We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Belize!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best of Belize!”
Reviewed 19 May 2007

My boyfriend and I just got back from Hamanasi and it was the ulttimate experience. The accomodations were beautiful (We stayed in one of the treehouses which offers lots of privacy.) The entire staff makes you feel like family and they know you by name.
We spent most of our time diving and their dive operation totally takes care of you and your gear. We thought it was one of the best crews we've ever dove with, as far as safety, leadership and professionalism.
We chose the all-inclusive plan and the menu was varied and the food was very fresh and well prepared. The bartenders are friendly and always have a special happy hour drink! Unfortunately we were not there on Saturday evening, which is when they have local drumming.
They have complimentary bicycles, so be sure to ride into Hopkins and get a feel for the local culture.
Again, we really can't emphasize enough how well the staff pampers you , from the time you get picked up at the airport until the day you unfortunately have to leave. Sorry, I'm having trouble sending photos, but the resort looks exactly like you see on their website. The beach and pool area are awesome.
Bart and Michelle
San Diego, CA

  • Liked — Small and intimate
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MichelleSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,799
    67
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
481
1,068
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2007

We stayed here for 6 days, 7 nights for our honeymoon the first week of May. It was the perfect combination of relaxation and adventure!

Planning:
We booked our rooms and transfers with Kathleen directly with Hamanasi and communicated through phone and email. She was very friendly & informative. We didn't plan any specific tours/activities until we arrived, and we ended up doing something exciting every day.

Rooms:
We booked 3 nights in the beachfront suite and 3 nights in a treehouse, and they were pretty similar. We stayed on the 1st floor, which didn't offer a clear view of the water (it was blocked by a few palm trees). It was beautiful, however. The treehouse was more private because it stood alone, surrounded by trees. The bathroom was bigger, and the 4-post bed was romantic. There was also a hammock on the patio of the treehouse and free safes to lock valuables in each type of room.

Food:
The food was quite tasty, and there was a new special each night. The staff took into consideration our vegetarian diets, so they packed vegetarian lunches when we had outings, and they had a selection of veggie dishes for dinner. We booked a prive beachside dinner for 2, which was gorgeous and romantic. We ate in the village one night at King Kassava's, and it was very good. We also ate at Parrot Cove and were not impressed with the food or the service.

Staff:
AMAZING!!!!! We got to know so many people that worked there, and it wasn't easy to say goodbye. They were so accommodating, friendly, helpful, funny, and everyone remembers your name. We even went to sing karaoke with a few of them in town, and it was a blast! They'll do whatever it takes for you to be 100% satisfied with your stay.

Tours:
Cave & Jungle Tour - fun, slightly challenging, informative. Black Hole Drop - very challenging, extremely exciting. Mayan Ruins - historical, but not thrilling. Scuba Diving, Discover Scuba - breathtaking & blood-pumping. If there is a tour offered by another resort, Hamanasi can book it for you.

Other:
We booked 1-hour massages in our room for each of us, and it was incredible. We also ordered a bottle of champagne in our room to celebrate. The resort is 1.5-2.5 hours from everything that we did, aside from diving. We were transported in well-air-conditioned vans, and the drives allowed for a little rest after the adventures. The incredible place, beach, people make up for the distance, hands down. The water was a perfect 84 degrees, made up of so many shades of blue and turquoise.

  • Liked — Adventures/staff/beauty (everything
  • Disliked — Just because we were on our honeymoon, it would've been nice if there weren't children staying there.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank allenej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIttleton, CO
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2007

When we planned our trip to Belize, we were looking for a place that could serve as a base for our daily diving and jungle excursions. What we found at Hamanasi was much more than that.

The most impressive aspect of Hamanasi is it's staff. Everyone is friendly and strives to learn your name and greet you each time they see you. It was an incredibly open, relaxed and inviting atmosphere that made us feel welcome. The front desk and management diligently worked to solve problems that arose. There were a few guests who had airline luggage problems and others who became ill; the staff immediately addressed the issues and took actions to resolve them. I've never seen a resort that was as proactive and responsive to their guests' needs. They strove to anticipate, address and resolve guest's problems as quickly as possible. Although the other reviews probably mentioned the dive masters, I have to mention that they are a unique bunch who seem to have a real sense of good-natured comaraderie. Our dive masters were all highly trained, knowledable professionals with an extremely entertaining sense of humor. The small group size also gives them an opportunity to focus on each guests' experience.

The resort is situated in a quiet setting nestled amongst trees, flowering shrubs and surf on a beachside hammock. A beautiful setting
for meals on the veranda or patio. None of the meals disappointed and
after our daily dive or trek we looked forward to one of their well-prepared dinners. All of the meals were prepared to order and featured local meats and produce. Each was a fresh and flavorful presentation....an unexpected, welcome treat in a remote location.

Our treehouse was the perfect place to recuperate after a full day and dinner on the patio. We never expected a treehouse to be furished
as laviously as the one we had. Who could imagine AC, ceiling fans or a double shower? An added bonus was the sound of songbirds outside
our window every morning and evening.

As you can tell, this was probably the best vacation that we've had in years. The daily adventures were fabulous and met our expectations
but our stay at Hamanasi and interaction with their staff made the trip a truly memorable experience. We've never written resort or trip
reviews before but we were so impressed with our stay at Hamanasi that we needed to share our thoughts. Hamanasi is a special place with wonderful people.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — ??????
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ReefClam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2007

My husband and I went to Hamanasi for our Honeymoon. It was absolutely amazing. The Staff knows and calls you by your name. It puts Southern Hospitality to shame. We are not divers, but Hamanasi offers great inland tours. We went hiking through the jaguar preserve, kayaking on the Sittee River, snorkeling (felt like I was in finding Nemo) and toured the Mayan Ruins. The food was unbelievable. We went out with King, Jes and some other guest to the local karaoke bar. I highly recommend taking the hotel bikes into the town of Hopkins. Joy Jah’s has some great souvenirs for good prices. Hamanasi is very peaceful. I can’t wait to go back again.

  • Liked — The Hospitatlity
  • Disliked — Loved it all
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank karalyneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2007

After we recovered from what we thought had been a taxi ride to "no-where" from the airport.......and arrived at Hamanisi, we began to take in the beauty, hospitality and gorgeous setting. Our experience at Hamanisi felt much like a home-coming to a people and a place that we could not call "strangers." It was an experience that my husband Steve and I felt reflected the way that God had intended life to be......full of deep beauty, caring people, adventure and joyful peace. Our guide, Golden is a "prince among men" and takes his job with the utmost integrity and caring.
Our only regret is that we were not aware that the people of Hamanasi Resort also have a great outreach to the village of Hopkins. Had we known that we would have packed an extra suitcase filled with clothing, school supplies and toileltries for this mission/outreach. So pack your bags, get ready to be amazed and pack an extra suitcase for the people of Hopkins Village.......... and enjoy a life enhancing experience!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorewood, MN.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2007

We enjoyed our stay at Hamanasi. Our family of 2 adults and 2 teens stayed there 3/30-4/7/07. Our ocean view room was perfect for us, one king bed and a separate bedroom with 2 twin beds. We are all SCUBA divers and spent most of our time diving. We did do one inland tour, the cave tubing.........we thought that it was interesting, the kids weren't impressed. SCUBA families BEWARE, however!!! When we were there, the divemasters insisted that our teens, who held Jr. Open Water Divers cards, not be allowed to dive deeper than 40 feet. This is NOT a PADI regulation and they have since said that they were wrong in this. We were not able to sucessfully argue this with them while were were there. They have supposedly educated their divemasters on this issue and you shouldn't have an issue with this in the future but be aggressive on this if they question you! Be informed that they do NOT let Jr. Open Water divers go on the whale shark dives either. The whale shark dives were an experience of a lifetime! Food was very good, if you have kids, ask for a kids menu.....Found out about this too late. Staff is 1st rate, both hotel and dive shop, other than our issues as above.

  • Liked — Room for a family with teens
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank redheadscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnison, CO
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2007

Between the diving, hiking, food, resort, culture, staff, and all the unique experiences we had this was one of best trips I've ever been on. I would definitely recommend Hamanasi to anyone. -- Cory Maier - Nevada City, CA, USA

  • Liked — The staff were some of the nicest people I've ever met. The area is beautiful and entertaining.
  • Disliked — Nothing was bad.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cam95959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.3 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
294 reviews
10.5 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
932 reviews
22.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort

Property: Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Address: Hopkins/Sittee River Road | Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Green Hotel in Hopkins
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Belize on and offshore! Hamanasi is a secluded, casually elegant eco-resort. Unwind in spacious tree houses, beach front rooms and suites with AC, private porches and gorgeous hardwood furnishings. On property has a full service restaurant, bar, pool, lush gardens and a Gold Palm 5 star PADI dive facility. Onshore, explore Mayan ruins, Jaguar Preserve, caves, jungle rivers and rain forest waterfalls. All inclusive packages, Honeymoon and romance packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Hotel Hopkins
Hamanasi Adventure And Dive Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing