We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOOK NO FUTHER - COSTA RICA BESTRIPS IS ALL YOU NEED”

Costa Rica Best Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Costa Rica Best Trips is a company dedicated to provide the airport transfer, shuttle service and private trips on Costa Rica, we have the licensed company and the insurance which is very important for our customers to feel safe, as we have many years of experience in the business. We always try to provide the best customer service with competitive prices and an experienced team of professionals drivers and tour guides. We are located 6,5 km SW from the Liberia Airport, Daniel Oduber Quiros (LIR) along the highway 21, on Plaza Nacascolo at the Gulf of Papagayo, office of Costa Rica Best Trips.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOOK NO FUTHER – COSTA RICA BESTRIPS IS ALL YOU NEED”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

If you are looking for a safe, trustworthy, and reliable company for your tours and transfers with incredible customer service, look no further. This is the place to go, no need to waste your time with any other company.
We just returned from an unforgettable Costa Rican get-away and the guys with Costa Rica Bestrips made it all possible. I looked forward to setting up a Trip Advisor account just to write this because they truly deserve it. If we could give a better rating than 5 out of 5, we definitely would.
I was a little hesitant booking at first because it was a smaller, privately-owned company and it would require me to travel with more cash than I would want, but after meeting them and seeing how much they cared about us, I had no issues at all. To re-emphasize, I am the type of person who almost never leaves personal belongings out of sight (especially living in the Chicagoland area), but I felt comfortable leaving all of our luggage, including a surprise engagement ring, in their van while on our tour because they locked the van every time we stepped away, checked to make sure it locked, and stayed with it while we were enjoying our adventures – and they’re just great people.
The first day of tours, we were privileged to have Jose as our driver/tour guide and he was outstanding to say the least. When it comes to customer service, he really went above and beyond. He would pull-over whenever we wanted to learn about something we observed or to catch a photo of the amazing landscapes. He offered to stay in the background and take our photos while we enjoyed the volcanic mud and hot springs. He even insisted on carrying my fiancé’s raft all the way down to the river for our tubing excursion (and let me tell you it was quite a hike). The best part about it was that he did these things not to try and squeeze more money out of us like you see with a lot of service companies, but purely because he is a great person who wanted us to have an amazing experience in his country. He succeeded. He put in a hard day of work which started from when he picked us at 8 AM and finished at 1 AM (yes AM) when he finally finished his 4 hour drive to drop us off at Casa Luna in La Fortuna and 4 hours back, all after a day of tours.
Our other day of tours, which consisted of a Canopy/Hanging Bridges tour and waterfall visit, was spent with Ariel (the owner) and Manny. Both of them were great. We spent more time with Manny because he was with us on the tours while Ariel stayed with the van. But Manny gave us a thorough tour of the rainforest where we learned all about the plants, animals and other interesting facts about their country. He spotted spider monkeys, and howler monkeys for us on the tour (pretty rare though so don’t expect it), but he wasn’t satisfied until he finally found a sloth hiding up in the trees on our ride home - he spent the ride scouring the trees until he found one, again with the goal of providing us with an unforgettable experience. Success.
We will definitely be in contact with Ariel and his crew in the future and will recommend his services to all of our friends and family. I encourage you to try them out. It was a relief to be able to simply send them our itinerary and flight information and let them do the rest. I researched other companies and their prices are competitive, especially considering we had the van and the tours all to ourselves for the entire trip. (As an FYI - I don’t want to set the wrong expectation that they are always an exclusive transfer service, it may depend on the time of year. Don’t be disappointed if there is another couple with you when you head to your tour.) Overall though, wonderful experience. Can’t wait to go back. As you can see by the other reviews as well, these guys are doing things right. They are fueled by their passion for Costa Rica and do their best to instill that same passion in all who come to visit.

In summary:
- SAFE
- RELIABLE
- AFFORDABLE
- TRUSTWORTHY
- EXTREMELY ACCOMMODATING
- AWESOME

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    14
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best tour company - personalized, not rushed, and prompt service!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I booked 3 things with Ariel, and was so glad I did. Initially I booked just the transfer from Liberia to our hotel and back, and Ariel was super prompt over email answering my endless questions and providing details on the extensive list of tours he offers. He was waiting for us when we arrived, and it was sooo nice to have a personal private clean air conditioned van to pick us up and take us to the hotel. Ariel is very personable, so easy to talk to, and really knowledgeable about his country. We were sold just in the 20 min ride to our hotel that we wanted to use his company for our 25th anniversary excursion. We booked the Borinquen Combo, and Ariel again was right on time to pick us up. The tour was amazing, and Ariel joined us the whole day as our personal paparazzi - even taking video behind us on the zip lines! He stopped in Liberia and purchased a pineapple for us to enjoy during the hot springs, and we never felt rushed the whole day. Ariel even made small stops for us along our route back once he found out we loved coffee and plantain chips ! The whole day was so wonderfully organized and personal, we booked again for that week to go to the Heliconias Rain Forest, have lunch at a local spot, and see the Llanos del Cortez waterfall. Manny and John were our tour guides, and again such personal/knowledgeable guys! We mentioned during our lunch conversation that we were searching for something special as a souvenir, and within 30 min they had located it for us. Manny went out of his way many times to ensure we saw as much wildlife as possible whether we were in the rainforest or just dining at the restaurant. And many thanks to John for driving so close the waterfall despite the recent rain and mud holes he navigated around!

This company is all about customer service and ensuring you have the best time in Costa Rica. On each trip Ariel had his van stocked w/drinks for us to enjoy as well. Truly can't say enough positive words about the wonderful service Ariel and his company provided. You CANNOT do better in my opinion - the tours are all about your personal experience. Its private, relaxed at your pace, and totally open to pit stops along the way. Thanks to Ariel, Manny and John for helping to make our 25th anniversary trip so memorable!

PS - I will upload photos at a later date, simply amazing scenery!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank minermemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“BEST tour company ever”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We used CostaRicaBestrips for 2 of our excursions when in Costa Rica and they are absolutely amazing. Ariel was professional, punctual, and provided excellent service. You could tell he wanted to make our experience an amazing one and he sure delivered! We booked our first excursion to Borinquen before arriving in Costa Rica and he was very prompt in getting back to us I would recommend contacting him before you arrive to get the information on the tours you are interested in. The cost was very reasonable and he exceeded our expectations. We learned so much about Costa Rica from him. The Borinquen tour was amazing with exciting ziplines, horseback riding, mud bath and hot springs. Ariel took so many great photos and videos with our camera while we enjoyed the experience. The second trip we took was to Monteverde; it was such a great experience to see the Cloud Forest.

I would highly recommend booking with Ariel!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pura Vida - Costa Rica!!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

While visiting Allegro Papagayo I booked 2 tours with Ariel of CR BesTrips. Ariel was excellent to deal with. He was prompt with any email responses and such a friendly guy who does Costa Rica a favor by showing people his beautiful country!!
The 1st tour was to Nicaragua, which was arranged thru Ariel with Plus Papagayo. Ariel assured we were in good hands with this company and he was right! The tour guide Eric was wonderful and spoke good english. It was a long day with hotel pick up @5:15AM and return to hotel @8:30 but it was so worth the journey!! We had a lovely breakfast at a nice restaurant before crossing the border in Nicaragua. Customs was simple at the border with Eric's help! It was recommended to change money for Nicaragua currency but it wasn't necessary, as we found out on our return crossing when we needed to change back to US money again and there was very little US$ available so we got CR colones, which was ok. The scenery driving to Nicaragua was amazing!! We saw volcanoes on 2 islands and while in NIC saw a crater and active volcano (awesome)!! We shopped at Masaya Market for crafty souvenirs, had lunch at hotel, walking tour in Granada and then went on boat tour of Monkey Island and yes saw monkeys!! Very interesting day in Nicaragua!!

The 2nd tour was with Ariel, who was an awesome tour guide. He picked us up at our hotel in comfortable air conditioned van. We did the "Borinquen Tour" which included @2 hours on ATV thru jungle, saw waterfalls & natural waterslide, monkeys, tucans and the beautiful scenery from the trail!! Harry was excellent ATV guide and I was so glad he suggested I drive my own ATV...it was sooo much fun!! Afterwards we had a delicous 3 course meal at the restaurant and it was great to have Ariel join us for lunch!! Another couple joined us on the tour and for lunch but did the zipline/horseback riding which was another option. After lunch all 4 of us went to Steam Bath (which is above the bubbling volcano waters) then got messy in the Mud Bath (so much fun!!) and then to relax in the hot springs...so relaxing!! It was an awesome day!!!
I certainly would recommend Ariel's company for tours and plan to return to his amazing country of Costa Rica!!! Pura Vida!!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank cruiser2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best tour service!!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is by far the best tour company you can go with when visiting Costa Rica. Ariel is passionate about sharing his love of Costa Rica with you and does all of the extra things to make sure you have the best possible experience. He was our personal photographer on horseback and a videographer on the ziplines, he even sliced up fresh pineapple for us while we soaked in the hot springs. We used him for 2 of our 3 excursions and I wish we had have used him for all three.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costa Rica Best Trips also viewed

 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Costa Rica Best Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing