We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing, beautiful vacation”
Review of Hopkins Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hopkins Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This resort is a hidden gem in a small remote village; friendly, well maintained and clean. With two pools, on-site restaurant, bar, games, kayaking, and breath taking ocean views there's plenty to do. It's also a short walk to local restaurants or drive to other attractions. They are doing construction on the main road leading into to Hopkins and it can be a bit bumpy and dusty but don't let that bother you.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view so you don't really need "ocean front" room. All rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for such a great review. We take full pride in our beach houses and services and appreciate the fact that you’ve highlighted how well maintained our little gem is and the fact that there are so many onsite amenities that we offer.

We concur with you; Hopkins Bay is a short walk or even bike ride to all the other local restaurants and a short drive to nearby adventure tours. The pavement of the four mile dirt road leading into the village is set for completion by the end of summer and we are ecstatic about this infrastructural improvement.

Should you choose to visit Belize again, it would be a pleasure to host you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

On the spur of the moment, we drove to Hopkins from Stann's Creek area to visit the beach and spent 3 nights here. The second floor loft room was huge, clean, bright, cool and comfortable. Free Internet is a plus if you need to keep in touch. Breakfast was included and the food was good, lots of it and we tried new dishes. Loved the fish cakes and the fry Jack's were light, fluffy and yummy. Altho we had rainy days, it was great just to kick back and rest read and watch the waves. Friendly people and service.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JudyMc111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hi There,
Your amazing review is greatly appreciated. We are glad to know that you found our beach house to be so nice and comfy. The complimentary internet is just one of the few perks that we use to let all our guests feel like they are staying at their home away from home.

Thanks for highlighting your dining experience as it is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the food from our new onsite Rhum Shack Restaurant.

Should you be in the area again, we’d like to host you once more and share some sunny days next time around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at Hopkins Bay in late March. I'm glad I had read some reviews, because they were spot on. The road into the resort looks dicey, but the place was beautiful. We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite, which was enormous, with a full kitchen. The beds were comfy, and we had a view of one of the pools and the ocean. Radiance, the concierge, was extremely helpful with taxis and tours. She even arranged early morning breakfasts so we could be ready for our driver at 7 am. We enjoyed driving with Jamal and Axel, and loved our time at the Mayflower Bocawina National Park with Winston and Greg, zip-lining and hiking. The folks in Hopkins were full of life, always out biking and walking, and we found many good places to eat. A shout out to Maureen at Iris' Sunnyside Up for mentioning the ATM Cave Tour and to Edward our guide for sharing his knowledge. All-in-all a thoroughly enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thanks for the very nice review. Hopkins Village has a local charm that can make any visitor feel at home; we are happy that you got the opportunity to delve in and share in the experience. It’s also great to know that like the others, your initial thought of the village was overshadowed when you saw the beauty that the village and people have to offer.

The tours and personalities that you came in contact with is what makes Hopkins a truly remarkable little village in Belize and we are happy to know that you enjoyed it.

Also, our beach houses are strategically thought out to give you the most panoramic views of the ocean and the mountains; it was our pleasure to provide an upgrade.

We look forward to hosting you on your return trip to Belize and taking you on even more adventure tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My daughter and I had a lovely time in Hopkins Bay Resort - definitely family oriented! The bed was not very comfi but other amenities made up for that.

At the front desk, Radiance and her sister, Veles, were awesome. Very helpful and resourceful. Jamal, Elwin, and Axel were great drivers. We had a blast with Jamal!
Our Mayan tour guide, Junior, knows his history well - ask for him.
I recommend at least one meal in the village -- typical, typical food. I had a barracuda steak to die for, lots of Belikin, and of course, their local pinneapple/coconut rum drink with the colorful name.

Everyone in Hopkins knows each other or somehow are related and you could easily become part of that great family -- It was a great 'Spring Break'! Don't forget to visit Kaitlyn's bakery; she makes great banana bread.

I suggesst you spend a day in one of the cayes for a truly remarkable beach experience (our caye tour was cancelled due to weather conditions on our planned day). Oh, don't forget to take your OWN sun block!

Room Tip: Try the mattress first. We didn't feel hip pain until the next day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheParentTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

On behalf of our Hopkins Bay team we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you and your daughter while here in Belize. It was our pleasure to welcome you into our home and expose you to the local Garifuna culture in the village. Our team takes great pride in providing amazing services to our guests and we greatly appreciate your acknowledgement of that.

Your recommendation to taste the local cuisine, drink the local drinks and venture off into the village is on par with what a Hopkins Village experience encompasses. We hope you can visit us again so that we can take you out to one of the nearby islands for your own truly remarkable beach experience.

Until then, we wish you all the best and we do look forward to creating more unforgettable family vacation experiences for you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had 4 adults and 2 kids, rented a 3 bedroom villa steps away from the pool and beach. The house is quite comfortable, if you plan on cooking you would need a few more dishes etc. Radiance, front desk, made our reservations for dinners and taxis for us. Instead of using tour operator for zipline we just took a taxi to the park, much cheaper. We went snorkeling with Noawell (sp), great experience. We ate most of our meals in town, rode the bikes in, walked or took a taxi.
We had dinner at the restaurant at the resort one night, the service was really bad, not the fault of the staff, the manager had no clue on how to run a restaurant. Instead of helping he drank wine and talked to any pretty girl who walked by.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank JunebugJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback; it is greatly appreciated as it allows us to become better at what we do. We are happy to know that you found the accommodations to be comfortable and that you got the opportunity to experience some of Belize’s best adventure tours with our third party providers. Riding bikes into the village and sampling the local restaurants is highly recommended and we're glad you were able to experience that as well.

We apologize for your experience in our Restaurant with it not being up to the mark. Our Manager, who is an extremely conscientious hotelier was actually entertaining a party of repeat guests, it was certainly not his intention to ignore you or to make you feel less important. We wish you had brought this up before you left Hopkins Bay Belize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have stayed at Hopkins twice in the last 4weeks both times for 1 night only. First impressions were good, layout of beautifully designed villas and beach bar/restaurant well designed and tastefully decorated and friendly bar staff.
We were disappointed with the cleanliness of our villa, glass on patio doors filthy with fingerprint smears, the front if the fridge dirty, the plugs in the kitchen sink old food in them, cobwebs across lights in bathroom, fronts of bedside cabinets dirty. But my main gripe is the bedding, it had not been ironed, was stained and had holes in the sheets.
We had ALOT of flies around our door hence when we were going in and out they came into property. I asked at reception for a spray to kill them and I was given one but was told I shouldn't have opened the door, by a rather rude staff member. As we were only there 1 night I couldn't be bothered to complain but if I gad been there for longer I would have done.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Everycare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Admittedly, it is never fun reading that guests did not enjoy the comforts of home during their stay at Hopkins Bay. However, we take your feedback very seriously and will use it to continue to improve on the experience we offer here at the resort. We can appreciate that your time at our property was not everything you expected it to be and for that we truly apologize.

We will continue to ensure that our beach houses undergo a thorough inspection and deep-cleaning when necessary as well as continue our training with staff to ensure that each individual is the consummate host.

Again, we apologize for the negative aspects of your experience while you were here but we're truly grateful for the fact that you were a return guest. We hope you choose to return once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We recently traveled to Belize and had a wonderful time at Hopkins bay resort. The resort was beautiful. We had an amazing villa right on the water. The staff was great and helped us arrange our daily adventures from cave tubing and jungle hikes to zip lines and rappelling down a waterfall. Great place to bring your family if you like adventure. We experienced the local culture and some of the best foods. Bring your bug spray!!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank ccappelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for the very nice review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the proximity of your beachfront beach-house to the Caribbean Sea! We’re also delighted with the fact that you were able to partake in some great Belize adventure tours and experience our country for all that it has to offer- unique explorations, cuisines and people.

We are looking forward to hosting you and your family on your return trip to Belize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
18.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
645 reviews
2.8 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
302 reviews
11.1 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
782 reviews
2.6 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
852 reviews
2.8 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Bay Resort

Address: North End | North, Hopkins, Belize (Formerly Hopkins Bay Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#6 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range: £68 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hopkins Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Bay is an upscale Belize beach resort ideally situated on the Caribbean Sea near the Garifuna village of Hopkins in the Stann Creek District. Our private Belize beach resort offers comfortable garden and beachfront accommodation in a lush tropical paradise. Hopkins Bay Belize is the ideal spot where couples or families can enjoy a relaxing setting. Couples can enjoy a romantic getaway in a one-bedroom beach loft and families can make themselves at home in a two or three-bedroom beach house. Whatever accommodation you choose, you'll be just a stone's throw away from the beach and an unforgettable Belize vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hopkins Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopkins Bay Villas Hotel Hopkins
Hopkins Bay Hotel
Hopkins Bay Resort Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing