We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great down time”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Parker, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great down time”
Reviewed 18 May 2008

This review is a little late...We traveled to Belize in December and went for the diving. I had seen the ads for Hamanasi in all the dive magazines and the "Reef and Rainforest" Pacakge caught my attention. Some great, some mediocre reviews...

Great- rooms- very pretty, each with own deck, clean, large, georgeous 4poster mahagony bed, a safe is in the room, too.

Dining- spectacular- alwasy a treat- never boring dinners- lunches got old- but they were still good- I guess we just got spoiled getting to look at a new meun every night for dinner! I hope they haven't taken the orange pound cake off the menu! It's simple but perfect.

At the end of the boat dock there are 2 hammocks- perfect for just being...

Staff- great- very polite- learned names, which at first I thought strange but heck, it's small and you're spending a week with these people- it's fun to get to know them!

Dive Staff- very helpful- you didn't have to lift a finger getting your gear to/from the boat.

Giftshop- who would think this is somethign to write home about but it is...they had a lot of handicrafts- pottery, wood carvings, art work..we bought it all! Be sure to get the "bar game"...just ask.

Notes for divers: The house reef gets old, real quick. They say they'll take out dive boats to Glovers, Blue Hole, etc. but we had to convice all the other divers there to sign up (extra $100pp) so we could go dive the good stuff. It's about an hour and 20 minutes out to Glovers but it is SO worth the extra money and time. I wish we had been able to go to Blue Hole but apparently there were not as many avid divers there to warrant the trips. Oh well, another time.

Location: remember this is a 3rd world country....so venturing away from the resort into town, well there is not much. Plan to stay put unless on one of the guided trips.

Noseeums: Bring lots of bug spray- better safe than sorry. Weather changed on us one day, and the noseeums just about ate me alive. Seriously. Of course if you forget it, the gift shop has some deep-woodsOff and some cortizone...we bought that too.

  • Liked — calm, quite, staff, food, location
  • Disliked — nada
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank puggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,817
    67
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
489
1,077
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2008

Hamanasi is the perfect vacation resort! From the friendly staff to the smallest detail our stay at Hamanasi went above and beyond our expectations! I have never felt more welcomed and relaxed on a vacation. We spent 7 days out of our 2 week trip at Hamanasi and it was absolutely the best part of our trip. The food was delicious and provided so many different options every day. If you really want to get away and relax this is it! There are hammocks tucked under palms with the ocean at your feet. The grounds are amazing with a variety of plants and lots of birds. I cannot say enough about the service and staff at this resort. I have never received such superb service and attention. Each and every individual genuinely makes sure that you are taken care of and are having a great time. Not only the staff at the resort, but all of the tour guides were also fabulous. We went on 6 different trips from snorkeling- hiking- Mayan ruins- they offer everything you could ever want to experience in Belize. Again- if you are looking for a resort with it all- this is it. The best part about it is that Hamanasi is not like other big noisy, busy resorts- they really do things perfectly to make your stay the best it can be. I would definitely recomend this resort- it truly is a wonderful resort! We loved it and hope to return very soon!

  • Liked — Peaceful, quiet, no screaming kids, not busy, very relaxed, excellent service
  • Disliked — We loved everything about Hamanasi!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mountaingirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2008

We spent 9 days at Hamanasi in April/May 2008 and had our wedding there. The staff is super friendly and very accommodating; every staff member is willing to go out of their way to help. We stayed in one of the treehouses, which was great--very private and simply beautiful. Hamanasi took care of all the wedding details--all we had to do was show up. The adventure trips were so much fun and the tour guides were very knowledgeable about everything Belize. The packages, which include room, meals, and adventure trips, are a great deal. The food was superb. The atmosphere at the resort is so laid back and relaxing. This was truly a wonderful vacation! I'd definitely recommend Hamanasi.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing bad to say
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amyb444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2008

Our honeymoon at Hamanasi was as close to perfect as anyone could ask for. From the moment we arrived, the staff immediately began using our names. They were friendly & fun, and they worked hard to fulfill any need that arose.

We loved our treehouse, which was clean & private. And the food was unreal! With a new menu every night, we looked forward to each dinner. The breakfasts & lunches were also very good! They also have a great happy hour with fun half-price drinks & good company.

The resort provides a nice combination of adventure & relaxation. We aren't divers, but it didn't matter. We went snorkeling, did the Mayflower Jungle Hike & went on the Mayan Ruins tour. All of the guides were very knowledgeable, and we learned a lot about the country. We rode into Hopkins on bikes a couple of times & spent the rest of our trip relaxing. We even got massages at another resort, which were able to be billed directly to our room at Hamanasi!

Definitely take some powerful bug repellent to this area, and be prepared that it is in a remote location. Otherwise, if you like a little adventure but also want to be treated like royalty, this is a wonderful place to spend your time! We hope to be back in the next few years!

Helpful?
Thank cdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2008

I spent about half my stay relaxing and the other half being certified for scuba. The staff are amazing and very helpful. Food was great, room was great. I love the small size of the place - it was easy to get to know other travellers but also easy to find privacy, peace and quiet.
The diving was fantastic and the instructor made my certification process a lot of fun. My travel partner has difficulty walking and the staff made special accomodations for her to be able to participate in snorkeling and a Mayan ruins tour. It was fantastic!
I'll be going back!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsmith666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydminster Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2008

The diving and tours are top notch, I will not discuss them because they are well documented on here and on other sites. I will say that the tour guides, dive masters and lunches were very good.

The people are what really made the vacation. Everyone from the guy raking leaves down to the guys and gals manning the front desk are really first rate human beings. Captain Dale inspires confidence, you can tell he knows his craft and the seas on which it travels. Sam, Tony, Elmer, Richard, Bear, and everyone of the dive shop guys were very, very good. King is a wild man and Joe is funny as hell. All the ladies serving dinner were professional and friendly.

The grounds are immaculate. We are talking pristine. Sure there is turtle grass on and around the beach but it just adds to the charm of the place and give you the impression of being unspoiled.

The rooms are very spacious and clean. Beds are adequate but the mattresses could be more comfortable. This is not deal breaking though lol.

The adventure center is top notch. The dive shop is first rate and the boats are very comfortable and well maintained.

The location is remote and very quiet which really appealed to us. There is no option but to relax in the evenings. It is really great.

The food. good god the food is top shelf too! Everything hand made and fresh. It is gourmet but the variety and home made taste ensured that we never got sick of "eating out" so to speak.

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubaloobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2008

We loved our stay at Hamanasi. Our room was spacious and clean, the food was delicious and the staff was always ready to assist in any way they could. Hamanasi is right on a lovely beach and the pool is very nice also. It is a very private resort, perfect for spending time with your significant other because there are no distractions. The tours are worth seeing, the tour guides are knowledgeable but the thing we enjoyed the most was the diving. The dive masters are great and they kept the trip fun and educational. We will definetly go back!

  • Liked — Privacy
  • Disliked — difficult to get to, we had to take 3 flights
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lostintranslation75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
10.5 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
294 reviews
22.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

Property: Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Address: Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Green Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Belize on and offshore! Hamanasi is a secluded, casually elegant eco-resort. Unwind in spacious tree houses, beach front rooms and suites with AC, private porches and gorgeous hardwood furnishings. On property has a full service restaurant, bar, pool, lush gardens and a Gold Palm 5 star PADI dive facility. Onshore, explore Mayan ruins, Jaguar Preserve, caves, jungle rivers and rain forest waterfalls. All inclusive packages, Honeymoon and romance packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Hotel Hopkins
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing