We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Nearby Hotels
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel(Playa Panama)(Great Value!)
US$422
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica(Gulf of Papagayo)(Great Value!)
US$661
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection(Playa Panama)(Great Value!)
US$279
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$701
US$644
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only(Gulf of Papagayo)(Great Value!)
US$224
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,086)
Filter reviews
2,086 results
Traveller rating
1,642
293
99
34
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,642
293
99
34
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursecanopy suitecena socialesol y sombracielo roomcosta ricagolf clubburger shackscreened in porcharnold palmerplunge poolcomplimentary activitieszip liningcatch of the dayocean sidecooking classice water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,126 - 1,131 of 2,086 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just returned from a week stay at the resort and it was nothing short of amazing. The service was outstanding, accommodations top notch and the food terrific. Nothing is overlooked here.
Is it expensive? Yes, but you don't stay at the Four Seasons to save money, you stay for the best vacation possible and they deliver 100%. They are also very kid/family friendly.
I will be looking to stay at one of their resorts whenever possible in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverball66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear “Silverball66”, I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us on the Peninsula Papagayo. And love the 100% rating! We love our families, and love to spoil the kids, offering lots of free activities, from an extensive kids club, to a grass miniature golf course, from free ice-cream around the pool to a dive in movie with popcorn - ah to be a kid again at the Four Seasons. Pascal Forotti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Loved this place and the service was second to none. We were not nickel and domed and had a great value just at the beginning of off season. We will be back! From paddle boarding to zip lining we had a blast. Highly recommend the chefs table menu as well either in the kitchen or the restaurant. Staff was highly accommodating!

Room Tip: 721 was the perfect couples retreat! Views privacy proximity plung pool etc.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Ashley, it was a great green season indeed, very little showers and wonderful stargazing nights. Glad that you enjoyed our Chef’s Table – what a treat to see the brigade in full action and getting spoiled with Chef’s specials all night long. And our staff of course, they make it special each time. Looking forward to your next visit for more fun on the Peninsula – maybe some golf, tennis on our grass court or even some snorkeling or mixology class. Always something fun to do whatever the season and weather! Pascal Forotti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I had an amazing time at this resort. The staff is friendly everything was wonderful from the food to hanging out at the beach daily. The views are amazing. Definitely a taste of paradise. The rooms are clean; the beds are comfortable; there is nothing to complain about. I would definitely like to return and try one of the villas.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mozaic14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear “Mozaik14”, We are ready to welcome you back, whenever you are. And with the new LIR airport offering more connections, there is always a convenient flight available next week … from all over the US Our Ticos are ready for you in paradise. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Do not hesitate to travel here during the rainy season! The weather is perfect until about 4 pm each day, but by that time you are back from any excursions or it's time to head in from a day at the pool anyway. Do not stay here if you are looking for any sort of night life, because after dinner things pretty much shut down. It's isolated, but we did fishing, snorkeling, and zip lining excursions that were all relatively close. The golf course is absolutely beautiful. If it's a couples trip, I recommend going during the week because the families arrive on Thursday and Friday, making the pools a little more lively. In the off season, there are only 2 restaurants open a night, be we never felt like there weren't enough options - we only wish the Brazillian restaurant had been open more! Service was phenomenal. Our only two big complaints: No free wi-fi in the rooms, and at the price you are paying that is pretty ridiculous. We ended up paying almost $400 in overages from our cell phone company, so don't hesitate to pay the hotel's $10/day fee. Still, I think it should be free when you are paying over $400/night, especially when it's free at far lesser hotels. And, there aren't floats, only noodles, at the pools, which makes napping and/or reading while floating in the pool nearly impossible. But, those minor things didn't overshadow the beauty and great service of this place. Oh, and try a Dirty Monkey, you won't be dissapointed!

Room Tip: As honeymooners, we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite, which was very private and amazing, but the private outdoor covered living space was even more amazing for a romantic, private dinner or just relaxing on the hammock. When we go back, we will spend the money to stay in one of these again!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Beautiful hotel, very expensive dining and activities, close to 1 hour from airport or the town. You are stuck there for the most part, unless you rent a car. Beach is nice. Rooms have a screened-in veranda overlooking the water, but could not see through the leaves and branches. If one wants to veg out, lay around all day, this may work for you. Left notebook at home, used hotel computers and printer, was a good choice for me. There is drinking water in various places, bring a water container or pay $10 for 1 liter of Fiji water.

4 Seasons Dining: Options are rent a car, take a taxi or some transport, or eat at the hotel. Breakfast buffet is $85 + US, and breakfast is good. Lunch was mediocre, dinner hit or miss; and all meals were extremely overpriced.

Service: Front desk was great, very helpful. Cabana boys at beach, not so much. A service issue, a friend received rude service at beach, hotel management was notified, and took no noticeable action, appeared to blame the customer by questions they asked. Some of the employees appear to run independently of management.

Activities: Hotel has some free activities and they were okay and acceptable. The paid activities were drop dead expensive, get a rental car and make your own deals. A local named Henry took friends to the town in a boat for $20 to $40 per person, depending on number of passengers and negotiating skill. Friends were pleased with Henry, hotel tries to scare customers from using locals.

Dining: Went to Poro Poro for a dinner. Excellent and very friendly service, nice atmosphere, good side dishes, entree fish extremely dry, no sauce. Four Seasons produced similar fish, they cannot prepare seafood in an appetizing manner. We went to Papagayo's Seafood in Coco Town and it was delicious and reasonably priced. A fifty minute drive from the hotel, though.

Four Seasons is a great chain, have always stayed in civilization, though. Competition is good, far away is not good. This hotel experience was okay, however, will not return.

Room Tip: Get 4th floor, can't see the beach because of trees and foliage at lower levels.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Island_Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews