We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been a lot better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belizean Dreams Resort
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

After a 6 night stay at another resort we stayed at Belizean Dreams. The room we had was one of the nicest on the property and things were looking up for us. Until we got settled. We heard noise upstairs and checked a door, finding that another family above us had complete access to our room while our bags were delivered and no one was at the room. Having separate rooms and being pretty hot out, upon checking in and unpacking, I attempted to turn on the room AC. For whatever reason it would not turn on, and after a quick call to maintenance, found out the remote sensor did not work and we had to climb up on a chair to use this ac. The room was large and offered a lot with a full kitchen. The staff seemed nice enough, but seemed to be playing catch up throughout my stay. The food in the restaurant was good, but the restaurant staff seemed to be lost. It took almost an hour to get our food, and then when it did arrive one of the two orders were wrong. The beach was nice and in the morning upon sunrise it looked really nice out. To bad the power had gone out overnight. Luckily this hotel had it's own generator which operated "off the Belizian power grid" which it seems many of the nicer hotels did because of the frequent power outages in Belize in general. Too bad the nicest room on the property was NOT hooked into the resorts own generator, so showering had to be done in the dark, as well as sweating upon exiting the shower. If your interest is in being on the water, and you don't mind some inconveniences and waiting for dinner a long time, this place is not a bad choice. If I remember correctly, the restaurant area was not air conditioned at this time. All of these things are minor inconveniences, but when they call themselves a luxury resort, and you total up these and many other issues, I'd have to say it is not a luxury resort.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topwop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelizeandreamsBelize, Manager at Belizean Dreams Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hi Vinne,

As per our email discussion, we had written a Management Response to your travelling partner about the similar issues from his experience in his own Trip Advisor Review posted a couple months ago.

We ask that you allow us a moment of your valuable time. We would like to again apologize on behalf of the Resort Owner, Manager and Staff for any inconveniences you faced during your one night stay with us that was booked through Hamanasi Resort. We find it very unfortunate that your short stay with us did not give you the pleasure that we have continuously provided to almost all of our guests.

We do take your words very seriously and we are pleased to inform you of the following:

• Although we take full responsibility for their performance, we wanted to inform you that some of our dining staff had been fairly new when you arrived. Those who passed their probation continue to be trained and those who deemed to have completely performed inadequate were released from their employment with us as we take Customer Service very seriously. We will continue to train our new Employees & Management in areas of Customer Service as we strive for excellence.

• Our operations team had confirmed that the suite you stayed in is presently on our generator system and it is working properly. We will continue to monitor this.

Thank you so much for appreciating the beauty, spaciousness and layout of our rooms as well as the tasty food our chef prepares at our Wolven Palm Restaurant for all our guest daily.
We would like to inform you that we are not advertised nor do we consider ourselves to be a Luxury Resort. We are the only Belizean Owned and Managed Resort in Hopkins- Belize and we do try to provide all our guests with a true Belizean experience. Therefore we are simply advertised as “Casual Elegance Surrounded by Adventure”.

We hope that in the future you will consider staying with us and giving us the opportunity to show you our improvements and growth.

All the Best,
Management
Belizean Dreams Resort
“Casual Elegance Surrounded by Adventure”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

686 - 692 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

My family of four (11 and 4 yr old) and my brother-in-law's family of three (1 year old) loved staying at the Belizean Dreams Resort (April 14-19, 2014). When planning this trip, I spent hours researching places to stay in Hopkins (I read almost every review) and my efforts paid off. This place is a dream. It's beautifully maintained. The staff is happy and the service is impeccable. Our villa was perfect for our two families -- we each had our own privacy (the rooms are at opposite ends) and common area with kitchen, dining area, living room, and full wrap around terrace where we could hang out. We cooked our own food when we weren't eating breakfast (yummy) or lunch (yummy) at the resort's restaurant, and spent many hours at the resort pool and at the beach which is right there with kayaks freely available and hammocks. In different combinations we went on the Mayan Ruin tour, hiking up to a waterfall (a bit strenuous), and snorkeling (use your sunscreen or wet suit) and loved it all. Several of us went into town by foot and by golf cart (there are also bikes available) and found the people to be friendly and helpful. We never felt unsafe. And, besides two women who came by on a Tues from the Mayan village to sell their wares once a week at our beach, we never saw another peddler. It's a nice quiet beach. Early every morning there are a few men raking the beach of seaweed and other detritus. I had asked for groceries to be picked up prior to our arrival and for a cake to be baked and delivered the day after our arrival to celebrate a special occasion, and both tasks were carried out without a hitch. Everything turned out wonderfully. It was our first time in Belize and after five days none of us wanted to go home.

Here are a few things to note. We flew into Belize City and the resort booked us on Maya Air (small plane that fit a dozen people). Nice staff but not the most organized airlines so patience will need to be exercised and connecting flights should be booked with leeway. The van ride from Dangriga Airport where we landed to the resort took about 45 minutes on bumpy rode. Getting there from the east and west coasts of the U.S. took us a better part of the day. But once we got there we completely relaxed. The sand fleas (they look like a tiny dashed line) are somewhat of a nuisance around the beach and by the pool if you're just sitting around, but it didn't spoil our trip. We found they didn't bug us if we sprayed our legs with Off or any commercial US bug spray, which we used sparingly during early morning and dusk.

You will not be disappointed if you stay at Belizean Dreams. I wholeheartedly recommend it, especially for families. it's just an easy place to vacation. The staff will make your stay a memorable one. Thank you Taryn, Felipe, and all!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKNC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Belizean Dreams was like a small paradise to me and my family. this is one of the best relaxing and beautiful place, I really enjoyed it to the fullest. My kids were very please and happy on the white sandy beaches and the crystal pool at the resort. It a breathtaking place that I would visit again. Thanks very much to the staff who made our stay a memorable one. Very nice people at Belizean Dreams....it is really a dream come true....LOVE IT!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 4A...best view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I love this place. I have stayed at Belizean Dreams three times and I will stay there again. On this most recent trip as well as the others, I brought several friends with me, for each of them their first trip to Belize. Belizean Dreams makes an excellent first impression, the beach is lovely, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the people, (especially the bartender) are warm and friendly.

We were all sad to leave and will be planning our next trip soon!

Room Tip: Pick the upstairs suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We can't say enough good things about this resort. The staff was great, the food and drinks were amazing and the tours that came with our package made waking up early worth it! My husband Matt and I took the time to get to know everyone who worked at the resort and even met some of the locals at Hopkins village. Ask about the bakery in Hopkins and get an all natural and delicious smoothie! Thank you to everyone at Belizean Dreams for making our honeymoon a dream come true! We are definitely coming back. To future guests, we consider many who work there like friends now so you better be nice and not spend every moment trying to find some reason to complain. Enjoy the experience and the people who make it possible!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

beautiful property with private suites, very quiet, great beach, highly recommended. Hopkins is very rural town, need bike, golf cart to get in and out, and visit all local restaurants. Tours require planning ahead from hotel or other tour agencies.

Room Tip: Rooms without kitchenette are on top floor, better view to ocean from top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scubafun1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The views are gorgeous. We stayed in two different upstairs rooms and enjoyed the ocean villas. The main drawback is that we were on a schedule each morning. We asked for room service and it was consistently slow even when ordering the night before for a certain time. One morning we were happy when it was finally delivered and felt if we ate fairly quickly we would have time to get to our diving boat a short walk away. I looked at our settings and realized that we were not served napkins and silverware with our food. I told the server and it took so much time that I had to take my breakfast on the dive boat to make sure I made it on time. They did give us a free breakfast another day. The server walked by tables that had the napkins and silverware outside and went in to the restaurant. She could have taken them off the tables and brought them right up and it would have saved a lot of time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 24summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
10.4 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
1,071 reviews
22.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
818 reviews
16.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#7 of 14 in Hopkins
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hopkins Bay, a Muy'Ono Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Dreams Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Dreams Resort

Address: Sittee River Road, Hopkins 501, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#2 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range: £143 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belizean Dreams Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, intimate Belizean owned and managed resort nestled on the coast of Hopkins Village, southern Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belizean Dreams Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Dreams Hotel Hopkins
Belizean Dreams Hotel Dangriga
Belizean Dreams Dangriga
Belizean Dreams Resort Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing