We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Excellent”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 February 2014

At breakfast on the last day, as we were recapping our week, I said I couldn't think of anything that could have improved our vacation at Hamanasi. Shortly after we were asked if we would like a packed lunch for our travels...wow, first time I have been asked that!
We had an amazing time diving, snorkelling, kayaking, zip lining, Mayan tour. The accommodations are great but what puts this resort over the top is the staff...everyone behind and in front of the scene gives the best. Well done!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 2,034 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

We did the 8 day/5 adventures package and stayed in a beachfront room. Enjoyed everything. Resort staff and guides were all top notch. Food was excellent. The snorkeling was so fantastic, we're going to take up scuba to see more when we go back again.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms on ground floor have great view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeff k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

October 2013 was our third stay at Hamanasi. I’m happy to report that everything is still fabulous! The facilities were well-maintained with not a sign of shabbiness or aging over the past few years. The food and service was better than ever! That is saying a lot because it has been stellar in the past.

The thing that most impressed me on this visit was the professionalism of the Hamanasi management and staff. Last fall Belize was deluged with seemingly endless rains which caused massive flooding. The roads to and from Hopkins were impassable the majority of the time we were in Hopkins. In addition, waters rose several feet on the Hamanasi grounds around the tree houses. Never fear! Well thought-out disaster plans were implemented.

Guests were transported to and from Dangriga (the airport) via boat since the roads were impassable. A system of raised planks was quickly constructed so that guests could get to their treehouses without wading through water. Headlamps and escorts were provided to facilitate navigation in the dark. Tours were arranged and rearranged to take best advantage of changing weather conditions. At one point there was concern that waters might continue to rise causing excessive flooding of the facilities. The office staff informed each guest individually of possible evacuation plans assuring everyone that all would be well. Fortunately evacuation didn’t happen, but we all felt calmer knowing that there was a plan in place if conditions worsened. Even though the weather was disappointing for those hoping for a sunny getaway, all the guests remained cheerful and happy. Perhaps this levity was aided by the mixology experts who concocted wonderful Happy Hour drinks like “Vampire Kiss” (on Halloween), “Belizean Storm”, and my personal favorite, “Damn the Weather!” More likely it was due to the excellent communication and outstanding customer service from the entire staff.

The safety, comfort, and happiness of the Hamanasi guests are always a top priority, but never have I seen it manifest in such an impressive manner. If any traveler has qualms about vacationing in Belize, they can rest assured that they will be in good hands if they choose to stay at Hamanasi.

This was our sixth trip to the Hopkins area to do volunteer veterinary work for the Hopkins Belize Humane Society. Hamanasi is very supportive of the HBHS work and the Hopkins community. Another reason to love them! The weather is usually SUPERB…and not to worry if it isn’t!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TMCDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We were told about Hamanasi by my sister who traveled here a year ago and loved it. It was all she said and more. We were primarily here to dive and the diving was great, but what really made it over the top special was the organization, pampering, and incredible dive crew. All we did was get on the boat. Our gear was rinsed nightly and every morning each one of us had our gear set up and ready to go. No schlepping wet gear back to your room or to a locker. The dive masters were fun and met everyone's individual needs. We never dove with more than 6-8 people per group. Most dives we were assigned one dive master for our family of four. We added on Glovers Reef, the Blue Hole, and Lion Fish spearing. All were worth it!
Back at the resort.... Excellent service, excellent food, and a very tranquil environment for complete relaxation.
We had no problem with bugs, but a great Caribbean breeze was blowing. In fact, we never felt hot once!
We have been very impressed with Belizeans and their positive outlook on life and willingness to serve.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank JackieAB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of January and had a fantastic time. We chose Hamanasi based on the brilliant reviews on here and we were certainly not disappointed. We arrived early and the hotel made every effort to get us into our room early. The adventure centre was excellent with staff able to provide great detail of all excursions available. I went diving with Hamanasi on the Barrier reef, glovers reef and blue hole and every time staff were excellent and the boats comfortable. Safety was also a priority.
The restaurant food was always excellent and there was good variety. Service by all staff was second to none, staff were so friendly. Customer service was a priority and they do it very well.
Very impressed by the hotel's efforts to be eco-friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in a tree house which was beautiful and secluded so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glampacker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We spent Christmas 2013 at Hamanasi.

The accommodations were simply amazing. We were lucky enough to stay in the Deluxe Tree House. The Deluxe Tree house was perfect for a family of four. Our two teen age sons had the front room, with a single bed and a very comfortable futon, while we had our own beautiful master bed room with a canopy, king size bed. The tree house was clean and had air-conditioning. We did occasionally find and ant which wandered inside, but it was no big deal (the tree house was in a rain forest!). There was one extra large, very nice, bathroom that included all the amenities like, shampoo, lotion, etc.

The restaurant was wonderful as well. Every meal was delicious. Buffet breakfast with the freshest faire, great lunches and simply spectacular dinners. We did a package which included meals, and would highly recommend this. The service staff was very friendly and truly made us feel like we were part of the Hamanasi family.

Our main focus on the trip was scuba diving and snorkeling, and we were not disappointed. The dive staff was great. It was our sons' first dive trip (they got there PADI open water certification before we went, but this was their first real dive adventure). We really need to call our dive master, Martin by name, as he made each of our dive trips special. We were lucky enough to get to do the Blue Hole dive (3 dive trip). We would highly recommend this add on to the base dive/adventure package.

In addition to the wonderful dives, our land adventures proved to be incredible as well. We visited Hermans Cave one day and the Mayan ruins the another day. Both were great. Our guides were very knowledgable and made each experience exponentially better than it would have been if we had toured the sites on our own.

Hamanansi was incredible, and we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The tree house were really neat. Set apart from the main building in the rain forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieLiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

What a special place Hamanasi is! Although the weather on our weeklong stay in January was not the best, our experience was perfect in every other way. The resort is beautiful -- grounds, beach and garden are so well kept.

We stayed 4 days in an oceanfront room and 4 days in a tree-house room with deck and Jacuzzi. We loved the oceanfront room, but the tree house was hands-down AMAZING! A beautiful, elegant, private, tropical little piece of paradise.

The food is very good. We bought the food package, and were glad we did so we didn't have to worry about what and where to eat. We especially loved the fresh seafood brought in by local fishermen and the salads. The staff was kind enough to share their special recipe for Hamanasi homemade salad dressing.

Speaking of staff, they are what everyone says --- friendly, gracious and focused on a fulfilling customer experience, which is exactly what we had.

The dive shop is excellent, and we had some great dives. The inland trips were also great. We especially enjoyed the Mayflower hike and the Mayan ruins. Again, we had the package, so all these were included for the cost. There are other trips that we would try in the future that were not included in the package.

Hamanasi is a little off the beaten path, so you have to take a puddle jumper local plane to get from Belize City to Dandriga, and then a 45 minute bus ride to the resort. But we didn't mind that, and it would not prevent us from going back in the future. We loved it!

Room Tip: Stay in the deluxe tree house with outdoor jacuzzi and bring a couple of bottles of wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlao429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
10.5 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
1,070 reviews
16.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
676 reviews
22.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#7 of 14 in Hopkins
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 14 in Hopkins
925 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

Address: Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Green Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range: £121 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Belize on and offshore! Hamanasi is a secluded, casually elegant eco-resort. Unwind in spacious tree houses, beach front rooms and suites with AC, private porches and gorgeous hardwood furnishings. On property has a full service restaurant, bar, pool, lush gardens and a Gold Palm 5 star PADI dive facility. Onshore, explore Mayan ruins, Jaguar Preserve, caves, jungle rivers and rain forest waterfalls. All inclusive packages, Honeymoon and romance packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Hotel Hopkins
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing