We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it! Love it! Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tipple Tree Beya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tipple Tree Beya
Ranked #4 of 17 Hopkins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alberta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love it! Love it! Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed for almost a week in October and can't remember having ever had a more relaxing trip. The rooms are clean and quiet. The grounds around the property are meticulously kept, beautiful flowers abound. The beach is spectacular and only a few paces from the room. There are nice restaurants nearby. A couple of well stocked stores for getting beer and snacks are just down the beach. Overall a definite gem.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Can_Fam_Adv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    42
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
115
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My partner and I stayed here for five and absolutely loved it. We stayed in a double room and it had everything we needed-a small fridge, plates and cutlery so we could prepare our own breakfast (and keep our beer and pop cold :), a private bathroom, and even small shelves exactly where you need them to keep your odds and ends. And, best of all, the grounds were immaculate and the beach was spectacular. They clean the beach and rake the sand each day, and it was easy to spend an afternoon lounging in the hammocks or in the sun chairs and taking a dip in the Caribbean to cool off. We walked up and down the beach and none of the other beaches compared to Tipple Tree. Tricia was such a wonderful hostess, and it was very clear that she put a lot of thought and care into making this a comfortable place for her guests. If you are looking for a fancy hotel with air conditioning and a memory foam mattress this is probably not the place for you, but if you like a bit of comfort, a clean room, an amazing beach, and appreciate character you won't go wrong here. Plus the a/c is totally unnecessary with the lovely Caribbean breeze blowing in through the window.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBSCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

What a lovely place. We stayed in the bungalow, which was so cute, clean and perfect. All the little details to make this kind of stay easy were thought of. Tricia was unbelievably helpful, sorted everything out for us. She even managed to arrange diving for us in low season when all the dive operators were closed. Very clean, not a 'resort' aircon type of place, but if your looking for something more real this is a must...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

For several years I had the marvelous fortune of spending time at Tipple Tree. As a teacher, I found this spot to be wonderful for my students - a great place to come back to after all the difficult clinical work they would do in the surrounding rural areas. The rooms were very comfortable and very clean/tidy. In the evening, the ocean breeze would waft its way in through the screens and the gentle lapping of the waves would help orchestrate a very nice night's sleep. The beach is right out the door and one can walk barefoot into the awaiting, crystal clear ocean. Trish is always available for any advise or additional needs and we always felt safe and well looked after. Have yet to find this kind of value anywhere else in Belize. A real gem.
Bob Kane

Room Tip: All rooms are great, including the cabana in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Tricia took most excellent care of us. she arranged tours from the locals (very cool) that were top notch! she gave us wonderful insight on the culture and expectation of the village people. we had a great time. our cabin was simple, very clean and the fans kept us as cool as we needed. for the price it was PERFECT!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheldon Jennife... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

It was difficult for me to understand the last review of Tipple Tree. I live in Belize (originally from Canada) and Tipple Tree is absolutely my "go to" place for a few days of R and R. I also take all my visitors to Hopkins and every one of them has really enjoyed their stay here. In fact, I have one friend who has visited at least 6 or 7 times, and a visit to Tipple Tree is always on her "must do" list. Yes, the rooms are basic -- if you want air conditioning and cushy surroundings, this is not the place for you. But it's very good value, Tricia is always friendly and helpful, and the beach is just about perfect. What more could you want?

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra_in_Belize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed with Trica for 2 nights at Tipple Tree, it's a really nice place and after all the travelling it took to get to Belize and Hopkins it felt like we had arrived at paradise. The place is right on the beach and they take care of their beach, it is cleaned and raked every day so it feels like you are walking through a giant zen garden.

Hopkins is a long town, where Tipple Tree is located there are several restaurants and a supermarket nearby within walking distance. If you need a taxi then Trica can organise one for you.

There is good internet on the property an extra fee (reasonable) and although you cannot drink the tap water you can get your water bottle refilled (reasonable again). I loved how Tipple tree is very eco-conscious too!

I would recommend staying here if you visit Hopkins, there are other places which have aircon but since Tipple Tree is right no the water the lack of aircon is not a problem.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank f44444444f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hopkins hotels
1.1 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coconut Row Guest House
Coconut Row Guest House
#1 of 17 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beaches And Dreams
Beaches And Dreams
#3 of 17 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipple Tree Beya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipple Tree Beya

Property: Tipple Tree Beya
Address: Hopkins Village - On the Beach, Hopkins, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach in Hopkins, Tipple Tree Beya has 3 apartments, 3 rooms, and 1 cabana. Our AJ Palms beach apartments are for those wanting a little more space and comfort. Our guesthouse has lodging that is simple, clean,and comfortable. Local tour guides provide snorkeling, fishing, reef, and jungle tours.See you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tipple Tree Beya Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing