We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great third trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
dallas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great third trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Where to begin?

Let me start by telling you what this resort is not…It is not a great home base for exploring Costa Rica. Its location is too remote. While most of its employees are Costa Rican, you probably won’t get a feel for the “real” Costa Rica here, as you won’t be close to local restaurants or shops. It also is not a “party” destination. The vibe is relaxed and mellow, with lots of couples and families.

So what is this resort? It is FABULOUS. We just returned from our third visit, and I’m already dreaming of going back. We have stayed at everything from a Brisa room to a three bedroom canopy suite, and all were great. Obviously, the suites are spectacular, with privacy, space, and beautiful views, but the “regular rooms” are also wonderful. They all face the ocean, have beautiful interiors, and clever floor plans. With the suites, you trade privacy for distance from the pools, beaches and restaurants. The “regular rooms” are busier, but they’ve managed to construct them so they all have views, are removed enough away from the action to be quiet, but are very centrally located. And the balconies are wonderful. Screened, with a table, chairs and a couch! It’s a great extension of living space. Housekeeping was wonderful.

The grounds are also lovely. The resort is on the tip of a narrow peninsula, which means there are two great beaches. The sand is volcanic grey and the water is clear. There are lots of complimentary beach activities, from organized kayak trips and snorkeling to paddle boarding. The pools are great, although relatively shallow, with ample seating. There is plenty of wildlife. We saw howler monkeys and coati from our deck! Service from the beach and pool staff was attentive.

One of my complaints from earlier visits was the price and quality of the food. The prices have not come down. While they are fairly competitive with other high-end resorts (and really not that different from fine dining in any major city) the prices are high for Costa Rica. And due to the remoteness of the resort, it’s difficult to leave for a meal. However, the food quality has increased considerably over past visits, which makes the price more tolerable.

We did have an issue with noise from a neighboring room one night, but it was handled expertly by management. It was a problem that actually made me more willing to come back!

Bottom line, you are in a remote location. There are still plenty of great Costa Rican experiences within an hour or two of the resort, but they are not as convenient as if you stayed someplace more central. But it’s the remoteness that makes this place so special. The location is beautiful and serene, but with plenty of activities. And bottom line, the people are great. The employees are personable and friendly, and I was truly pampered. I hope to return one day soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsieLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Jill, it was a pleasure to have you back for the third time with us!! I am glad I had the chance to get to know you and am ready to start planning your fourth visit... you will love our renovated resort!! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,449
    266
    85
    30
    15
See reviews for
618
770
18
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Not one person we encountered in the 4 days we were trapped there enjoyed they're stay. The food was terrible and the waiters stared at you as if they hated you. We spent way to much money for the way we were treated and they advertise 4 restaurants when they have a snack bar that is lousy and a buffet that we ate at to get full because all of the food was disgusting. And an Italian restaurant that was horrible and you are on they're time schedule to eat. We rented a cab to go down the coast to Coco beach which is better food and atmosphere. But I still do not recommend this area of Costa Rica because it will not be what you are expecting! I lost weight there from climbing stairs which lead to any where you have to go from your ocean view room which you can't see the ocean from.. I wish I hadn't wasted my once in a lifetime trip to costa rica on this place!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank JeffIce1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Jefflce1104, I am very sorry to read your review and to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us and your overall time in Costa Rica. Something that was planned to be a trip of a lifetime turned out to be disappointing at the end, and we are sorry to read that. I very much appreciate your feedback on our wait staff, we will make sure to investigate and take action where needed. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy any of our many restaurants open throughout the week, from Caracol, our Steak House, to Di Mare our Italian restaurant, to Congo's, our Brazilian Churrascaria and Papagayo with a breakfast buffet offering over 70 different hot and cold dishes - we really try to cater to all of our guests' tastes and likes. With reference to the snack bar, I am not sure if you refer to our Burger Shack at the Golf Course or the Tico's Bar - but again sorry to know that none of the food quality was to your liking.
Finally, having had a feeling of being trapped for four days during your vacation on the Peninsula, it seems that we were not able to entice you with any of our tens and tens of daily activities we offer, or any of the many half or full day excursions to discover gorgeous Costa Rica, like rainforest river tour of Palo Verde, Witches' Rock zip lining or Sensoria and it six waterfalls, just to mention a few of our guests' favorites.
Jefflce1104, I am not sure if we have a chance to welcome you back anytime soon, but please contact me directly if you ever change your mind, especially as we will be completing our remodelation early November of this year and I am sure you will have a much more fulfilling experience. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My family of four(kids 12 and 14 years old) recently stayed at this resort for 12 days. I will try to make this review short and sweet:
Would we go back? In a heartbeat.
Were the accommodations worth the money? Yes.
Were there any customer service problems? None.
Specific advice about the resort:
If you intend to use one of the resorts three pools frequently, avoid the Canopy Suites unless you enjoy walking up and down hills. If a plunge pool with an incredible view will suffice, book a Canopy Suite. You won't regret it.
Take the "Trail of Giants" golf course tour. See how many monkeys you can spot in the trees (we spotted 16).
Eat a dry-aged NY Strip at Caracol.
Zip-line at Witch's Rock multiple times.

I have little doubt that every specific request you might have while staying at this resort will be handled. I wish all resorts were this good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadkins33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear sadkins, I love your review! Short and sweet and so positive. Our heart beats already for the next family visit. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We arrived and were apprehensive of traveling with 3 young children. Boy were we wrong. The setup, staff, location and service far exceeded our expectations. Our children LOVED the kids camp- with nature walks and a kids only pool, the lovely staff made them feel right at home. the kids camp opened at 8:30a and offered "walk -in" style child care. We couldn't have felt more comfortable leaving them during the day. Kids under 5 ate for free, which was a great bonus.
There are several pools and beach access close to all the main hotel rooms and restaurants. Food was wonderful. Service is a priority - and the details, including: cleaning your sunglasses, offering sunblock, table/lounge chair service for food and drink, passed appetizers on the hour at the pool and beach, refreshed water carafes, and often, managers checking in to make sure you are comfortable.
Our hotel rooms had sweeping views of the bay - both had an outdoor lounge area, double closets, large soaking tub, separate shower, and for us, an ever important connecting door to our childrens' room. It was well appointed and spacious.
Travel to/from Liberia airport was easy. We had a private van and driver, who immediately offered us wet towels and water. We waited 10 minutes for car seats to arrive, so I would recommend confirming and reconfirming that option, if you have young children.
Meals were excellent - and vegan/vegetarian dishes were available. We have a child with a severe nut allergy - and almost all servers commented on this during each meal when we shared our name and room number.

Couldn't recommend enough!

Room Tip: 4th floor has sweeping views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RRAlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear RRAlt, this is a real paradise for kids (of all ages) indeed! Our kids club team is always looking for new and great activities to amaze and entertain our young guests and get them hooked to Four Seasons. I am very pleased to know that your child's allergy was so well noted and that all enjoyed their meals. Thank you for taking the time to recommending us! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon in Costa Rica, which started with a wonderful 6 day/5 night stay at the Four Seasons. The hotel is stunning, the service was impeccable, every meal was delicious, and we felt completely spoiled all week long. Every hotel employee we interacted with was delightful, polite, courteous, and informative, and took extra care to answer our questions and go beyond their job duties - for example, our waiters told us about fun local hikes, our drivers would pull off to the side of the road to point out wildlife, and the reception staff took care of our departure taxes without us having to ask. It was the ultimate luxury experience and we could could not have asked for a better honeymoon destination. If you can afford it this is the best there is.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Emily, Once more, congratulations on your wedding and Happy Honeymoon. We aim to create great memories and I am glad to know that yours was one to remember for ever. We look forward to celebrating many more anniversaries to come in gorgeous Costa Rica. finally - thousand thanks for the very kind comments about our teams - the TICOS are really special indeed. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

A short plane ride and we were in Costa Rica on our way to the Four Seasons Resort. We traveled with friends for a business awards trip. The van that picked us up at the airport was spacious and comfortable, the driver and guide were friendly and funny. The peninsula is BEAUTIFUL, the grounds of the resort are breath taking. From check-in to check-out the staff was amazing. So helpful, pleasant and friendly. We went to Witches Rock for a zipline canopy tour. Loved it, so much fun. A visit to the spa is one of my favorite memories from the trip. Lounging on the beach with lunch and drinks and listening to the waves was fantastic. We learned to make chocolate on the beach. Some of our group went on a chartered fishing trip and brought their catch back to the resort where the chef prepared the fish for our group. It was a kind of a shame we didn't spend more time in our beautiful room, it was so comfortable. I could have spent a whole day on the balcony watching the birds, monkeys and other wildlife. This is definitely a place I want to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Nancy, how nice to know you are a short plane ride away, that means we may be welcoming you back very soon. The new airport has really opened the skies for us and Liberia is an international destination with many flights daily, all week long, all year long. Amazing Peninsula with many activities offered and so happy the chocolate class was a hit - who does not like to eat his/her self-made chocolate. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We traveled here with a small group and our trip was absolutely amazing. This hotel is very zen and amazingly well-appointed. The treehouse design and open-woodsy feel is so relaxing. We had a beach front room and loved seeing the monkeys and iguanas and gorgeous birds.

The buffet was also delicious. We may have developed an addiction to their guacomole.

Great service. Great environment. Resort done right!

Room Tip: Beachfront, all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motogrrl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear motogrrl, those canopy suites are just amazing indeed, right in the middle of the tropical dry rainforest! And after 10 years, nature has taken over again and we are just so fortunate to have all the wildlife around us. Gorgeous Costa Rica ... and the best solution to a guacamole addiction, is to come back for more. I know once you start with those freshly baked chips ... mmmmmh. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing