We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay until we and many others were very ill with a stomach bug”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location of the resort is quite lovely and we enjoyed our vacation until many in our group became ill. I finally came down with the same stomach bug the night before departing. I feel the resort could have done more to educate and alert everyone. No one ever acknowledged it. And the group that arrived and stayed before our group was also severely ill.
It is still a mystery why everyone became so ill. But it was truly awful and I was not 100% better for nearly 2 weeks. I can't help but wonder if it was the water. Should we have only been drinking bottled water?

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Floridagirl0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Floridagirl, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the travel community. I am so sorry to know that you fell ill while at the resort and just before departing. I hope you had a safe trip back home in spite of it. The Ministry of Health in Costa Rica has confirmed the presence of a virus in the Guanacaste region. Rest assured that we have very strict health and safety guidelines and that the water is perfectly fine. We hope that you will return soon and continue to see the resort and Costa Rica as a future destination. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,970 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is my favorite Four Seasons location. The staff is welcoming and professional. The surroundings are scenic, including the wonderful vistas on the golf course. Makes for a great family vacation. We were fortunate enough to use a 4 bedroom cottage for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. We enjoyed the restaurants and no one in our party were ill.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Stuart, I am glad to read that you had a wonderful family vacation with us in paradise. and even better to know we have now become your favorite Four Seasons. We love to have you back soon and keep giving the Pura Vida life style. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This Hotel it is to relax completely and isolate from the city...

From the moment we arrived began our truly first class experience, greeted by the hotel's assistant manager and guest services manager- cold towel, fresh juice and warm greetings with sincerely wonderful smiles. We were quickly escorted to our rooms, given the liberty to check-in once we've settled and unpacked. Our villa is beyond exceptional, tropical elegance nestled into the mountain side. The facilities are beyond belief, staff accommodating, professional, engaging and genuinely warm- many knew our names within hours. We had a great day of fishing and the chef was kind enough to prepare it in several different ways for our dinner that evening- by the way, some serious culinary skills! You can't go wrong by staying here- it is super exceptional resort, From the property to staff and facilities to beach crew to tennis experience. All in all the most relaxing experience with the family. There's something for everyone..
Staff is outstanding. They will do anything possible to make your stay wonderful. All rooms seemed to have a great view, regardless of how they are classified. The pool staff and surf shop staff were extremely helpful in getting you set up for either relaxing or an activity. Take the time to visit the Preista Beach house as well, separate from the four seasons, but they have a share agreement.

The resort is nestled between two beaches -- one for quiet lounging and one for activities. The resort features 3 pool areas, including an adults-only pool that overlooks one of the beaches. Howler and capuchin monkeys climb through the canopy above, white-nosed coatis and large lizards sneakily crawl in the bushes (they are harmless, don't worry), and the hotel staff is there to make sure everything is wonderful. For our stay, we barely left the resort. We were there 1 week and left totally relaxed. The spa offers great massages

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmanuelDeRothschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Emanuel, thank you for taking the time and sharing your amazing experiences with everyone! Seems to me it that your stay was a huge success. We are happy that all of your expectations were met and that you were able to relax and enjoy Costa Rica. It is our pleasure to welcome you back soon - Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Food And rooms are great but the bar is pricey. Hotel is way out on the end of a peninsula so unless you like golf and sitting by the pool you have to take a long drive to find something else to do. If you play bring lots of balls because if it even goes a few feet off the fairway it is gone. Either off a cliff or lost in the jungle. Long fairways but small greens. Can be very humid during the rainy season.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Vic, thank you for taking the time and sharing your travel impressions with us. So sorry that you felt that there was not enough to do while at the resort, other than the Arnold Palmer Signature course and the three pools. We add new and exciting activities all year long and to date, offer activities like the very popular morning and sunset hikes, cooking and dancing classes, "Make your own Chocolate" experience and just recently added - a pottery class. For guests that like to be more challenged, we offer a dozen of bikes to tour the Peninsula, free snorkeling gear and scuba diving introductions, all day kayak tours, family games at the beach and amazing stargazing among many others. Please let me know when you come back next and we will make sure you stay very busy! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Four Seasons Costa Rica is beautiful - lovely rooms, great setting and very nice facilities. The hike up the stairs off the beach is a highlight.

Unfortunately, 90% of our group of 60+ people got a terrible stomach bug. I have done search on line and found this is a persistent, ongoing issue with this hotel in particular – but does not seem to be an issue at surrounding hotels. Speaking with other groups at this hotel at the same time validated that the issue was not unique to our group. The Four Seasons missed an opportunity to notify guests and get ahead of the problem. No notices or warnings were sent out by the FS staff.

I was referred to a doctor by the front desk staff and was able to get some medication – the meds helped enough for me to face the long flight home but did nothing to save the wasted time spent sick in a hotel room while amazing Costa Rica beckoned outside. Our corporate liaison spoke with the Four Seasons management and they agreed to remove the doctor charges from the bill of everyone in our group that became ill. Small consolation for not warning us that there was a stomach bug rampant among guests.

To add insult to injury, we received an email 2 days after leaving the hotel notifying us that a mistake was made regarding the medical charges. They requested authorization to charge our credit card ~US$35. When we declined to authorize the charge, they charged it anyway! We spent 5 days at the hotel in a premium room. We ate many meals in the hotel’s restaurants and shopped in the gift shop (until we became bed-ridden). All of those charges add up to thousands of dollars spent. Yet, the FS was willing to further disappoint us (after the illness!) and charge us for a clerical error of only $35.

We have stayed at 4 other FS properties and have been consistently impressed by the high level of customer care. This FS property is not of the same quality.

I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank see-the-world-bbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest, I am so sorry to read that you got sick while staying with us. It is certainly not what any of us would like to happen while in paradise - on a well deserved vacation. As mentioned in previous postings, the Costa Rican Ministry of Health confirmed that the entire area of Guanacaste was hit by a virus a couple of weeks ago. Rest assured that we took many precautions and actions, in addition to our already very strict hygiene standards and feel very sorry that you still got sick. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A few weeks ago, I had a group of 63 people with me at the Four Seasons Resort for our sales incentive trip. Everyone LOVED this property!

The landscape is incredible. The rooms are elegant. The service was top-notch. The food was great. No complaints at all!

And, the monkeys! The howler monkeys gave us all a show daily - incredible.

The only comment from my group was about how remote the location is, but that is the charm of the location.

We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DallasMeetingPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear DallasMeetingPlanner, I am glad you and your group had a wonderful experience - those are the comments we love to hear. So great to know the monkeys did their job! Come back soon with more of your clients and friends. We want you back anytime in paradise. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The property can't be beaten for it's thoughtful design in keeping with the natural environment. It's beautiful, and the service in every aspect was excellent. We really enjoyed the walks up and down the hills, but if you're in a canopy suite, you will either have a short (very hilly) walk or wait for the golf carts to tote you around.

The food and food service was also what you would expect form the Four Seasons, with some extra touches like traditional dancers and costumed performances.

We brought our children, and they were treated like they were valued guests, which was nice (this has not always been the case at other hotels).

The beach at the Four Seasons is rugged and beautiful and probably one of the best beaches I've been to, because of its cliffs, rocks, and trees.

Sidenote: if you have a chance to take a boat to one of the other nearby villages, try to. The Four Seasons was perfect, and remote and tropical, but we got a truer sense of the area when we left the bubble of crafted beauty for a bit. This is not to knock the hotel-it was truly a fitting choice and did the area justice and beyond, but there's something wonderful about immersing yourselves in a town square with its soccer games, its churches and its locals to complete your experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FostFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear FostFoster, thank you for your review and I am extremely happy that your children felt well taken care off - those are the customers of the future and we need to pamper them early. We are fortunate to be surrounded by such amazing nature and glad to create great memories and experiences for all. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again sometime. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,638 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
2,040 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: £580 - £2,476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing