We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, California
1 review
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Four Seasons in Costa Rica is simply amazing. The facilities incredible, staff wonderful, and location unbelievable. We traveled with 13 people and staff knew our names, tastes, orders, etc. We travel to many top-end hotels and this was the best we have been to. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite are beautiful and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon415CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Brandon, thank you for sharing your thoughts. I fully agree with you on our staff - just a wonderful group of people to work with and I am a proud General Manager - they surprise me every day, from the small carefully planned WOWs to huge surprises for couples, friends, kids … everyday is Pura Vida. Pascal Forotti, a proud General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,522
    278
    90
    31
    16
See reviews for
652
806
18
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I visited the Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica for our honeymoon for 10 days in November. We had a great time lounging by the pool, at the beach, and enjoying the beautiful rooms and the properties. However, there were a few things that stood out to us as opportunities for the resort to improve upon, particularly given the fact that guests pay a premium to stay at this property.

Pros:
- Beautiful property-- both location (tucked between two different beaches on the peninsula) and the grounds itself
- Services that were great: food, pool, and housekeeping
- Certain free beach activities (paddle boarding, kayaking)
- Amazing golf course with great views and tucked into the jungle- really feels like you are in Costa Rica

Cons/Opportunities to improve:
1) Concierge/front desk: on multiple occasions, my husband and I would ask different concierge members questions and get conflicting answers.
--> One of these happened to be with booking our transportation from the resort to the airport. Two days prior to our departure, I asked the front desk about securing the $40 per person shuttle that we were told about. We were told that because our flight was departing so early (7:50am departure), there were no shuttles available and we would have to secure a private charter for $190 (takes about 40 min). Although annoyed that the shuttle wouldn't be available, we secured the private charter.
-->Then the day prior to leaving, we received a call from the front desk asking if we needed transportation. The fact that I was being asked about this concerned me, so I asked for the front desk to confirm that we were set for our private transport for the next day (she said yes).
--> Late that evening, we went to the front desk to pay our bill because we were leaving early the next morning. After paying, I asked the front desk to confirm our transport for the next morning and not only did we not have transport confirmed, but she was able to get me on the resort $40/person shuttle with another group. We were very shocked because we were told that we did not have the option originally to take this shuttle, and also our original private transport was not even secured!
***
--> 2nd example is when we asked about securing a tour to Nicaragua. We were told by the concierge how great of a trip this was, and then when we asked to book, we were told that there was a minimum for 4 people, and that if we wanted to go we should "go find another couple." That rubbed us the wrong way, as it seemed that this was just another instance of when we weren't getting the most helpful information from the concierge.
--> The one really helpful person (I think named Stephen) suggested a rental car to get to Tamarindo, and was helpful with providing some great surfing/restaurant recos.

2) WiFi: wasn't free in the rooms and only in the lobby. Would have been really nice to have given how much guests pay to stay at the hotel, and that because the hotel is so isolated/far from other things, would have been nice to have.

3) Isolated/remote location: while this has its benefits, be warned that there aren't any hotel shuttles to other towns, etc. So just keep that in mind.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Alice,
Congratulations once more from all of us on your wedding and I am so happy that you selected our resort to spend your honeymoon. Glad to know you enjoyed it and loved our gorgeous surroundings. We are looking forward to your first anniversary and that private beach dinner during that stay. Thank you as well for taking the time and elaborating in more details the opportunities you encountered. I am sorry to read about the confusion and disappointment with relation to the airport transportation and organized tours. Very valuable feedback and we will review our processes and offerings. Until very soon … Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

My family has gone to this resort annually since 2006 because the service is impeccable, the amenities are amazing, the property is gorgeous, the staff is extremely hard working and accommodating, and the food is spectacular. It's one of the top Four Seasons at which we have stayed, and we have been to many around the world(Bora Bora, Nevis, Punta Mita, Hualalai, Wailea, Bali Sayan, Bali Jimbaran Bay, Great Exuma, Aviara, Troon North, etc.). This one in particular gets 5-stars in every category. I have to respectfully disagree to the prior review that they don't cater to guests with food allergies because 5 of the members in my family have a gluten allergy, and we have rarely had any issues having gone to the resort over a dozen times. There is certainly the opportunity for miscommunication on food allergies, however most of the servers we've encountered, and kitchen personnel we've talked to are very attune to and aware of food allergies. Moreover, this resort has an expansive stand alone 'gluten free only' menu. So, in my opinion they are extremely accommodating to allergies. Additionally, on occasion, we have sent an email to the concierge in advance of our stay requesting certain gluten free products, and they have taken the initiative to get them. If you like the Four Seasons brand, this one is at the top across every category.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I stayed there from Nov 8 to 13, 2013. The grounds are beautiful as was our suite. The bed was extremely comfortable...just like home. Our biggest complaint was the inability to accommodate someone with food allergies. Our travel agent recommended this destination because they claim they accommodate. When they take your food order (restaurant or room service) they appear to write everything down but when the food arrives it often contains allergens. When the servers would bring the food we would ask them; are you sure my meal doesn't contain gluten (or whatever)? They will eagerly respond that it does not. The truth is, they have no idea what they just brought you. One evening my wife became very ill from consuming something in her dinner. One of the managers was very kind and removed the charge from our bill. But it's too late. The resort has been there long enough and should have this down by now. Is it the Four Seasons or not?

Room Tip: We stayed in the Canopy One-Bedroom Suite and thought it was fabulous. It's away from the main a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louis151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Louis, Thank you so much for your feedback on your most recent stay. Thank you for your positive comments about our resort and the comfortable beds – and with the sounds of crashing waves in the background, wonderful place to fall asleep and relax. I am very sorry to read that your wife fell ill and hope she is better now. I am sorry as well that our team was not able to correctly handle the allergies and food preferences you had. We have strict procedures in places and I will review them with our teams to give you peace of mind on your next trip to Costa Rica and our resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Pascal Forotti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuckahoe, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

After a horrible start to our vacation....emergency surgery in Costa Rica before even getting to our room at the Four Seasons, the hotel and staff were fantastic in making everything as wonderful as possible!

The service and attention to detail was fantastic. Great property...terrific service and a real desire to meet and exceed guests expectations!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Russell, Thank you for your kind words and I am glad that the team was able to make the days after your emergency surgery as wonderful as possible. That is why you stay with us at Four Seasons. Pura Vida – Pascal Forotti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I was fortunate enough to be a plus 1 on friends business trip. We stayed in a 1 bedroom canopy suite. The suite had a these large sliding doors in both the bedroom and living room with great views. There was a huge walk in closet with two vanities a walk in shower and soaking tub. My only complaint was on door placement the door to the entire bath suite was in the master bedroom and not on the entrance way to the area with the toilet tub and shower. The beach and pools were wonderful, always a chair and we were told the hotel was almost at capacity. Live the pool boys the clean your glasses and bring you smoothies. Perfect mix of sun and shade areas. The pool temp was comfortable. Very disappointed though in the food selection at the pool. The breakfast buffet was good. We did not eat dinner in a particular restaurant but had 2 organized dinner events and I wasn't impressed with the food. The spa was amazing, I had a hot stone massage. We did the Monteverde tour which was awesome and the Arenal Tour, which info having been there before I did not like the stops we did on this tour. Tour of giants is a must be warned though we booked on Tuesday and they didn't have any openings until Saturday. It fills up fast and they should offer it more often. There was so much to do at the resort just not enough time. We were awoke to howlers one day, saw white faced on the beach another day. Tons of Coatimundies and iguanas. Did a great hike and caught the sunset right on the walk back down the road to the resort where the guard will give you cold water on your return. Absolutely beautiful resort!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lcameron75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear “Lcameron75”, wonderful to read your review and thank you for mentioning so many of our activities - and did you realize that our pools are all salt water pools, better for the nature and our skins. Being woken up by a howler monkey is very special and LOUD - and the resort being surrounded by trees and lush gardens, has a large variety of animals walking and flying around … I am still amazed by it all, even after many years at the property. Sorry to read that you did not enjoy the food offering around the pool, we will review menu offerings and be ready when you are coming back, soon we hope! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just returned from a week stay at the resort and it was nothing short of amazing. The service was outstanding, accommodations top notch and the food terrific. Nothing is overlooked here.
Is it expensive? Yes, but you don't stay at the Four Seasons to save money, you stay for the best vacation possible and they deliver 100%. They are also very kid/family friendly.
I will be looking to stay at one of their resorts whenever possible in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverball66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear “Silverball66”, I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us on the Peninsula Papagayo. And love the 100% rating! We love our families, and love to spoil the kids, offering lots of free activities, from an extensive kids club, to a grass miniature golf course, from free ice-cream around the pool to a dive in movie with popcorn - ah to be a kid again at the Four Seasons. Pascal Forotti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,544 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing