We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon Destination!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Four Season at Papagayo is a truly wonderful destination. We were greater by Pascal and Manuel upon our arrival with a couple of glasses of champagne and genuine excitement that we had chosen their location for our trip. We were off to a great start that never let up.
One of the hallmarks of The Four Seasons in general is that after a couple of days everyone on the staff knows your name, and at this location your room number. This last detail is important because the property is very spread out and golf cart transportation is a requirement if you, like we did, stay in a villa.
We also had the pleasure of being there while Costa Rica was still playing in the World Cup. While I've never been much of a fan of watching soccer on television the infectious pride of the Ticos in both their national team and the sport in general made us interested in an event that neither my bride nor I would have otherwise paid any attention.
From the beaches, to an excursion that the hotel arranged for us, the fantastic spa, and relaxed dining atmosphere of all the restaurants this is simply a great place to go and unwind.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricM040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Eric, we are very glad you had a memorable honeymoon and enjoyed every minute of your stay with us here in Paradise! Ticos are so proud about their performance during the World Cup, and we are happy you had the chance to experience that side of Costa Rica. We sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again and celebrate with you many years of happiness. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 1,978 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I had the wonderful blessing of staying here for 6 nights the first week of July. We enjoyed a comfortable room on the 4th Floor of Building #3 (room 3410). The location of this building was perfect for a very short walk to the pools, beaches and restaurants.
We enjoyed many HOURS just playing in the pool, relaxing and enjoying some of the FS activities. I was surprised to hear that the resort has been open for 10 years as it is in great shape!

The staff here is top notch-- especially the bell staff, Playa Blanca staff and the pool area staff. They are amazing-- always smiling even in the heat of the CR day. They made us feel so pampered- everything from making up our pool chairs to cleaning our sunglasses and serving fresh cold coconuts that they cut open and placed a strawed into for fresh coconut water-- we were spoiled! I especially loved seeing the GMgr, Pascal several time a day-- EVERY DAY! He was always around checking in with guests and hotel staff-- what a treat and what care he takes to ensure the best service. I have stayed in many hotels for work and pleasure and this is the first time I have where I have experienced seeing the GMgr so often. All of the staff seemed like they enjoyed their job at FS and many had been there for several years.

The food was very good-- we expected we would pay hotel prices and knew that we would be in a secluded area. We enjoyed the morning breakfast buffet, Ticos Bar (pizza and sushi were yummy), Congos (Brazilian- we did not try craved meat though as the hot bar/salad bar were enough for us- but it looked yummy! ), we also ate at Di Mare which is fine dining. We enjoyed poolside chips and guacamole (fab!) too.

We brought some snacks and water for our room so that helped in case we had the munchies-- you do get water at the pool and also a couple bottle with turndown service.

One of our favorite onsite activities was the Tour of the Giants where you take a golf cart guided tour around the golf course- you can experience beautiful property, golf course, and see lots of monkeys and other wildlife. We had a great guide named Christian who was very informative. We did not partake in the off site tours- but there are a lot to choose from if you are looking for some adventures-- we wanted to relax and enjoy the property this trip.

They have paddle boards, kayaks, boogie boards and other items to check out and use on their beaches. They also have a surf school there that looked like a great experience.

You can pretty much do as much or as little as you would like! We loved every minute!

PS, they also provide your exit visa and charge it to your room so we did not have to stand in line at the airport- nice touch!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayLilTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear JayLil, thank you for you kind comments! We all love pampering our guests and what a pleasure doing it while wearing shorts in paradise!
Now, if you consider that we are in good shape after 10 years, you will be amazed once we conclude our renovation in November. We are working very hard on making paradise that little bit better. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

When one imagines a perfect Resort this one is not far off. The restaurants are very tasty and the staff is all suburb and friendly. Furthermore, it is certainly worth booking a room with its own plunge pool (one of the villas) as these often have some of the best views over the water from high points and are very private. The beech was very nice as was the pool and all of the staff working both of these venues were exceptional. Overall the perfect place to recharge during the very cold winter up in the Northeast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IV12121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear IG, thank you for your great feedback! The villas we have all stunning views indeed and such a pleasure to enjoy with their large balconies, kitchens and outdoor showers. Thank you as well for your kind words about our pool and beach teams - those guys are running all day long and pamper you with Pipa Frias, little food tasting and healthy juices ... just to mention a few of our hourly complimentary offerings, so much better than cold winter days in the Northeast. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My family and I just returned home from a fabulous week long adventure! Seriously, we did not want to leave! We stayed in a two bedroom villa with a plunge pool (5212 & 5211) which I'd highly recommend. We were hesitant at first, because the Villas are located a short distance from the main building. This was never an issue, as the golf cart drivers (Luis & Antonio our favs) were always available to pick us up and take us back. The property is absolutely gorgeous and meticulously maintained. I can't say enough about the friendly and professional staff! Everyone from housekeeping to Mr. Leal, the resort manager made our vacation amazing! My husband and our daughters (ages 13 & 10) enjoyed paddling boarding, kayaking and snorkeling on the beautiful beaches. I myself camped out poolside with a mojito and constant pampering. During our stay we took in three excursions: Rainforest skywalk, Palo Verde River boat tour and Zip lining at Witch's Rock. We enjoyed all three, but would highly recommend the zip lining. It was only 20 minutes from the resort and the guides (Mario and David) we great! Overall, this was one of our best vacations to date. Looking forward to returning sooner than later!

Room Tip: The Villas are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Mainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Mainer, thank you for sharing your experience with us! I am glad to know you enjoyed Costa Rica, our resort and everything we had to offer. One of the best vacations to date - that says it all. And I am sure the next time, after our remodelation in November, it will be even better! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We just got home from our trip in Costa Rica and had to take a moment to talk about our stay at the Four Seasons which far exceeded our expectations. Every detail was perfect, the staff was five star all the way, we never heard nothing negative from them and they were very warm and friendly, they made our experience even better. There are plenty of restaurants so, you do not get tired of going to the same place, the beaches are beautiful and well-maintained. The views from our villa were breath taking not to mention the monkeys that would swing by in every morning. It truly is a magical place to stay that made us feel extremely welcomed and very relaxed!! Yes, the resort is a bit secluded, we previously arranged adventure tours and airport transfers with Issys tours which is highly recommended in trip advisor! We had no problem with this company. One day they took just our family out on a volcano tour with zip lining and hot springs. We also did sport fishing with snorkeling and had an incredible day! All in all, the Four Seasons in Papagayo gulf is a terrific place for vacationing. We would surely return and recommend friends to go as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sean, it is great to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. We feel very proud of our staff and resort - and feedback like yours is just great to read. Creating memorable experiences is our goal, and having you return to the resort is the best compliment. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We've always been huge Four Season's fans and the experience in Costa Rica this week only solidified that. Having never been there before, we relied heavily on the expert advice of Camilla and Andrea from the Concierge department. We gave them some "must-see" attractions and let them take it from there. They were outstanding recommendations and everything was right on time. We paid more but the private tours of Sensoria, Land of the Senses (ask for Jose Gonzalez with Swiss Travel to escort you and hope that Joaquin with Sensoria is there to greet you), the deep sea fishing on El Jeffe, and of course the zip-lining at Witch's Rock (ask for Luigi) were over the top! The airport was a breeze and very clean which was also a plus. But what really made this trip was The Four Seasons staff. I've read other comments on Trip Advisor that make me ask "you must not have stayed at the same place we did" because everyone was very accommodating! From the very visible and welcoming General Manager (Pascal) to Adam in Guest Services, Henry at the Playa Blanca, Andrea at Congos and many, many more. All true hospitality professionals. There were lots of food and beverage options on property to choose from and not cheap by any stretch. Something about drinking rum out of a fresh coconut though made it all worth it. The accommodations were exceptional and hearing the waves crash every day along with a Howler monkey wake-up call made us feel like we were somewhere very special. Lastly, the locals there were so welcoming too. They often asked if this was our first trip there and thanked us for choosing Costa Rica as our vacation spot. Loved it, loved it, loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Richard, it was a pleasure to meeting you and your family during your stay and we are glad to know it was such a success. All the great accolades you are giving us will be shared with our teams - this is the fuel that makes them go strong! Thank you for being a loyal Four Seasons guest, and see you soon again. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The four seasons hotel is a beautiful location. We came over for drinks and dinner as we were staying at a hotel bear by. The cocktails are to die for. We had sushi and empanadas at the bar. It was delicious but quite pricy which was to be expected. The hotel sits on a gorgeous beach with 3 restaurants. I would say this is a very commercial hotel. We were staying at el mangroove around the corner and preferred it as is better prices, less busy and the food is better. But all in all 4 seasons was beautiful, great service and im really glad we went over to check it out.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear guest, thank you coming over while staying in the neighborhood. Glad you enjoyed the couple of hours with us and hopefully you will be staying with us on your next trip to Costa Rica. Pura Vida experience of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,672 reviews
3 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
16.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
3 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: £559 - £2,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing