We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tracy C. A week in Paradise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

For my 50th birthday, my boyfriend told me to "pick any place you wanna go" as your gift. I've always wanted to go to Belize and after some on-line researching, I chose Hamanasi Resort. It was beautiful and everything we expected and more. The moment we arrive we were immediately escorted to the outdoor dining area and had lunch. The food was excellent as was the service. The staff makes sure they know your name and are always friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed every meal outside in the beautiful weather, which was in the high 80's and breezy. We stayed two nights in the beach house, which was beautiful, then four nights in a tree house. I do recommend the tree house because when do you ever get to say you've stayed in a tree house?. There are no TVs in the rooms, but who cares, and no internet service unless you're in the main house or nearby...We enjoyed a few activities like zip lining, snorkeling, and one day we rented a dune buggy and drove around Hopkins. We found a local restaurant/bar in Hopkins called Driftwoods. We had some drinks and pizza on the beach and went swimming. We didn't want every day to be filled with activities because we also wanted to relax. We had a couple days when we just relaxed by the infinity pool, napped in beach hammocks, and ate/drank. It was heaven. We really loved it and would highly recommend this resort. We went April 20, 2014 for one week.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 2,001 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hamanasi Resort is one of those resorts you can go to and have an "unplugged experience". No TV, and very limited internet reception. So if you are looking for a peaceful resort to relax, this is one I could recommend. It is located in the southern part of Belize in the Hopkins Village. It is quite, clean, comfortable, and with a 5-Star service. I photograph destination weddings there so my visits are business oriented although I do try to enjoy some of the great atmosphere this resorts offer.

Another awesome reason to love Hamanasi is the food. They serve some of the best food I've tried in Belize. It is very authentic to the Garifuna & Maya culture. Also, their menu changes daily therefore you will never repeat a meal on you stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoseLuisZapata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I spent a week here with a good friend who enjoys the sea and snorkeling. This property lives up to all of the great reviews which are what made us decide to try it out. Taking the advice of others reviewers, we booked a tree house. This is a perfect choice and a fantastic way to spend your down time. It was fully equipped and lovely. The housekeeping staff kept our things in order and it was always nice to come into our tree house at the end of the day.

The dive staff is absolutely five star. They are skilled, polite, knowledgeable, and very tuned into safety. Snorkeling in these waters with these guides is like having a well thought out private lesson in the creatures and corals that were carefully identified by the guide using a long pointer. It was amazing. A brief mid-morning break comes with homemade cookies, fruit, and punch. Once you go diving here, you will understand what a good staff is all about.

We decided to take two nights out of the dinner plan just to explore the local food offerings. After one experience at what was described as the best in the area, we canceled our second off site dinner and stayed home. The food and the service was, as everything else, top drawer.

The staff knows your name and your room number almost immediately. They are pleasant, cheerful, fun to be with. I cannot say enough about the hospitality.

Believe what you read here. Other reviews confirm my experience. I cannot wait to go back this fall. HAMANASI is the vacation one dreams of; you get it here.

Room Tip: The tree houses are where you really want to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Absolutely wonderful! Upscale tree houses in jungle, excellent dive operation, 5-star dining while wearing t-shirts & flip flops, beautiful pool, incredible hospitality, great beach, great land adventures. The Hamanasi staff go above & beyond to make your stay perfect! You do not have to worry about anything, totally stress free vacation. Never experienced such organization within a resort. Management is spectacular. Food & dining/bar staff were incredible. The dive operation was first-rate. Housekeeping was fabulous. Wish I could have stayed longer. Can't wait to return. Thank you Hamanasi!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My Husband and friends stayed a week at Hamanasi in tree houses. The secluded little upscale resort was a treasure to find. The staff went out of their way to please on every request, they do actually go above and beyond their jobs to see that your stay is amazing. The resort gives you the opportunity to meet people and enjoy their company or just go and find a nice quiet hammock by the ocean and daydream, read or nap. The inland excursions that we enjoyed were ziplining( which was just way too much fun) The Mayan Ruins (breathtaking) River Kayaking (nice and relaxing) The reef diving was just the best!! After dives you had fresh fruit and cookies if a 3 tank dive you also enjoyed a delicious lunch prepared by the chef. The dinners were expertly prepared and presented and delicious. I really can not find but one very little minor complaint..The shower does not have much pressure, other than that PERFECT. Do not know about the beach rooms but highly recommend the tree house..so nice.
Evelyn K.

Room Tip: ask for tree houses away from the main house..More privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Evelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

if your looking for a class resort, with an above friendly and knowledgable staff, in a jungle setting, you have found it here. Upon arrive at Hamanasi you are greeted with a drink and a staff member who knows you by name. The greeting is not just "hi how are you doing", but a genuine they are happy to have you with them. They take you inside and explain the resort to you. I don't know how they do it, but everyone seems to know you by first name. Everyone is friendly from the management to the gardeners and greets you hello. We booked one of the treehouse rooms and I have to say this is a must. The are off from the main building but not a hike away. They are secluded, but near enough to make a walk for a drink or internet easy. You feel as though you are alone in the jungle here as at night you cannot hear or see anything but jungle sounds and the moon. The food choices here excel and are abundant and changed every night. The restaurant staff knows you by name as well and greets you as if you are an old friend. If you wanted you could lay on the beach and listen to the waves but this is a place for fun and adventure and outdoor activities. They have everything you could want available to you. Diving, snorkeling, caves, jungle tours etc. It is all booked through the hotel and all transport is provided by the hotel. I mostly went scuba diving, and I have to say EVERYONE from those who booked the trip to the people on the boats were excellent and a lot of fun. It seems most people working for the resort have been employed here for years, and it shows. They work as a team and all strive to make your vacation as seamless and enjoyable as possible. The property has three cats wondering around that were really friendly and they seem to wonder around from treehouse to treehouse saying hello to anyone that was interested in being friendly. Several times when waking in the morning one of them would be sitting on the balcony waiting for us to wake up, and frequently would be at the room at the end of the night. After a long day it was nice to go to dinner on the property and have a leisurely walk to the room after a small walk through the jungle area. If there was anything to complain about and it's minor when being at a resort like this, it was internet. That and our room had no fridge to keep some cold drinks in. The "town" nearby was small but made for a nice bike ride, bicycles provided by the resort also. I could go on an on about what makes this place such a wonderful resort, but it all comes down to the little things they do to make you feel at home in the jungle. They even give you an aluminum screw top water bottle with the resort name that clips to your belt that you use for adventures and get to keep!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank topwop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

"Perfect!" "Fabulous!" "Not long enough." These are the ways my two teenage daughters and husband described our stay at the Hamanasi. I agree with them. We wanted a lush tropical beach setting, adventure, relaxation, and something out of the ordinary; we got it all. Words and pictures are unable to fully capture the beauty of this resort, partly because the beauty is deeper than what you see, it's the beauty that also comes from an amazing staff that truly understands hospitality.

Our family wanted adventure and to rest and we go it...beginning with the hopper flight :). Ziplining was great, Mayflower hike (great cardio and leg workout) to the waterfall pool was educational and refreshing (eating termites is an option :)), kayaking was peaceful, and snorkeling included more than just being in the water. Just enough activity (by our choice) to also allow for napping in the hammocks. We stayed in the deluxe beachfront suite with allowed our girls to each have their own bed in their own room and a porch that was never without the breeze off the water. We were very satisfied with the accommodations and the beautiful view of the sea we would wake up to each morning. The food was fresh and healthy and very delicious.

As you will read in other reviews, it's true, you need DEET level bug repellent, you will not find a disco or karaoke (thankfully), it can be quite humid (jungle) and the roads can be a bit bumpy. If you are unable to see the forest for the trees, don't go to Belize. If you are able, then you will see tropical flora and fauna, hammocks strung between palms begging you to rest, and kind people. You will hear the sound of waves, birds, Garifuna drummers (you will have at least one opportunity to enjoy), laughter, and palm leaves rustling in the breeze creating the most lovely peaceful sound. It is also important to note that this resort pours back into the community in wonderful ways.

If a simpler life is appealing, if experiencing other cultures interests you, if you need R&R, you will be blessed by your time at the Hamanasi.

Room Tip: If you want a breeze on your porch choose beachfront. Treehouses are amazing and very private but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beachdreamer1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
10.5 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
1,056 reviews
22.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
814 reviews
16.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 13 in Hopkins
897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hopkins Bay, a Muy'Ono Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

Address: Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Green Hotel in Hopkins
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range: £123 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Belize on and offshore! Hamanasi is a secluded, casually elegant eco-resort. Unwind in spacious tree houses, beach front rooms and suites with AC, private porches and gorgeous hardwood furnishings. On property has a full service restaurant, bar, pool, lush gardens and a Gold Palm 5 star PADI dive facility. Onshore, explore Mayan ruins, Jaguar Preserve, caves, jungle rivers and rain forest waterfalls. All inclusive packages, Honeymoon and romance packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Hotel Hopkins
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing