We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ATV tour”
Review of Xtreme Adventures

Xtreme Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$150.00*
and up
ATV Tour in the Papagayo Gulf
Ranked #14 of 30 Tours in Gulf of Papagayo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Atv tours, Canopy tours, jet ski tours, horseback ridding, and more!! Local company 100% Costa Rican
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ATV tour”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Antonio is the man. Very personable and gave great directions. Wasn't rushing us and also very knowledgeable about the area.

Helpful?
Thank Lloyd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    3
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“2-hour ATV tour”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Sadly, the most enjoyable part of this tour was talking with the driver who took us to and from the location. Diego was a courteous man who took an interest in us and chatted freely along the way. The ATV tour itself was uneventful and somewhat mundane. Our tour guide, Estefan, did very little to enhance the trip. Had he made any effort to tell us abut the area and the people, it may have improved the experience. In truth, he spent most of his time on the phone, to the point of not noticing when a vehicle was trying to pass him when he was hogging the centre of the road, and also not noticing when we stopped at the roadside, thankfully not needing assistance. Let me add here that we were only one of two ATVs in the group, so he should have been aware of what was happening for each rider. When we stopped at the beaches, it was difficult to have him join in our conversations, and it wasn't due to any language barrier as his English was good. He just appeared totally disinterested. When asked the name of the large hotel complex at the beach, he didn't know. When this is the route you cover, knowing points of interest is part of being the guide. The route to and from the beaches was on regular roads, with very few (if any) points of interest. We were told there was a point where there was an excellent view of the ocean, but he didn't stop so our drivers certainly didn't see this, and I think I had a quick glimpse. Estefan spoke more to us at the end of the tour, explaining that the season is slow and they only get one tour a day each. If that's the situation, then it would be more reason to give it your everything so that you are more likely to get tips. This tour "guide" had not earned a tip and did not get one from either couple.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ru2cold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable ATV tour near Playas del Coco”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I wanted to go on ATV's when we went on our honeymoon and we had looked up Xtreme Adventures on TripAdvisor and on the local map. We are REALLY happy we did. The prices were incredible and so was the experience. We went during the "rainy" season and decided it would be fun to ride the ATV's on a sunset tour. It didn't rain one bit and we got the BEST pictures and views of the beach. Our guide was super friendly and volunteered to take tons of pictures for my husband and I. I would recommend this to anyone near Playas del Coco.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Xtreme Adventures and Diego are top notch”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Diego runs a first class establishment - excellent guides, well maintained equipment and reasonable pricing. Our family of 4 booked 2 double ATV's for the 4-hour mountain/beach tour (Diego even arranged to have us picked up and returned to our hotel in Coco Beach). We covered all kinds of terrain, and were given multiple opportunities to stop for drinks, breaks, and photo ops. Xtreme Adventures has some wonderful facilities that we used to "clean up" at the end of our excursion. Finally, Diego is very good at responding to emails and making sure his guests are being taken care of.

If you want a safe and fun ATV adventure from a well run and responsible company - Xtreme Adventures is top notch. I would highly recommend using Diego for any of your tour needs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott3SRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Colorado
2 reviews
“1/2 day on ATV”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I suggest you ask for Antonio Morales, he is a very in depth kind of person. My wife had never been on a ATV in her life so Antonio explained to her what she needed to do and we put her between us and she did real well, He explained about the back roads and some of his friends we met along the way. we even stopped for a beverage about half the way thru the tour at Marias Cantina and visited with her parrots and parakeets. Antonio also pointed out thru the tour the various kinds of trees and fruit trees along the way.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darrell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Xtreme Adventures also viewed

Playa Matapalo, Province of Puntarenas
Gulf of Papagayo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Xtreme Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing