We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,724)
Filter reviews
2,724 results
Traveller rating
1,940
561
154
57
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,940
561
154
57
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seaside grill preferred club market cafe main pool spa pool aqua restaurant coco cafe unlimited vacation club secret box room service pura vida bungalow suite main area costa rica my pleasure tropical view shuttle driver
Filter
Updating list...
2,288 - 2,293 of 2,724 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2016

This resort was great. The room was very comfortable and always clean and linens replenished. The food was excellent. The service was excellent. If you go, you MUST ask for Julio - he was awesome! The only complaint we have is there are not enough lounge chairs around the pools and not nearly enough umbrellas. It was extremely hot and people claim chairs and umbrellas at 6:30 every morning! Not this girl!

Room Tip: we had an amazing view up in the "400" room numbers
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank bCooper1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel_Gomez_F, Director General at Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016


Dear bCooper1231,

Greetings from our piece of paradise!

We really appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us.

It was such a pleasure to hear that each day of your Secrets Papagayo experience presented an abundance of choices which you thoroughly enjoyed. Hopefully this means that you will be visiting Costa Rica in the near future.

When your travels bring you back to our hidden paradise, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you home once again. Please contact me directly at gmanager.sepcr@secretsresorts.com prior your arrival.

Warm Regards,

Lionel Gómez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

This resort has an interesting layout. The property is very large yet there is only 200 units. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The staff as amazing. Special thanks to Marilyn, Carlos, Alex and Alonzo from entertainment, Luis Manual always served us with an infectious smile and kind words at breakfast. Dhana prepared perfect omlets with her sweet smile. Erick was the happiest room service guy I ever met. Minor and Blas were our favourite bartender's. This property is very hilly but there are shuttles running all the time if you don't feel like walking. The restaurant are delicious, they really know how to cook fish. The beach is small but they have paddle boards, kayak s and snorkeling gear at no extra cost. I totally recommend this resort if you want to relax and unwind. There are always activities going on but the choice is yours to participate. No pressure. Pura Vida

Room Tip: Rooms in the 400's have a good view but up a long steep hill.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel_Gomez_F, Director General at Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Dear Ellen V,

Greetings from the marvelous Costa Rica!

It is a pleasure to read through such a detailed overview of your visit to Secrets Papagayo . We sincerely appreciate the time invested on writing this review.

We are always working to exceed our guests expectations, and we're happy to hear that Marilyn, Carlos, Alex, Alonso, Luis Manuel, Dhana, Erick, Minor and Blas achieve this with you.

Next time you have a vacation, please contact me directly at gmanager.sepcr@secretsresorts.com so that I can personally coordinate a much better visit.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Pura Vida,

Lionel Gómez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We were upgraded to room 108, absolutely modern and spacious with a large balcony looking over the bay. It was shaded by some trees that attracted iguanas and birds, which was very nice. It was a short walk to the main pool and restaurant area, and a pleasant walk along the beach to the spa area.
The best restaurant was the Italian, really in term of quality up there with a good restaurant in midtown Manhattan. The pastas in particular were excellent.
The Asian was very good as well. Aqua at lunch was beautiful and very good.
Wine drinkers: look for value and ask if anything interesting is not on the list. It looks like Secrets picked up Hilton's wine cellar and is working it off.
Hikers: the trail near the spa is open, but needs to be really upgraded before the average sandal wearing person should go on it. Nice view, but wear sneakers at least. The other trail I was told is worse; I didn't try it but be forewarned.
Club: we've been to a few Secrets resorts and this is one where the Club has an excellent bartender, a steady flow of snacks and is readily accessible.
People looking for late night action: there is none.
Have fun!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank GoHawks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel_Gomez_F, Director General at Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Dear GoHawks5,

Greetings from the exotic Costa Rica!

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Secrets Papagayo, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

It's our most felicity to read that your stay was a wonderful one while you were impressed with our stunning views, amazing ocean view rooms and the fabulous food.

We would certainly be glad to have you back for another round of a wonderful stay. Please contact us directly at gmanager.sepcr@sceretsresorts.com to take care of your next reservation.

We look forward to have you at Secrets Papagayo, your home in the Guanacaste, North Pacific Region .

Sincerely,

Lionel Gómez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

This is our 5th AMResorts All-inclusive. We have stayed at 1 Dreams and 4 Secrets. We LOVED this resort! It is set up completely different than any of the other resorts. In Costa Rica the law only allows you to build on 30% of the land you buy to preserve the natural environment. This really gave the resort a beautiful atmosphere!
1. Rooms: The rooms are newly remodeled and clean. They are mostly individual bungalows and they are fairly spaced out. We did have to walk a lot, which we enjoyed. If you are not able to walk there are carts available to pick you up.
2. Food was good. Italian restaurant was our favorite. If you go to the Asian get the soup for an app.
3. Beach: The sand is black so it gets a little hot but the view is breathtaking! We enjoyed the paddle-boarding. We also spent the money to rent wave runner and it was well worth the money to go out of the bay into the ocean.
4. Pools: Good time with entertaining music!

I want to go back already!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel_Gomez_F, General Manager at Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Dear Jessica W,

Greetings from the majestic Costa Rica!

Thank you very much for choosing Secrets Papagayo for your vacation in Costa Rica.

It delights us to know that you were able to enjoy our newly rooms, good food, fantastic beach and the flora and fauna have been part of the highlights of your stay.

Let us know at gmanager.sepcr@secretsresorts.com when you are ready to immerse yourself into the exotic and amazing Costa Rica again!


Sincerely,

Lionel Gómez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

Great service with the bar and wait staff. Minibar was not stocked daily and we had to call three times during the five days we were there to get it stocked. Room service was very slow. We had to call several times or give up because no one picked up. Be careful how you ask for things. We asked for four glasses of champagne and after a long wait, we got just four champagne glasses. Empty. Room was clean but the linen gave both of us allergic reactions and hives!
Make sure to bring long pants as some restaurants have a dress code. Although depending on who was the hostess, some people got in wearing shorts. Food was ok - chicken was over done in every restaurant!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Flyer306394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel_Gomez_F, General Manager at Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the stunning Costa Rica!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Secrets Papagayo experiences.

We are very satisfied to read that you found a great service from the bar and wait staff. As well, we truly appreciate your constructive comments about our opportunity areas, we're always working to improve and offer only the best to our guests.

The next time you visit Costa Rica, we will be waiting for you at The Secrets Papagayo please contact me prior your arrival at gmanager.sepcr@secretsresorts.com

Cordially!

Lionel Gómez
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews