We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The quality you expect from Four Seasons” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The quality you expect from Four Seasons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Our group was staying nearby at another resort and have visited the Four Seasons several times for drinks and dinner. And, some of our group stay there when there is no room at our usual resort. If your wondering why we don't stay at the Four Seasons, a member of our group has an ownership interest in a condo at the other resort. Otherwise, we would be at the Four Seasons. The place is beautiful, the staff professional, friendly and accommodating, and the restaurant offers a wonderful dinner. Every time we are there, our experience is always the best. The hotel is designed to take full advantage of the lush Costa Rican landscape. It is open air and tranquil. The design makes is feel like an oasis or palace in the jungle. This is the place to be after a hard day of Eco-tourist traveling.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneStarTripTaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,426
    264
    85
    30
    15
See reviews for
603
768
18
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We've stayed at a lot of Four Seasons hotels and this one lived up to our expectations of overall style and relaxation.

The hotel takes advantage of the natural beauty of the area and is peaceful and quiet. The rooms were large and seemed to have everything we needed including a kitchen (we had a 2 bedroom villa).

The camp was a really highlight for us and our 9 year old loved it. He practically spent the entire day there as they had one activity after another to keep him entertained, including evening activities.

There were definitely other families with young children there, but I didn't feel like it was rowdy or too noisy, and the beach was not that crowded during they day.

My only knock was the food - expensive and not that much choice for kids, and it was not clear which restaurant s were open for dinner daily. The offset is that they were flexible to serve from any menu whether the restaurant was open or not.

There was plenty of wildlife to see, but not overwhelming (if that is something that you are looking for in a vacation to CR).

Lastly, the service was excellent and the staff were friendly everywhere you went.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwithkids_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We visited last summer for a wedding and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was just past the pool, a quick golf cart ride from the lobby. The bride and groom had a house at the top of the hill with an infinity pool overlooking the ocean. It was truly an amazing spot.

This visit reminded us that what makes a good hotel great, is the service. The staff was amazing and called us by name whenever we would meet.

Couldn't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

The Staff were all amazing, highly attentive yet not intrusive. The scenery is just breath taking. We had a room with a plunge pool on a hill overlooking the beach and a view of the island. The restaurants on the premises had good food and service.

Room Tip: Get one of the casitas .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet, romantic, rejuvenating vacation, this hotel is NOT the place. This is a super kid-friendly, family hotel. The regular hotel rooms surround the pools, which are full to the brim with screaming children. The restaurants are indoor/outdoor, which seems nice, but they also surround the pools. Thus, no matter where you go, you hear babies crying and kids playing loudly. The sound carries throughout the entire hotel. Even the "quiet pool" is not quiet. If you go to the beach, kids are screaming. If you go on a hike, don't expect to see any wildlife because the kids on the hike with you will be loud and scare all the animals away.

The hotel staff was very professonal and nice, and they tried to accomodate us. Our original room overlooked the main pool, so they moved us to the most secluded room in the main hotel. This did not work, as we could hear a baby crying- morning, noon, and night- in a room down the hall. The hotel manager moved us a second time, to a private casita far up the hill. It was amazing. It had its own private pool, separate cabins for the living room and bedrooms, a kitchen, the works! We saw wildlife including monkeys, beautiful birds, etc. from our own porch. The private villa was exactly what we were looking for, but it carries a price tag of $1,600+ per night. Yikes!!! You should not have to pay that kind of money for a little bit of peace and quiet... In fact, you don't...

The first time we visited Costa Rica, we stayed in Mal Pais at an adults only hotel called Casa Chameleon. It is a very small hotel made of six private casitas, much like the casitas at the Four Seasons, but more private and much, much less expensive. Casa Chameleon is harder to get to, but the food was better, the service was excellent, and the cost was only $250/night. Casa Chameleon was uniquely Costa Rican; we felt like we were part of the natural landscape. The Four Seasons resort was like any generic tropical mega-resort. Casa Chameleon was in every way a better experience than the Four Seasons at $825/night (or $1,600 for a private villa). We will go back to Casa Chameleon from now on.

If you go to Guanacaste or the Four Seasons anyway (maybe you have kids and the screaming baby thing does not bother you), schedule your activities with Tours Your Way, owned by Mainor Lara. These guys are the best! The highlights of our trip were horseback riding and hiking a volcano with TYW leading the way. They also provided transportation to and fom the airport at a cheaper rate than the Four Seasons, taking us to the grocery store and a pastilito stand along the way. TYW saved us fom having a truly miserable vacation. We will definitely use them again!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank CarlyEHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was a great place to vacation and just relax on the beaches. The room was very comfortable and the staff was very friendly. The resort is about 30 minutes from town, and is very peaceful and secluded. I would have liked to have more time to take the Golf Course tour they offer. The people in our group that took advantage of this said the golf course was amazing and there were monkeys all around.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tawnya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 6 days. This is one of my many visit's to the four seasons. It was very good. The room service took 15 min. +. 12-2 is a bad time to order. Though the food was great once you got it. After 3 days the staff knew my name. They were very polite. The rooms were very nice. I plan on coming back here soon. I suggest you go also. This is the hotel in a nutshell.

Room Tip: High floors are better for many reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethan z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
16.6 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing