We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we had an enjoyable time at Hopkins Bay Resort”
Review of Hopkins Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hopkins Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
219 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“we had an enjoyable time at Hopkins Bay Resort”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Hopkins Bay Resort in Belize, May 15 to 19, 2014

this resort is located on the mainland of Belize and is 6 years in business, fairly new. It is an Oceanfront property, nicely laid out, with plenty of space, beautiful manicured landscaping with a restaurant and a bar, located very close to the beach, as well as two swimming pools. We were greeted by "Aaron" at the front desk and assigned oceanfront room 10 A, located upstairs in this building. A very spacious, clean room with all the amenities including a Coffee maker, refrigerator,safe, bath- robes and a large bath room as well as a balcony with a terrific view over the Caribbean Sea, where we took in the Ocean Breeze in the shade and enjoyed the roaring sound of the waves rolling in. The beach is narrow, but there is a much better beach at a local Pizza place, a five minutes walk from the hotel. It is a very wide beach with white sand, I thought to be fair, I needed to point this out. The beach at Hopkins Bay Resort is cleaned every day and meticulously racked and both pools are cleaned on a daily basis as well. Be aware of the sandflies on the beach, they are your enemies, not your friends. You can combat them using Johnson & Johnson's BABY OIL…. when they bite you, you feel the sting and itching for the next three days for sure. The service in the dining room is very good and so is the selection of food. We mostly stayed with fresh grilled Grouper. I like to mention the folioing wait-staff for doing a good job, Camille, Adalma & King. Thank you for your attentive service. The view from the restaurant is super, as well looking out to the beach / ocean. Some people mentioned in past reviews, that the food is too expensive, all prices are quoted in US Dollars on the menu and it seems to me they are still somewhat lower than in Florida. We met the Managers of this property Shawn and Mandy, and we congratulate them for operating a fine Resort operation. Sunday nights for Dinner, they offer "Live" Garifuna Drumming"….. we enjoyed it very much…We thank you all for a wonderful stay…see pictures below.

Room Tip: direct Ocean Front Room 10 A , can't go wrong here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your Belize vacation stay at Hopkins Bay! We are always delighted to read such reviews about our resort, its services and especially our staff. For us, we thrive on offering amenities that makes one feel close to home while providing a tranquil atmosphere for them to enjoy.

Admittedly, we do have a small beach area compared to other locations in the village. As you mentioned, we ensure that it is well manicured as it helps minimize the amount of sandflies on a still (lack of breeze) beach day.

We are also happy to know that you enjoyed the live drumming by the traditional Garifuna drummers and found the menu prices to be reasonable. Our Management team takes great pride in offering guests not only a comfortable bed to sleep in, but also, great local experiences to share! We look forward to hosting you on your return to Belize.

Warm Regards,
The Team at Hopkins Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    114
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
158
233
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose Succotz, Belize
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Here as part of wider group of colleagues.
Place is fairly well kept, clean, quiet and tucked away in northern Hopkins.
Staff is friendly and were always willing to accommodate, didn't feel like a business trip at all.
The food wasn't all that spectacular but this is perhaps due to the fact that we had selected it as a part of bigger group food selection - gives the impression that catering to big groups may not be their strong point.
The only other con perhaps is that it doesn't have that many options to go to for dining or other activities at night.
All in all, recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmanza74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi There,
It was a pleasure to host you and your colleagues at Hopkins Bay Resort for your group booking. We are happy to know that we were able to accommodate the needs of your business trip while still allowing you to feel relaxed and comfortable on our property.

As you mentioned, we do offer pre-scheduled menus for groups and these vary based on each group's individual preferences. We apologize for the fact that the customized menu was too limited for you. We’ve successfully catered to several groups in the past and we are a bit disappointed that we didn’t get the chance to amaze you.

Therefore, we invite you to come back and give us the opportunity to expose you to more cuisine at the Rhum Shack and for us to take you on a bicycle immersion tour through the village so that you can see the array of restaurants available while delving into the local culture and people of Hopkins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had booked a 5 night stay in a cabana on the beach, but it didn't meet our expectations and after a night of noise and filthy sheets we checked out and went looking for somewhere else. I'm so glad we found Hopkins Bay Resort. Even though we didn't have a reservation and the resort was pretty booked, we were able to get a great room for a great price. The room was an upstairs studio that was oceanfront. The room was very nice with every amenity and a huge balcony that was steps from the water. The resort was quite a step up from where we had spent the previous night. There were many families there as well as couples like ourselves.

The king bed was very comfortable, the bathroom huge, the TV and AC worked great and there was a fridge and coffee maker. The room was spotless and kept that way every day by housekeeping. Every staff person we encountered were extremely nice and friendly. There was generally a very casual vibe throughout the property and it didn't feel crowded at all.

The resort was a 10 minute walk from the center of town and close to the Driftwood Pizza restaurant. We also ate at the resort restaurant a few times and the food was delicious, but the service is very, very, slow. We waited at least 45 minutes to an hour for our food every time we ate there. That was pretty much the only negative. We were never in a hurry, but still, it was a little too much of a wait.

I'm so glad that we found this resort. Our first night in Hopkins was really terrible and I was regretting our decision to even come to Hopkins. Fortunately, the Hopkins Bay resort made the rest of our stay so relaxing and fun that I ended up loving the village and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi There,

Thanks for the awesome review! We are happy to know that despite the change of location, we were still able to help you enjoy our little piece of paradise without compromising a comfortable night’s rest.

We make it our priority to have guests feel at home in our beach houses; whether it is a group, family, or couple, we offer amenities and services for everyone to have an amazing Belize experience. Our housekeepers take great pride in maintaining well-kept rooms and our friendly staff is always happy to share about their local culture.

Our apologies for the wait at the Rhum Shack; we’ve been monitoring ticket times and this is an area of the property that we will continue to work on to ensure that its efficiency is up to standard.

Upon your return to Belize, we’d like the chance once again to expose you to even more cultures, adventures and cuisine. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This resort is a hidden gem in a small remote village; friendly, well maintained and clean. With two pools, on-site restaurant, bar, games, kayaking, and breath taking ocean views there's plenty to do. It's also a short walk to local restaurants or drive to other attractions. They are doing construction on the main road leading into to Hopkins and it can be a bit bumpy and dusty but don't let that bother you.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view so you don't really need "ocean front" room. All rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for such a great review. We take full pride in our beach houses and services and appreciate the fact that you’ve highlighted how well maintained our little gem is and the fact that there are so many onsite amenities that we offer.

We concur with you; Hopkins Bay is a short walk or even bike ride to all the other local restaurants and a short drive to nearby adventure tours. The pavement of the four mile dirt road leading into the village is set for completion by the end of summer and we are ecstatic about this infrastructural improvement.

Should you choose to visit Belize again, it would be a pleasure to host you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
258 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

On the spur of the moment, we drove to Hopkins from Stann's Creek area to visit the beach and spent 3 nights here. The second floor loft room was huge, clean, bright, cool and comfortable. Free Internet is a plus if you need to keep in touch. Breakfast was included and the food was good, lots of it and we tried new dishes. Loved the fish cakes and the fry Jack's were light, fluffy and yummy. Altho we had rainy days, it was great just to kick back and rest read and watch the waves. Friendly people and service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judymcsedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi There,
Your amazing review is greatly appreciated. We are glad to know that you found our beach house to be so nice and comfy. The complimentary internet is just one of the few perks that we use to let all our guests feel like they are staying at their home away from home.

Thanks for highlighting your dining experience as it is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the food from our new onsite Rhum Shack Restaurant.

Should you be in the area again, we’d like to host you once more and share some sunny days next time around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at Hopkins Bay in late March. I'm glad I had read some reviews, because they were spot on. The road into the resort looks dicey, but the place was beautiful. We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite, which was enormous, with a full kitchen. The beds were comfy, and we had a view of one of the pools and the ocean. Radiance, the concierge, was extremely helpful with taxis and tours. She even arranged early morning breakfasts so we could be ready for our driver at 7 am. We enjoyed driving with Jamal and Axel, and loved our time at the Mayflower Bocawina National Park with Winston and Greg, zip-lining and hiking. The folks in Hopkins were full of life, always out biking and walking, and we found many good places to eat. A shout out to Maureen at Iris' Sunnyside Up for mentioning the ATM Cave Tour and to Edward our guide for sharing his knowledge. All-in-all a thoroughly enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for the very nice review. Hopkins Village has a local charm that can make any visitor feel at home; we are happy that you got the opportunity to delve in and share in the experience. It’s also great to know that like the others, your initial thought of the village was overshadowed when you saw the beauty that the village and people have to offer.

The tours and personalities that you came in contact with is what makes Hopkins a truly remarkable little village in Belize and we are happy to know that you enjoyed it.

Also, our beach houses are strategically thought out to give you the most panoramic views of the ocean and the mountains; it was our pleasure to provide an upgrade.

We look forward to hosting you on your return trip to Belize and taking you on even more adventure tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My daughter and I had a lovely time in Hopkins Bay Resort - definitely family oriented! The bed was not very comfi but other amenities made up for that.

At the front desk, Radiance and her sister, Veles, were awesome. Very helpful and resourceful. Jamal, Elwin, and Axel were great drivers. We had a blast with Jamal!
Our Mayan tour guide, Junior, knows his history well - ask for him.
I recommend at least one meal in the village -- typical, typical food. I had a barracuda steak to die for, lots of Belikin, and of course, their local pinneapple/coconut rum drink with the colorful name.

Everyone in Hopkins knows each other or somehow are related and you could easily become part of that great family -- It was a great 'Spring Break'! Don't forget to visit Kaitlyn's bakery; she makes great banana bread.

I suggesst you spend a day in one of the cayes for a truly remarkable beach experience (our caye tour was cancelled due to weather conditions on our planned day). Oh, don't forget to take your OWN sun block!

Room Tip: Try the mattress first. We didn't feel hip pain until the next day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheParentTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins R, Manager at Hopkins Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
On behalf of our Hopkins Bay team we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you and your daughter while here in Belize. It was our pleasure to welcome you into our home and expose you to the local Garifuna culture in the village. Our team takes great pride in providing amazing services to our guests and we greatly appreciate your acknowledgement of that.

Your recommendation to taste the local cuisine, drink the local drinks and venture off into the village is on par with what a Hopkins Village experience encompasses. We hope you can visit us again so that we can take you out to one of the nearby islands for your own truly remarkable beach experience.

Until then, we wish you all the best and we do look forward to creating more unforgettable family vacation experiences for you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
2.8 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
24.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
11.1 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
2.6 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.8 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Bay Resort

Property: Hopkins Bay Resort
Address: P.O. Box 87 | North, Hopkins, Belize (Formerly Hopkins Bay Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#6 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hopkins Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Bay is an upscale Belize beach resort ideally situated on the Caribbean Sea near the Garifuna village of Hopkins in the Stann Creek District. Our private Belize beach resort offers comfortable garden and beachfront accommodation in a lush tropical paradise. Hopkins Bay Belize is the ideal spot where couples or families can enjoy a relaxing setting. Couples can enjoy a romantic getaway in a one-bedroom beach loft and families can make themselves at home in a two or three-bedroom beach house. Whatever accommodation you choose, you'll be just a stone's throw away from the beach and an unforgettable Belize vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hopkins Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopkins Bay Villas Hotel Hopkins
Hopkins Bay Hotel
Hopkins Bay Resort Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing