to get her through the confined water training. At the same time, he patiently taught my 10 year old what he needed to a resort dive in the ocean. And he reviewed the rusty diver topics with me. Then he took all of us diving, masterfully minding our novice 10 year old and teaching our 12 year old what she needed to get certified. The other dive instructors seemed great too but Mario is excellent.

The dive boat was well organized and well staffed. We had a total of four great dives over two days at beautiful spots that were about 30 minutes out with a pleasant snack break in between the dives each day on an idyllic little island where Hamanasi provided fruits, punch, and cookies. It was the perfect place to initiate the kids to diving and I’d like to think we’ll go back to get our other kids certified there some day. There are deeper dives further out, but for the kids the close reef dives at 40’ depth were just right.

Another day we wanted to go snorkeling but since we have a 7 year old he was nervous about doing it from the boat. So Hamanasi left us and a guide on the same little island referenced above and we swam out to a beautiful snorkeling spot from there. We had a mellow morning goofing around on the island before going back to the mainland with the dive boat. The guide was friendly, knowledgeable, and pointed out all sorts of fish and managed to encourage a massive lobster to come out of his lair so we could gawk at him.

Since our 7 year old had to sit out one morning because we all diving, the hotel arranged a sitter. She had two boys of her own and our son had fun with her. All of the staff were friendly to him that they all knew him by name at the end of the week. They helped him collect coconuts and get the juice out, etc. He was in Heaven.

Hamanasi’s flexibility in putting the snorkerling outing together for us really impressed me since they have multiple dive boats and inland adventures going daily but they still wanted to get a custom outing just right for us. But as you can tell from the other reviews, that is their way!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.3 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
10.5 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
22.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

Property: Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Address: Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Green Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Belize on and offshore! Hamanasi is a secluded, casually elegant eco-resort. Unwind in spacious tree houses, beach front rooms and suites with AC, private porches and gorgeous hardwood furnishings. On property has a full service restaurant, bar, pool, lush gardens and a Gold Palm 5 star PADI dive facility. Onshore, explore Mayan ruins, Jaguar Preserve, caves, jungle rivers and rain forest waterfalls. All inclusive packages, Honeymoon and romance packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Hotel Hopkins
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing