We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
2 reviews
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 10 August 2010

After 7 days at Almond Beach Resort we could have stayed longer. We purchased the Ultimate Honeymoon Package because of all the things that were included. Upon arrival we met with the staff to plan our time there. The only probolem we had was choosing which adventure we wanted on which day and whether we wanted to enjoy our delicious dinners in the main lodge or on the patio of our beach front casita. In our time at the resort we could not have asked for a more friendly staff. From the bartenders to the tour guides everyone was always friendly.

The adventures we had to choose from were amazing. On our first day we make the trek to Antelope falls on one of our private tours. The hike was amazing but nothing compared to the pool at the top of the hike. We could have stayed up there for hours. We also had the chance to visit the Cahal Pech Mayan ruins, go snorkeling on the Barrier Reef, go zipline an river tubing, and reef fishing. In addition to the amazing scenery the tour guides we very knowledgeable and very friendly.

If adventures are not neccessarily your thing the resort itself is amazing. We stayed in the Guava Beachfront casita roughly 20 yards from the water. Talk about the a piece of heaven. The king size bed was so comfortable and the huuuge open air shower was unbelievable. It was truly an oasis of peace for us, oh an it was just a few steps from the pool and tiki bar.

We were hoping to find a resort in the midst of Belize that allowed us to enjoy Belize without having to see huge resorts and Americanized resorts and restaurants. If you want to have a slow relaxing vacation with great food and with the chance to get out and explore Belize the you Almond Beach is the spot. The all inclusive package is truly the way to go.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSkySaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    110
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
118
274
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Our review of paradise is long overdue. We stayed Nov 3-10 2009 in Guava for the ultimate honeymoon package. Ultimate does not begin to describe the AMAZING honeymoon we had. Although this package was a bit of a stretch it was well worth every penny. I do have to mention hurricane Ida was looming in the Caribbean so the weather in the beginning was slightly rainy- not that AB had anything to do with that.
We took the small plane from Belize City to Dangriga then the 45 min drive to the resort vs the 2 hr car ride because I tend to get car sick and the roads can be bumpy other than the one main paved road.
Grounds, as mentioned in other reviews, are impeccable. Very clean and beautiful with flowers everywhere. Sand is more coarse then you would imagine when you think of paradise. Pools are nice, nothing too special. The whirlpool is not a hot tub by any means and is quite chilly actually. Plenty of chairs and palapas available on the beach and at the pool. While we were there, the resort was not very busy so it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves- I think there may have 10 people in the beginning and our last day there was a wedding party that came in with children and the whole feel of the resort changed. Staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. Even prior to us arriving emails were answered promptly.
The room, Guava, was very clean and right on the beach. We requested this room prior to arrival. There is no TV which would have been fine if it weren’t so rainy in the beginning. They do have some rooms available with TVs. The shower is huge and open. The outdoor shower is great for rinsing off sand and mud from excursions. Bed was comfy. When we arrived there was champagne and flowers waiting for us.
Food was ok. Breakfast was pretty much the same menu each day. The last day they did have an omelet bar. Lunch was also monotonous with pizza, sandwiches, and burgers. Dinner offered usually chicken, fish, seafood, and steak with a slight different preparation nightly. I discovered I like snapper and the different preparations they offered. With the ultimate honeymoon we could choose to have our meals wherever we liked. Since the place was not busy we usually ate in the dining room however when the wedding party arrived it was romantic to have dinner served on our very own veranda. One bad thing about the restaurant was if you at on the edge next to the doors that open onto the beach you would get bitten on your ankles by sand fleas. As the dining room is open there are geckos on the ceiling which did not bother us at all but if you are freaked out by the little critters this may distract you. Try the watermelon juice, it is surprisingly good.
The highlight of the vaca for us, and what really made the value of the ultimate honeymoon was the many excursions we went on. Every day we did a different excursion.
Day 1- mayflower fall hike- caution!! When they say this is difficult and you should be in good physical condition they mean it. The terrain was made worse by all the rain. It starts innocent enough with flat ground followed by a 1 mile hike straight, not joking about straight, up. In many places you use a rope to pull yourself up- that is when a rope is available. Often you climb using anything you can find such as vines, branches, roots and rocks. The trail is not marked at all. The guide makes you feel very safe with his little red rescue/first aid bag- because if you fall 100 feet down the slope band-aids come in very handy. From the top you can see all the way to the coast and the view, if not raining, is amazing. There is a pool of water you are able to swim in which is gorgeous and refreshing. The trip down is even more treacherous. If you just want to see the jungle and are not in excellent shape, I would not recommend this.
Day 2-barrier reef snorkeling- This one we did with a group. The 45 minute ride out was very beautiful. They provided snorkel gear if you did not bring your own. The first spot was popular, as other dive/snorkel groups were there at the same time. We saw tons of stingrays here. They were literally everywhere we looked so that was really neat to see them in their natural habitat. The dive guide pointed things out and could snorkel without a snorkel! The second location the guide remained in the boat and we drifted along a ridge full of sea fans. Other fish we saw were: stoplight parrotfish, wrasses, different tangs, angelfish, squirrelfish, grunts, snapper, tilefish, and the best, in my opinion, was the porcupine fish.
Day 3- Horseback- We were the only couple that had signed up for this excursion however were able to go. After a short ride to the stable we soon were exploring the jungle via horseback. Our tour guide was Tino and he was great. You ride through citrus trees, up a pine ridge and through the jungle to an opening on the backs of the river. Occasionally Tino said you are able to see howler monkeys. We did hear one, but it was several miles away. Back at the ranch we were shown some small Mayan artifacts. Overall it was a nice experience and the horses seemed to be well cared for.

Day 4 – River Boat- Almost all the guest signed up for the Sittee river boat tour. You take a small motorized boat with one guide to drive and the other with eyes of a hawk up then back down the river. We saw several different species of birds, A few smaller crocs/gators, bats on a tree, and huge iguanas everywhere you looked hiding in trees. It was a great way to see the river and a different way to see Belize.

Day 5 – Jaguar Reserve- If you would like to see the Jungle in our opinion this was the best way to do so. Our guide was Tino again. He allowed us to go at a leisurely pace. As part of our package we booked this as a private tour. We saw maybe 2 other small groups of people while there. The trails we took were much more flat, wide and well marked than the Mayflower falls hike. We saw a small cat and jaguar print but of course they were nowhere in sight. We saw a trail that a tapir had went through. Wild life we actually saw was minimal a squirrel and some lizards. We went to the plane wreck which was neat to see. The highlight of this trip however was a hidden waterfall and the pool beneath it. The water was so refreshing. Huge morpho butterflies fly over head. It was truly something out of a dream. Would highly recommend visiting here.

Day 6 – Snorkel- We booked this as a private tour as well. It was much like the first trip only slightly different locations. I got stung by a jellyfish which hurt. In all the places I have snorkeled, I had never been stung before. The coolest thing we saw on this trip was a nurse shark that did not seem to mind us floating directly overhead to get a good picture. We also saw bird island where a bunch of the birds you see at the resort fly to spend the night. The island is literally covered in birds.
We also had the chance to take a golf cart or bike into town to explore which we wanted to badly, but with the rain the dirt road leading to town would have sprayed us with mud along the way. I would have felt completely safe doing so. Other couples had.
As part of the ultimate honey moon package we received many spa services. All were great- jetlag defrag, couples massage, facial and orange wrap all great.
Most amazing was the nightly turn down service. Each night while we were at dinner they would create the most amazing and romantic turn down to come back to. Fresh flowers on the bed spelled out messages, candles and chocolates every night. I hated having to move them to get into bed each night. Amazing!!
There is one payphone in the lobby-you have to use cards you purchase there to make phone calls- I do not remember the exact price but it was expensive. We had money to use in the gift shop from the package so used some of It to purchase the calling cards. There is also one laptop in the lobby with internet access.
Other than the rain, sand fleas and jelly fish sting the trip was awesome and we would highly recommend it. If you are still reading this we are surprised. What are you waiting for?? Book your vaca today.

Please contact us if you have questions or want more pics.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brentag04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

This resort had very nice rooms, very friendly and helpful staff, two nice pools and the beach was wonderful. We were looking for a family friendly place, and this was a good place. Our room was right on the ocean and was perfect. We stayed in a room with a TV, which was something we wanted since we were traveling with an 8 year old. Since we arrived with Tropical Storm Alex, we were grateful for the TV becasue we spent the first two days inside. Not all rooms have TV, so it you want this you should specify when you make reservations. After the storm passed. the weather was beautiful, hot and humid, but sunny. The biggest downside of our trip were the sandfleas and yellow flies. They were terrible. So, if you go, apply bug spray liberally and take medicine for bites. While the restaurant staff was great, the food was just adequate. Breakfast buffet was good and lunch OK, but the dinners were lacking. Adventure trips were good, but the travel time was from 45 minutes to 2 1/2 hours. We did not see much wildlife, which was disappointing. The Butterlies Spa was great. Barrier Reef snorkling was outstanding.

We debated beween this place and Hamanasi. We vistied Hamanasi for dinner twice and if we were to go back, we would probably stay there. Food was much better and the atmosphere more to our liking. Lots of trees to provide shade. However, the rooms are not right on the ocean and the restaurant does not receive the same ocean breezes which helped to keep us cool and keep the bugs down. Also, no TV.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FayeWray01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2010

My fiance and I traveled down to Belize to get married. Not only was the ceremony wonderful but the whole trip was a great experience. Almond Beach Resort really did a great job with setting up everything to get married and it was great to not have to think about anything on the day of.

The resort itself is a bit off the beaten path, but the village of Hopkins is filled with kind people. Infact the whole country of Belize was filled with nothing but kind people with big bright smiles. I've never experienced this type of hospitality before when traveling so it was very much welcomed.

At the resort, they offered day tours to caves, ruins, snorkeling, diving, fishing, hiking, horseback riding, and jungle walks. We did the ruins, snorkeling and cave tubing. The cave tubing was the best part and would definitely recommend it. The tours are a bit expensive, but we thought we should make the effort to see the things we'll never get to see again.

A couple people complained about the food, but I thought it was decent for what it was. You don't travel to Belize because they have excellent cheese and wine. And the other option of not including your meals with your stay at the lodge was to fend for yourself, in which case, there aren't alot of options in Hopkins.

The cabana we stayed in was the poolview room called Kinep. It was the best of both worlds, meaning we had a view of the pool and the ocean. Our doors opened up right onto the beach. The only downside was we could hear everything people said at the pool, which at late night can be quite annoying. Room service was excellent, they cleaned our room and gave fresh towels everyday, and in some cases created animations out of our towels on our bed. We did see some ants in the bathroom, but that was to be expected since your in a tropical area.

Overall, it was trip both of us really enjoyed and will remember forever!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myblueheaven21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2010

My wife and I have traveled extensively and are by nature a little skeptical and cautious.
Almond Beach Resort/Jaguar Reef Resort was simply the best in customer service we've ever seen !

I really hate to feel like I'm just another tourist dollar to the staff where we stay but this group truly makes you feel like they really enjoy having you there. My skeptical side says the management team just does a really good job training the staff but guess what, the whole dang country is the same way.
The staff is very large. You barely see the same people 3 days in a row, but I get the impression the ownership group is very much into the Belizean people and is doing what they can to help the local economy.
There are 3 or 4 small resorts all combined that I think were once independent but they've done a really nice job blending them into one string of pearls. The grounds are impeccable with wonderfully manicured gardens throughout showcasing some of the most beautiful plants/flowers we've ever seen.

If your looking for a Club Dred kind of all night party, this place ain't gonna do it . We liked that you felt like you we're there almost by yourself.
The pool was very uncrowded and our room ,Veranda 1, was 75' from the water and almost never in use by anyone else.

Thanks Pat, Rhoda, Delcie, Saldona, Clifton, Andrea, Tino, King and a lot more plus 3 nice young guys we met from the village of Hopkins................WE'LL BE BACK !!

Marc & Beverly

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2010

A great family vacation! Relaxing, lots to do, or do nothing. Great food, fantastic staff, very clean and comfortable accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerardmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at Almond Beach for our honeymoon per the recommendations of two other couples that had been previously. We stayed in a Beachfront Verandah, which was a newer addition to the resort, extremely clean, and had all the accomodations that a larger resort would offer (i.e. 40" flat screen, mini-fridge, big shower, etc.). Besides the room, the greatest parts of our stay were the friendly staff who we got to know well during our visits to the swim up bar in the pool, the excursions that were offered, and the food. I highly recommend Almond Beach to couples who are looking for a honeymoon that offers both a relaxing & beach front environment as well as an adventerous vacation which plenty of things to do (the Mayflower Waterfall Hike is a must for active individuals)!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgapen001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.1 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
10.4 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
#3 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Sittee River Road | Stann Creek, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#7 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almond Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud member of ViVA BELiZE, the leading Hotel Group and Adventure Company in Belize for the past 20 years. Almond Beach Resort & Spa is- A Haven for Romance & Wellness. It provides wonderful private honeymoon casitas and family suites located on a long golden beach that stretches for miles. Other features of Almond Beach Resort & Spa: -WINNER 2015 TripAdvisor HALL OF FAME Award -PADI 5 Star Dive Centre -FULL Service In-house SPA -Longest & Finest Beach in Belize -Pool with Swim up Tiki Bar -Kids pool -Beachfront Dining -Water Sports & Land Adventure Tour Desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Almond Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Hotel Hopkins
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
Almond Beach Resort & Spa Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing