We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort, Wonderful Property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Resort, Wonderful Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

When one imagines a perfect Resort this one is not far off. The restaurants are very tasty and the staff is all suburb and friendly. Furthermore, it is certainly worth booking a room with its own plunge pool (one of the villas) as these often have some of the best views over the water from high points and are very private. The beech was very nice as was the pool and all of the staff working both of these venues were exceptional. Overall the perfect place to recharge during the very cold winter up in the Northeast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IV12121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear IG, thank you for your great feedback! The villas we have all stunning views indeed and such a pleasure to enjoy with their large balconies, kitchens and outdoor showers. Thank you as well for your kind words about our pool and beach teams - those guys are running all day long and pamper you with Pipa Frias, little food tasting and healthy juices ... just to mention a few of our hourly complimentary offerings, so much better than cold winter days in the Northeast. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    261
    85
    30
    15
See reviews for
601
766
18
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My family and I just returned home from a fabulous week long adventure! Seriously, we did not want to leave! We stayed in a two bedroom villa with a plunge pool (5212 & 5211) which I'd highly recommend. We were hesitant at first, because the Villas are located a short distance from the main building. This was never an issue, as the golf cart drivers (Luis & Antonio our favs) were always available to pick us up and take us back. The property is absolutely gorgeous and meticulously maintained. I can't say enough about the friendly and professional staff! Everyone from housekeeping to Mr. Leal, the resort manager made our vacation amazing! My husband and our daughters (ages 13 & 10) enjoyed paddling boarding, kayaking and snorkeling on the beautiful beaches. I myself camped out poolside with a mojito and constant pampering. During our stay we took in three excursions: Rainforest skywalk, Palo Verde River boat tour and Zip lining at Witch's Rock. We enjoyed all three, but would highly recommend the zip lining. It was only 20 minutes from the resort and the guides (Mario and David) we great! Overall, this was one of our best vacations to date. Looking forward to returning sooner than later!

Room Tip: The Villas are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Mainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Mainer, thank you for sharing your experience with us! I am glad to know you enjoyed Costa Rica, our resort and everything we had to offer. One of the best vacations to date - that says it all. And I am sure the next time, after our remodelation in November, it will be even better! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Creek, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We just got home from our trip in Costa Rica and had to take a moment to talk about our stay at the Four Seasons which far exceeded our expectations. Every detail was perfect, the staff was five star all the way, we never heard nothing negative from them and they were very warm and friendly, they made our experience even better. There are plenty of restaurants so, you do not get tired of going to the same place, the beaches are beautiful and well-maintained. The views from our villa were breath taking not to mention the monkeys that would swing by in every morning. It truly is a magical place to stay that made us feel extremely welcomed and very relaxed!! Yes, the resort is a bit secluded, we previously arranged adventure tours and airport transfers with Issys tours which is highly recommended in trip advisor! We had no problem with this company. One day they took just our family out on a volcano tour with zip lining and hot springs. We also did sport fishing with snorkeling and had an incredible day! All in all, the Four Seasons in Papagayo gulf is a terrific place for vacationing. We would surely return and recommend friends to go as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Sean, it is great to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. We feel very proud of our staff and resort - and feedback like yours is just great to read. Creating memorable experiences is our goal, and having you return to the resort is the best compliment. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We've always been huge Four Season's fans and the experience in Costa Rica this week only solidified that. Having never been there before, we relied heavily on the expert advice of Camilla and Andrea from the Concierge department. We gave them some "must-see" attractions and let them take it from there. They were outstanding recommendations and everything was right on time. We paid more but the private tours of Sensoria, Land of the Senses (ask for Jose Gonzalez with Swiss Travel to escort you and hope that Joaquin with Sensoria is there to greet you), the deep sea fishing on El Jeffe, and of course the zip-lining at Witch's Rock (ask for Luigi) were over the top! The airport was a breeze and very clean which was also a plus. But what really made this trip was The Four Seasons staff. I've read other comments on Trip Advisor that make me ask "you must not have stayed at the same place we did" because everyone was very accommodating! From the very visible and welcoming General Manager (Pascal) to Adam in Guest Services, Henry at the Playa Blanca, Andrea at Congos and many, many more. All true hospitality professionals. There were lots of food and beverage options on property to choose from and not cheap by any stretch. Something about drinking rum out of a fresh coconut though made it all worth it. The accommodations were exceptional and hearing the waves crash every day along with a Howler monkey wake-up call made us feel like we were somewhere very special. Lastly, the locals there were so welcoming too. They often asked if this was our first trip there and thanked us for choosing Costa Rica as our vacation spot. Loved it, loved it, loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Richard, it was a pleasure to meeting you and your family during your stay and we are glad to know it was such a success. All the great accolades you are giving us will be shared with our teams - this is the fuel that makes them go strong! Thank you for being a loyal Four Seasons guest, and see you soon again. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The four seasons hotel is a beautiful location. We came over for drinks and dinner as we were staying at a hotel bear by. The cocktails are to die for. We had sushi and empanadas at the bar. It was delicious but quite pricy which was to be expected. The hotel sits on a gorgeous beach with 3 restaurants. I would say this is a very commercial hotel. We were staying at el mangroove around the corner and preferred it as is better prices, less busy and the food is better. But all in all 4 seasons was beautiful, great service and im really glad we went over to check it out.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you coming over while staying in the neighborhood. Glad you enjoyed the couple of hours with us and hopefully you will be staying with us on your next trip to Costa Rica. Pura Vida experience of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Where to begin?

Let me start by telling you what this resort is not…It is not a great home base for exploring Costa Rica. Its location is too remote. While most of its employees are Costa Rican, you probably won’t get a feel for the “real” Costa Rica here, as you won’t be close to local restaurants or shops. It also is not a “party” destination. The vibe is relaxed and mellow, with lots of couples and families.

So what is this resort? It is FABULOUS. We just returned from our third visit, and I’m already dreaming of going back. We have stayed at everything from a Brisa room to a three bedroom canopy suite, and all were great. Obviously, the suites are spectacular, with privacy, space, and beautiful views, but the “regular rooms” are also wonderful. They all face the ocean, have beautiful interiors, and clever floor plans. With the suites, you trade privacy for distance from the pools, beaches and restaurants. The “regular rooms” are busier, but they’ve managed to construct them so they all have views, are removed enough away from the action to be quiet, but are very centrally located. And the balconies are wonderful. Screened, with a table, chairs and a couch! It’s a great extension of living space. Housekeeping was wonderful.

The grounds are also lovely. The resort is on the tip of a narrow peninsula, which means there are two great beaches. The sand is volcanic grey and the water is clear. There are lots of complimentary beach activities, from organized kayak trips and snorkeling to paddle boarding. The pools are great, although relatively shallow, with ample seating. There is plenty of wildlife. We saw howler monkeys and coati from our deck! Service from the beach and pool staff was attentive.

One of my complaints from earlier visits was the price and quality of the food. The prices have not come down. While they are fairly competitive with other high-end resorts (and really not that different from fine dining in any major city) the prices are high for Costa Rica. And due to the remoteness of the resort, it’s difficult to leave for a meal. However, the food quality has increased considerably over past visits, which makes the price more tolerable.

We did have an issue with noise from a neighboring room one night, but it was handled expertly by management. It was a problem that actually made me more willing to come back!

Bottom line, you are in a remote location. There are still plenty of great Costa Rican experiences within an hour or two of the resort, but they are not as convenient as if you stayed someplace more central. But it’s the remoteness that makes this place so special. The location is beautiful and serene, but with plenty of activities. And bottom line, the people are great. The employees are personable and friendly, and I was truly pampered. I hope to return one day soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsieLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Jill, it was a pleasure to have you back for the third time with us!! I am glad I had the chance to get to know you and am ready to start planning your fourth visit... you will love our renovated resort!! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Not one person we encountered in the 4 days we were trapped there enjoyed they're stay. The food was terrible and the waiters stared at you as if they hated you. We spent way to much money for the way we were treated and they advertise 4 restaurants when they have a snack bar that is lousy and a buffet that we ate at to get full because all of the food was disgusting. And an Italian restaurant that was horrible and you are on they're time schedule to eat. We rented a cab to go down the coast to Coco beach which is better food and atmosphere. But I still do not recommend this area of Costa Rica because it will not be what you are expecting! I lost weight there from climbing stairs which lead to any where you have to go from your ocean view room which you can't see the ocean from.. I wish I hadn't wasted my once in a lifetime trip to costa rica on this place!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank JeffIce1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Jefflce1104, I am very sorry to read your review and to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us and your overall time in Costa Rica. Something that was planned to be a trip of a lifetime turned out to be disappointing at the end, and we are sorry to read that. I very much appreciate your feedback on our wait staff, we will make sure to investigate and take action where needed. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy any of our many restaurants open throughout the week, from Caracol, our Steak House, to Di Mare our Italian restaurant, to Congo's, our Brazilian Churrascaria and Papagayo with a breakfast buffet offering over 70 different hot and cold dishes - we really try to cater to all of our guests' tastes and likes. With reference to the snack bar, I am not sure if you refer to our Burger Shack at the Golf Course or the Tico's Bar - but again sorry to know that none of the food quality was to your liking.
Finally, having had a feeling of being trapped for four days during your vacation on the Peninsula, it seems that we were not able to entice you with any of our tens and tens of daily activities we offer, or any of the many half or full day excursions to discover gorgeous Costa Rica, like rainforest river tour of Palo Verde, Witches' Rock zip lining or Sensoria and it six waterfalls, just to mention a few of our guests' favorites.
Jefflce1104, I am not sure if we have a chance to welcome you back anytime soon, but please contact me directly if you ever change your mind, especially as we will be completing our remodelation early November of this year and I am sure you will have a much more fulfilling experience. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
16.6 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing