We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place for adventure and relaxing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect place for adventure and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We don't get many vacations with our work schedule (even fewer now with a 2-year old!) so we research our trips diligently ahead of time...and Hamanasi lived up to our high expectations, and then some. As the name suggests, this is really a place for people who enjoy being active. The resort is well positioned to enjoy both water and jungle/inland activities. We found the excursions to be top-notch.

A few details of the ones we went on:
River Kayaking - an easy and great way to see a lazy jungle river, as it winds its way towards the sea. It is not physically challenging, just a laid back way to spend a few hours and see the beautiful tree-lined river, as well as lots of birds, iguanas and other wildlife.
Snorkeling - we loved this...the best snorkeling you could ask for. We saw a spotted eagle ray, nurse sharks, barracuda, sting ray and thousands of reef fish...all punctuated by a fun stop-over on a beautiful island.
Jaguar Reserve hike - this was really more of a birding tour - that is really the main thing to see here in the daytime, it seems. The hiking is mostly flat, with some elevation change as you near an amazing waterfall. Taking a dip in this secluded pool and swimming behind a pristine waterfall was the highlight of our trip.

Besides excursions, this is a great place to relax. If you have a day with no activity planned, you really have the resort to yourself. It was amazing - like having your own private pool and beach during the day since there is almost no one else around. The service, as noted in other reviews, is excellent. The food is good but I would not say you come here for the food. There is some construction going on as they expand the main house, but we didn't seem to notice it since it was discreet, and most people are on excursions during the hours there would be work.

One of my favorite memories was strolling down the beach and settling in to one of the several hammocks stretched between two palm trees - with nothing to hear besides the waves and the breeze. If you go to Hamanasi, do this and you won't regret it.

We stayed in a beachside unit and didn't wish to be anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwbrown04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,750
    65
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
460
1,042
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I just came back from seven nights at Hamanasi. The choice to stay there was easy after reading all of the five star reviews. If you want diving, snokeling, hiking, Mayan history, birdwatching, howler monkeys, manatees, kayaking, then go to Hamanasi.

So why do most people review Hamanasi five stars? I believe it is because they solve problems. Not every reservation at the Adventure Center was perfectly executed, but I was never penalized for it. The answer each and every time was: "No problem." This doesn't mean that you can do as you please without giving notice but understand that they will do whatever they can to make your trip above and beyond expectations.

A little example, I showed up with my family to snorkel. The problem we soon discovered was that we did not have our equipment and had not signed the forms. The response from the Adventure Center team: "No problem." In seven minutes we had our forms completed and three of my family members with the required equipment.

Another example, I was not on the dive register one of the mornings. That means they did not plan on me diving that morning. The response: "No problem." My gear was on the boat in five minutes and we were off.

The number of staff at meals was impressive. I often counted six to seven servers and other staff out at 20 tables on the porch. You never felt ignored and your needs were handled with: "No problem."

So not everything went off with a hitch and this isn't crazy given that people make mistakes. It is how they handled them that makes this resort worthy of all the five star reviews.

Recognition to Garif (Big Daddy), Martin, Roy, Darren, Evan (master snorkel teacher of six-year olds), Hartfield, Golden (man of patience with small children), Kenneth, Armondo, and Darwin. You are just a handful of the folks making this all happen.

Room Tip: I stayed in the room facing the beach. The treehouses were interesting but I prefer to wake up each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed in a Deluxe Tree House and it was awesome. A wonderful and unique experience. The resort is fantastic, great personal service without being stuffy or fake. Every meal, every adventure trip we took was top notch. The entire staff goes out of their way to make sure you are satisfied. Every adventure you go on is fully guided by someone how is from the immediate area. They did not learn it from a book, they have lived it their whole lives and are sharing it with you. Small groups on adventures, we went on 5 adventures and the biggest group we had was 6 guests and our guide. 2 thumbs up. We will be back for more.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisherman_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here with a friend in May of 2012 and it was wonderful. There were tons of activities for exploring Belize so we chose a new one every day. If you didn't want to go explore or dive, sitting in one of the many hammocks reading or napping by the pool with drinks was also wonderful. It was a bit expensive, but I thought the food and activities were very good. Food was very fresh, some of it caught by the dive leaders. It was a great stay.

Room Tip: The bungalows are gorgeous, I would highly recommend them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hamanasi offers excellent diving, interesting land excursions (especially the Mayan cities), very nice rooms and dining and is right on a lovely beach. The staff was invariably friending and helpful whether it was food service or diving. The reason to feel good is Hamanasi is very eco-conscious. All the food is locally and organically grown or raised and recycling is the rule. I felt the price was appropriate for the outstanding staff and facilities.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This resort deserves its five-star rating. The accommodations (tree house) were clean and comfortable. Our room was straightened several times each day. The tours were most enjoyable. The diving suffered somewhat from choppy seas, but that was not Hamanasi’s fault. In fact, the boat staff managed to minimize the agony of getting back on the boat. My personal guide was very attentive.
The food was tasty and imaginative.
Our only complaint relates to costs. It seems to me that the costs of adventures not included in the base package should be reduced by the costs of the adventures included in the package. Moreover, a correction should be made to the bill if all of the base package adventures (5 of them) are not taken. I mentioned this at the checkout and a small reduction was made to our bill.

Room Tip: Two choices. Room with ocean view versus room with jungle view. You choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dangriga, Belize
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Overpriced rooms, mediocre food. It is only for high rollers coming to do adventure tours. While it gets rave reviews because it is so Western and makes you feel like you are not in a Third World country. I must also say it truly does have a lot to offer which is why I have to give it a Very Good rating but I have found other places half the price that have better rooms, with a TV and phone WITH the same kind of tours available. That one was in Placencia, 40 minutes away and rated 5 Stars! Don't get me wrong it really is a nice property with all the bells and whistles but I found it WAY overpriced for what you actually got! You still paid additional premium dollars to do the Jungle tours or go out to Dive. I am not uber rich and will stick to my favorite resort, Robert's Grove getting more for less $$$!!!

Room Tip: Any room on a second floor facing the beach which they all do to give you a good breeze. I do extens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChapWehrle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.3 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
10.5 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
22.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

Property: Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Address: Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Green Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Belize on and offshore! Hamanasi is a secluded, casually elegant eco-resort. Unwind in spacious tree houses, beach front rooms and suites with AC, private porches and gorgeous hardwood furnishings. On property has a full service restaurant, bar, pool, lush gardens and a Gold Palm 5 star PADI dive facility. Onshore, explore Mayan ruins, Jaguar Preserve, caves, jungle rivers and rain forest waterfalls. All inclusive packages, Honeymoon and romance packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Hotel Hopkins
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing