We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
reno
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We stayed here over easter weekend at the residences, which we exchanged with our Punta Mita place. The residences are very different here; smaller, no view, dark as we were at bottom. furnishings etc,.. were fine but punta mita certainly is the better place. Try asking for an upstairs.
Service: not great, very slow, but friendly.. again, hands down it is far superior at punta mita.
restaurants were great, but no view, however this is to be expected with lush trees everywhere
We highly recommend the adjacent beach club, restaurants had better food, beach is more fun, less expensive, great staff,.. only 2 minutes away from 4 season. Kids really enjoyed that. we also so monkeys righ by the beach.
Surf lessons were awesome for kids, any request or complain one has will be rectified immediately.
Tours: We booked through Mainor (http://www.tours-your-way.com) and had a great experience. cheaper than 4 season and you get a 1 on1 experience. He also picked us up at airport for $70 vs $150 4 season price.
There are 3 kids places for different ages and ours enjoyed them all.
the people are absolutely great and seem more sencere than staff in mexico. their english is great and they always try their best.
If you golf you must play here. it is by far the most beautiful course we ever played on. You will love the views, elevations and quality of golf
Cost: It is a 4 season, so expect the same as anywhere else
Wifi was easily available at beach club if you need to do some work. We stayed 5 days but would have enjoyed another 2 to do more tours. We did the combo tour, which was great for a family w/2 boys. very adventorous.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgrimm_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,471
    271
    87
    30
    16
See reviews for
623
781
18
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

Look no further...and book your trip. This was one of our best vacations ever! The beaches, the rainforests, the waterfalls, the hotsprings, the wildlife, the volcanoes, the restaurants, the adventure tours (canopy, etc).... were all amazing. So, so much to do and see!
The service at this hotel was top notch...you want for nothing. The staff SPOIL YOU the minute you arrive. Worth every penny!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hate_staying_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Four Seasons at the beginning of March for a week for our honeymoon and had a fabulous stay. The resort was beautiful, the service was AMAZING, and it was very relaxing. I have stayed in beautiful resorts like this all over the world and this was by far one of the best!

The service was one of the highlights of the trip. I would say that every 20min the staff would bring us a new goodie by the pool or beach (for free). Whether it was a cold towl, a popsicle, an evian mist, clean my sunglasses, or a snack, all added to the experience. We stayed in a treehouse suite and it was very nice. We had to take a golf cart up to our room, but there was always someone there that could give us a ride.

The food was pretty good. We loved the breakfast buffet in the mornings, it had the best orange juice. We found that the restaurant at the beach club down the road was also very good. It may have been my favorite.

You have to experience this resort at least once because it is fabulous. Its very pricey, but what Four Seasons isnt...Oh, I highly recommend the sunset Catamaran tour. It was really fun. The spa was also amazing. The plung pools are addicting. We got a massage just about every day because we loved it so much. The private dinner on the beach is also really fun and romantic.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aekbn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

We had an incredible stay! Friendly staff knew our names and remembered our drink orders; they would serve us without even asking what we wanted. We stayed in one of the Pacifico Two-Bedroom Resort Residences. It was super clean, maid service several times daily. Everything was just amazing from the staff to the hotel property itself!

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeryKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Yes it's outrageously expensive but the Four Seasons delivers incredible service and outstanding quality in all areas. As others have written, all aspects of the experience at the Four Seasons are truly incredible. There are too many amazing little touches to write about. We had read the reviews and were still amazed by the consistently high level of service.

We recently returned from a week at the hotel with family. Five adults and four young children ranging in age from seven to 9 months. The hotel bent over backwards in every way possible to make our experience wonderful.

We chose the resort as a compromise since some of the group wanted to stay at the resort the entire trip while others wanted to venture out. The location is definitely not ideal if you want to leave the resort. We did the Palo Verde river tour, the Hacienda Guachipelin canyon tour, and spent a 1/2 day in El Coco. All three experiences were great but they each require a long drive from the resort. The hotel does offer these trips but we opted to hire a private guide who was recommended to us.

The facility itself is incredible and there is a lot to do on site. We saw lots of monkeys and other animals on the hotel grounds every day. We snorkeled right off the beach and saw incredible fish, sea turtles, and sting rays. We took a 1/2 day Goombay snorkeling / sunset boat trip that was incredible and highly recommended. The pools are great, the golf course is outstanding, we enjoyed the food at all the restaurants (especially Congo), and the staff will do anything you ask.

All in all it was an incredible trip and we highly recommend the resort. Our only caveat is to make sure you understand the location before booking.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srgtdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We stayed at the Four Seasons for four nights during our Costa Rica honeymoon in Jan/Feb 2009. We loved it here. It was tied for our second favorite place in Costa Rica (behind only Lapa Rios, and tied with Xandari).

The service is what makes this place so amazing. The service was the best of all 5 places we stayed in Costa Rica, by far. I mean - not even close. Every night we received a complimentary dessert for our honeymoon, decorated with "Happy Honeymoon" icing. Even during the day, we received some complimentary drinks and snacks on two occasions. All of these reviews raving about the service are correct. The concierge was very helpful when we wanted to do tours. The attendants at the beach and pools were there when you needed them, but never intrusive.

The room was close to perfect. The balcony was the best feature. We booked a Premium Room. I would recommend it. My wife of course loved the spacious bathroom.

We did the goombay catamaran snorkeling tour. It was great - highly recommended. We saw a good amount of fish and also unexpected things like jellyfish, stingrays and an eel. That was good. We also rented the (complimentary) kayaks for a couple hours one afternoon.

We saw a few howler monkeys when walking around the property. We also saw some parakeets and bats. But the wildlife viewing here is not even close to what it was elsewhere in Costa Rica. If you want lots of wildlife, go to the Osa Peninsula. The Four Seasons is great for relaxing at the beach, spa, and doing water activities.

A couple words of warning: (1) As others have said, this resort is extremely isolated. It is not the real Costa Rica. I feel sorry for people who come to Costa Rica and only see the Four Seasons. It was a great way to end a honeymoon, after hiking in the rainforest on the Osa Peninsula, going to Arenal volcano, and in general seeing a cross-section of the country before coming here. But you'll miss a lot of CR if you just stay here. (2) The beaches are not pristine. Don't expect a beach scene like the Caribbean. (3) It was very windy in Jan/Feb. I think this is typical based on talking to the Ticos, but I hadn't heard a lot about the winds before arriving.

Oh, by the way, if you like tequila, spend some time at Tico's Lounge. They have A LOT. Only wish they had more varieties of rum.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heelswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2009

We were totally impressed & spoiled by the service at Four Seasons (regardless of the price). The staff couldn't do enough for you - bringing you chilled towels to cool off, iced water, dry towels when you came out of the pool. Someone even came around to clean our sunglasses...followed closely by a person whose job it was to cool you off by spraying your body w/ aerosol spring water from Evian (!). It’s easy to get used to!
Equally impressive seems to be this hotel’s ability to maintain this level of service in a faltering US/global economy. The resort was probably 30% full (usually 90-100% @ this time of year) – however, they seemed all the more grateful to see you and we could not see any compromises in staffing levels or service. Although, some of the 5 restaurants were closed on a rotating basis to keep the staff levels down. Unfortunately, you would hope that discounts would be available – this doesn’t seem to be the case @ the Four Seasons.
Food was delicious and frightfully expensive. Playa Prieta (affiliated beach club) was a bit less painful & equal in quality. The resort also offered many “free” activities that were 1st rate and great fun… salsa dancing, kayaking, cooking class, etc.. The premium king room had a great view of the ocean, we kept the double doors opened & listened to the sound of the waves all night. The balcony is another room with total privacy. We saw monkeys in the trees every day, something you don't see in the Caribbean!
One quick plug that is really well deserved… we read about (via Trip Advisor) and hired a private tour & transportation guide by the name of Mainor Lara (tours-your-way@hotmail.com). He was very reasonably priced and great! He picked us up at the airport, took us shopping and arranged a tour to the Congo Zip Line. On the way there he took us off the highway to show us the “real” Costa Rica – including a “tour” of his village (of which he was very proud). The zip line was the highlight of our trip, not to be missed!

  • Liked — Service and Grounds
  • Disliked — Food Prices
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TeeNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing