We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You better Belize it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belizean Dreams Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Belizean Dreams for six nights on the Honeymoon package. It was absolutely amazing! It was perfect for us. I would recommend it for anyone!

The hotel is located in a very small, non-developed area of Belize. I loved it because it feels very "untouched" and not over-developed like so many beach resort/honeymoon areas. It takes a little while to get there, but the hotel is extremely informative with any questions you may have and you're very well taken care of from the moment you arrive in Belize. We were worried because of a flight delay that we wouldn't make our connection on the small regional flight. No worries, because it was easily changed - no charge or hassle. There's not much to do in the town of Hopkins. We got a golf cart rental for the day and explored a bit. It was nice to get some of Belize's famous Marie Sharpe's hot sauce at the grocery store for much cheaper than anywhere else. We also picked up some local coconut rum and fresh juice for tasty in-the-room cocktails :)

The hotel is landscaped beautifully. There's lush tropical foliage, grass and beautiful coconut trees. The rooms are simple, but light, airy, cool & clean. I loved that there is no TV because it really allows you to "check out" and relax completely. The pool is gorgeous and so refreshing. It's right on the beach - which they keep very clean due to the high quantity of sea grass in the area. The water was almost too warm to be refreshing though!

We got an inclusive package so we didn't have to worry about food costs for the whole trip. It was really the best way to go. Their standard menu items are very good but I highly recommend getting the nightly special - it's always the most fresh & innovative item. We ordered it every night and were never disappointed! Oh and the chef is also excellent at desserts - YUM!! The inclusive package we bought only included about $25/day for anything from the bar (drinks & sodas). I have to admit we enjoy our nightly cocktails (it's vacation right?!) so we ended paying an extra $60 at checkout to cover the overages, but I think that's completely reasonable.

The excursions were amazing. We did the snorkeling/island hopping trip (fun, good snorkeling and it was awesome to explore Coco Plum Resort), the Mayan Ruin Tour to Xuantunich (one of the best travel experiences I've EVER had. SO WORTH IT!) and horseback riding (on the more difficult-side as far as trail rides go, but I've been riding my whole life so I thought it was incredible!). We were there for 6 days and so we spent 3 days lounging at the hotel and 3 days exploring Belize. I thought this was the perfect balance because we weren't too tired and we didn't get bored.

Probably the best part of the resort and Belize in general is the people. They are by far the most friendly, welcoming people. Everyone at the staff knew us by name, went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and were the epitome of professional resort staff. I want to go back just to visit them! The bartenders Jose and Earvin were hilarious! The waitresses Bella and Liz were beyond amazing. The front desk manager Ed was wonderful. A huge thank you to everyone there for the amazing experience, it definitely would not have been the same without them! Plus we met so many great guests who were staying there too! It's definitely popular with the honeymooner crowd because at least half of the guests got married on the same day we did! haha

A few tips if you decide to go (which you should!):
-Bring bug spray! LOTS OF IT. It's in the jungle so it should be pretty common sense, but definitely put it on throughout the day and douse yourself in it if you go on any excursions.
-Bring lots of small bills (1's & 5's). All the prices are in Belizean dollars but they'll accept American dollars (exchange rate is fixed at 2 belize for 1 us $). However, they don't have change so you'll either have to buy WAY more stuff than you wanted or you'll end up with a pocket full of heavy dollar coins.
-Tip generously at the end of your stay. The staff totally deserves it! I would bring extra cash just for the gratuity at the end of the trip.

I could not say any more positive things about this resort. It's not a high-end super resort like you might find in the big cities, but you'll get a gorgeous, personal experience that's so far beyond the generic commercial resorts. I highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Any room is fantastic. We stayed on the top floor which I thought had a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Molly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I spent a little over 2 weeks in Belize for our honeymoon. We spent the first part on Caye Ambergris and rented a house on the island...and it was the best thing we could have done! We then rented a car on the mainland and drove down to Belizean Dreams for another 5 night stay...and it fell flat. The resort is nice, and our room was OK. But it wasn't what I was expecting for a honeymoon suite. The restaurant, pool and bar are tiny and way overpriced. The rooms don't have televisions (not a big deal for me, but my husband was really annoyed). On the website it says that you don't need a car, because they don't want you to leave the resort. If we hadn't had a car, we would have left the resort and found somewhere else to stay. It's about a 10-15 minute walk into town, and then another long and bumpy road (10 min drive) to get to the main freeway. We went into town for just about every meal...Tina's Kitchen is the place to eat! It's literally her kitchen, and it's SO GOOD, and so cheap. The internet didn't work either due to a storm...and they never fixed it.

All in all, it was OK, but not what we want to remember about Belize, but the rest of our trip was incredible and we'll be back!

Room Tip: If you get a room on the top (2 levels), they do not have televisions. If you get a house(bottom flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolehender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this wonderful establishment. The rooms are generously spacious with incredible views. This kitchen is advertised as a gourmet kitchen and It did not fall short of this description. We were able to cook for a family of six without any issues at all. The town is really close so supplies was easily available. The restaurant is also available and meals reasonably priced. The bar is located at the beachfront and has incredible views of the ocean and again, drinks were also reasonably priced. It would be unfair to compare this beach with that of San Pedro since there is no reef. However, as far a beach goes, the water is fantastic and the beachfront views are great. The staff are incredibly attentive and accommodating. Although the road in to the Hopkins area needs serious attention, once you are on the property, you forget the rough ride in. The pool is wonderfully kept and is located at front of the property close to the beachfront. My three days stay was extremely relaxing and I would certainly recommend this place if you are visiting the Hopkins area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room up front...the beach front Villas have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sookmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The villas at Belizian Dreams are beautiful and spacious. The staff keep the villas nice and clean. I found it to be very expensive as they base everything on the US dollar. The food and drinks at the outside lounge was very good but again very expensive.We hired a local to take us baracuda fishing which was a blast and caught some fish to boot.
Overall a very nice holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BHolmes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel and its grounds are stunning. Our room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom is large and had a great shower. All of the staff are very friendly and keen to help. The weather was terrific and the food was delicious, coming in generous portions. We had a very relaxing time which Charles' cocktails contributed to.The only slight let downs were the rubbish (loads of plastic bottles) washed up on the beach. The hotels on either side regularly raked their beaches clear of rubbish. It would also have been helpful if there was a list of activities and facilities provided within the rooms e.g. times or snorkelling trips and wifi availability.

Room Tip: Our room was excellent with a very modern A/C unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GavvieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel did an absolutely fantastic job! The staff (Our Man - Brian, Absolutely Gorgeous Naomi, Coco Loco Jose, You're on vacation-Charles... and we must not forget Benardo the Mayan Man) were terrific. We could not have had more fun as a group thanks to the staff and their hospitality. We are a rowdy (but cool) bunch and there were 7 of us. They accepted us for who we were and the enjoyed our time as much as we did. If you know what I mean.

The "Chef's" cooking was fabulous! Thank you Chef and thank you for taking our fresh caught fish and making us Fish Taco Appetizers. Delicious!! There was not one meal that was a disappointment.

Mayan Man Benardo escorted us all over Belize. He took us to the Mayan Ruins, Monkey River, Cave tubing and Ziplining. We had had a few drinks on the way back from the cave tubing and could not locate a restroom in the pouring rain. Fortunately for us we had Benardo - He found this very small tavern for the entire group to do their business (in the pouring rain and I mean pouring rain!) He even took us to Marie Sharps for some hot sauce.

Jose - you are the man when it comes to drinks. Thanks for taking very good care of us and thank you for climbing on the ladder both for the coconuts and for hanging our "Legacy" on the ceiling.

Brian - what can we say other than thank you. For stopping at the local grocery store on the way to the resort after you waited 4 hours since our plane was late. We needed that beer! Then for taking us to the local bars and then to the marina. We were very happy that you could join us every opportunity you could. Even for a couple of dinners. Wish we could have seen you prior to our departure but we also understand that everyone needs a day off.

Naomi - Words cannot express our gratitude for all you did for us! Thank you and if anyone stays at the resort they will understand this comment.... Your are the best. Good luck with North Beach.

Charles - We're on vacation - Please get us a drink..... Thanks buddy for keeping our glasses full while Jose was away.

The resort was very clean and as you can tell - the people there are what made the experience. What a blast!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Statefan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Best resort in all of Belize!

Belizean dreams offers a true dream vacation! Whether your goal is just simply to relax and lounge around or if you're looking for adventure. The village of Hopkins is truly the friendliest village in all of Belize, the people are wonderful, the food is great and if you're looking to be more immersed in the Garifuna culture, this is the place to be!

We began our honey moon with 5 nights at Belizean dreams and had such a great time that we even extended our trip to return back to the resort for a few extra days at the end.

The resort is small, with only 9 villas, but has all the amenities of a large hotel. This also means that you can get to know the other couples and families around the resort if you'd like.

The staff is wonderful, everyone knows your name as well as you room number and they are happy to chat as much as or as little as you'd like. The front desk staff, especially Naomi will help take care of any needs you could possible conceive of.

If you're looking for "island" food at it's best, Chef Luis and Chef Jr Luis will not let you down. Each night there is a new amazing special and they can take personal requests in the event you have allergies or some other diet restrictions. Because the resort is personal, you get to meet and know the Chefs just like the rest of the staff.

In terms of drinks, Mr. Charles and Jose are absolutely the greatest. Mr. Charles will keep you hydrated all through the day and Jose will keep those drinks coming all night long. Around the bar at night Jose keeps all the vacationers entertained with all fresh fruit drinks (no syrup daiquiris here) meaning that if you have children the virgin options are just as fun. I personally ordered very few specific drinks, I instead gave Jose the ability to make me whatever and I was never disappointed. The coco-locos are amazing and my favorite, Jose actually knocks the coconuts out of the trees fresh for each drink!

If you're not the sort to just lie on the beach all day, they offer plenty of excursions and while they have a schedule which changes the outing each day, they will work with you if you cannot attend on a day but really would like to try something. While we were there we did the Ziplining and cave tubing which was excellent. We also did the island hopping which allowed us to see a number of the southern Cayes as well as snorkel in multiple locations. This particular excursion ends at Coco Plum, they're private island sister resort to relax for the afternoon. Unlike the large hotels and rushed excursions I have been on in other countries, Belizean Dreams' staff is on your time. We spent a good 3 hours on the island and returned at our leisure. Brian will take great care of ya!

We loved this resort and are not only looking at possibly buying a small bit of land near Hopkins, but we also plan on returning every year to celebrate our anniversary!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dahlia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
10.4 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
1,019 reviews
16.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
648 reviews
22.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Dreams Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Dreams Resort

Address: Sittee River Road, Hopkins 501, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#2 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range: £141 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belizean Dreams Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, intimate Belizean owned and managed resort nestled on the coast of Hopkins Village, southern Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Belizean Dreams Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Dreams Hotel Hopkins
Belizean Dreams Hotel Dangriga
Belizean Dreams Dangriga
Belizean Dreams Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing