We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First-class vacation experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“First-class vacation experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The top of the line service you anticipate from a Four Seasons, and in a spectacular setting on the Papagayo peninsula. This resort has two great beaches, a variety of water sport activities, and is conveniently located 20 minutes from a great zip line location. Upon arrival we were greeted by the hotel manager (Luis), who took special care to ensure all details were attended too. There are great kids activities with two separate facilities for young ones and teens. My only feedback for improvement are that the photographer they offered to help with our family photo was not very good, spoiling some of our ability to document such a great vacation, and also that the service in the hotel restaurants was a bit slow and food options a little underwhelming. Overall, I'd still rate this as the best resort that I've been to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear WorldTraveler, thank you for giving us your insights about your recent stay at our property. We take our guests' comments very seriously and are always looking for ways to improve the service and product we offer. I am glad that, in spite of the two issues you mention, your overall experience was a memorable one. With the renovation just around the corner, new menus being crafted and new Chefs hired, we are ready for your next visit and overwhelm you. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,449
    266
    85
    30
    15
See reviews for
618
770
18
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

After ten years we have returned to Four Seasons Costa Rica to celebrate our anniversary with our two pre-teens. What a fantastic property. From the moment we were met at the airport it was magical. The GM Pascal met us at the hotel upon arrival and was just to welcoming. Everyone knew our names and the names of our children! The teen center is great and our kids enjoyed hanging out there Jockson for an hour or two on several days. Our room was in building three which is great. We had monkeys just a few feet from our balcony several mornings! The surf school with Donna is so much fun for teens. The restaurants and spa are well done. You really just cannot go wrong at this resort if you want to relax, soak in the sun and be pampered. Pura Vida! Thanks Pascal. Hope to see you next year. The Dotsons.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Angela, so wonderful meeting you and your family last week - so happy you had a great stay and we are looking forward to seeing you soon again. And surprise you with new activities and amenities. I know you are Four seasons aficionados and your villa will be awaiting on your return. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Can't wait to go back! The pictures on the website do not do this resort justice. Rooms were impeccable, beaches were terrific, and the service was the best we've ever experienced! By the second day, everyone was greeting us by name with genuine smiles! The beach attendants were on point every day. Special shout out to Wilkie. He greeted us on the beach every single morning and was so helpful in every aspect. He truly is an asset to the resort! Breakfast at Papagayo was fantastic! Not a negative comment comes to mind... My wife and I cannot wait to return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fynride1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Fynride, Paradise is waiting for your return! Wonderful to read that you experienced the service and genuine hospitality that the Costa Rican are know for, and especially Wilkie - we will make sure to share your kind words with him. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Ridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

It is so obnoxiously expensive that its kind of hard to really enjoy the place. The golf course is beautiful but the greens were real slow. The breakfast buffet was good. When your at the pool they have guys who come around bringing you drinks, food & cleaning your sunglasses. Great service.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgamb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Craignola, I am sorry to read that you could not fully enjoy your stay while with us in Costa Rica and did not feel the value for money. Nevertheless, I am glad that the attention and amenities given to you throughout the day were appreciated and you felt you received great service. Hopefully we have a chance to welcome you back one day. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I meant to write a review two years ago, right after our week at the hotel. That I'm writing now is testament to the lovely time my family had there. (The date that appears here is the oldest I could find on the pull-down menu, but we were actually there in June, 2012.) It was the best resort vacations we have ever had. Quickly, then: There are two oceans! Well, one ocean, but the peninsula is so narrow that you can plunge into the open Pacific and seconds later, after trotting across the hotel property, slip into the calmer waters of the bay on the east side. Both are beautiful beaches. The Kids' Club requires special mention. My older son, age 7 at the time, was often the only child at the Club that week. He delighted in the activities and especially in the kind attention of the wonderfully gracious people who worked in the Club. My wife and I were almost as devoted to them as my son was. Just yesterday we were recalling the experience, and we were ashamed that we couldn't after two years recall the names of the staff members (at the time we extolled their virtues to the management). Staff all over the hotel were friendly and helpful. We had a most relaxing, restorative, active, interesting week. We talk of it still.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlefferts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guest, this is such a nice review, even two years later - we created long lasting memories - how exciting to know. A big thank you for taking the time to write the kind words and be sure we will share them with our teams, especially the KFAS (Kid's Club) girls. They are true stars who work hard at making our younger guests' stay as amazing and unforgettable as yours. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Wonderful interiors, very good service and some excellent dining too, must recommend the hotel's restaurant. Exquisite. When we entered the hotel, the doorman greeted us with a smile, and the bellboy immediately came to help us out with our stuff. They not only were polite but also started very friendly conversations with my friends and I, and it made us feel very welcome. This type of friendly attitude translated throughout the three days we stayed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Louis, mille merci pour ces belles phrases. We are very proud of our teams and your kind review will give them a virtual "tap on the shoulders"
Please come back soon. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Whether camping or staying in an Italian Villa, you embark with certain expectations and desired experiences.

If your stay at the Four Seasons on The Papagyao Penisula doesn't meet your expectations... it won't be because they didn't do everything in their power to make it an amazing.

The personal touch:
Beyond an obligatory hello and handshake... Manuel Leal, Resort Manager - Luis Gallotti, Director of Rooms and Rory Rodriguez, Pool & Beach Asst. Manager all made it a point to get to know us; asking how they could optimize our stay and checking in with us multiple times to make sure we were delighted with all aspects of our visit... even asking if they could do anything more to improve it.

It was common to hear the staff say "Thank you, for coming to our country." To each and every member of the Four Seasons staff, we extend our most sincere appreciation and gratitude!

The hotel:
It feels a bit dated but is impeccably maintained. Although, nestled between two broad beaches; don't expect traditional sweeping water views from guest rooms because Costa Rica's conservation policy doesn't allow property owners to arbitrarily clear trees... but that's part of this countries natural and rustic charm.

There are multiple buildings situated close to the pools, restaurants and spa as well as suites and villas offering more privacy but those are as much as an 8 minute trek up the hillsides. Upon arrival we were shown and offered either the room we'd selected or an upgraded suite.

We chose a room on the 4th floor of a closer building, facing the Pacific with large covered porch... a charming spot for morning coffee and candlelight dining. Our view was 60% tree tops and 40% ocean. I'd give it a comfortable 8.

The Hotel Location:
Uniquely positioned on a small peninsula within a hundred yards of two beautiful beaches. The Culebra Bay for sunrise and a lake-like calm; the other on the Pacific Ocean providing more waves and dramatic sunsets.

The property is rather isolated which pretty much, limits you to on-premise dining and requires you to engage in day excursions to get a true feel for the countryside and it's people... which, by the way, can be easily arranged.

Dining:
The resort has 4 restaurants and a covered outdoor lounge serving food as well. Only two of the restaurants were air-conditioned... although, it appeared a third could be closed and may have air-conditioning. Temps while we were there ran in the 90's with high humidity so we ended up eating diner at the two that were air-conditioned or in our room.

Tico's, the lounge had three TVs, which made watching the World Cup games fun. I discovered a margarita made with mango puree and cilantro and the "Tropical Roll", a sea bass sushi incorporating mango and pineapple, with a touch of teriyaki sauce... both were delicious.

The best of the restaurants was Caracol, five minutes away, at the golf course. Chef Jorge has done wonderful job creating an excellent menu, building his staff and incorporating an organic garden. He came out and told us about his take on food sourcing, menu construction and even an intern program, teaching locals about food preparation.

Ask about the local oysters. Yes... warm water oysters. They were an amazing surprise... sweet and tender. Another must; the local, grass-fed fillet... one of the best steaks I've ever had.
Caracol gets a 9 for its menu, food, ambiance, personal touch... and air-conditioning ;-)

Di Mare is Italian cuisine and presents the nicest ambiance of their restaurants.... but very pricey for what we got, considering the uninspired menu and food. We're comfortable with big ticket dinners, in major cities like LA, Chicago and NY. Di Mare gets a generous, soft 7. Maybe we just hoped for more.

Papagayo's made it fun letting you pick out your "Catch of the Day" from that day's, locally caught fish... laid out on ice for the choosing.

Not all of the restaurants were open everyday, so if you want to try them all you should get their operating schedules early on. For example Caracol was closed on one of the nights we'd hoped to go and of the two nights we tried for Congo's, both were closed.

Hotel Activities:
I'm not equipped to comment, in that we chose to do day excursions instead of availing ourselves to hotel driven activities. But I was impressed with the choices for children. We've done outdoor movies in our backyard... but imagine your children watching a movie, under the stars while floating in chairs in the swimming pool. This is an excellent family destination!

Local Excursions:
Most excursions from the hotel are a minimum of 90 minutes driving, except for the smaller zip-lining at Witches Rock, about 20 minutes out. The majority of the driving is done on safe, paved road... with the final few miles, often on dirt roads. I never saw rutted paths nor steep cliffside roads like in southern Italy or in the Andes of South America.

Like the local "tour providers" the Four Seasons offers many full and partial day excursions. They are offered on specific days, hold to managed schedules, can be private or group and run as much as 40% more.

Here on TripAdvisor we discovered CostaRicaBestrips.com... and hit the jackpot. Any trip/tour could be scheduled for whatever day suited us.

We tried them for our first trek... The Palo Verde river cruise where we saw lots of wildlife, including 10' - 15' crocodiles and had monkeys climb into our boat.

We immediately signed up for 2 more excursions: Borinquen for horseback riding, the best zip-lining available, hot springs and mud baths. The next was white water rafting in the mountains on the Tenorio Rver, ending with a surprise visit to an amazing water fall, where my wife and I swam in the mist of the cascading waters.

Our guide, Alex, was amazing. He was part teacher, part guide, part entertainer, part cameraman and part chef. He owns a small restaurant, called a "soda" and brought us some of his octopus and sea bass cerviche - soooo good!

Because he wasn't on a schedule, beyond tour timelines, he made a few added stops along the way to show us interesting aspects of the culture, cities, animals and plant life.

I realize I've stepped outside the norm of a typical "hotel review" but only because a trip like this is about the experience. Ours was equal parts pampering, exhilaration, education and entertainment.

It wouldn't have been as pleasurable and fulfilling anywhere else in Costa Rica - or even, Central America - except for here, at the Four Seasons. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JLUSTYAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear JLUSTYAN, I am glad you stepped outside the norm of a typical hotel review - WOW, what a great and thorough review! Thousand thanks for detailing your experience for the entire travel community and your feedback to us. Costa Rica is for sure a great destination and has so much to offer. Looking forward to your return visit, past November when we complete our resort renovation ... paradise, just a little better. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing