We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Kearney, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 16 May 2010

There is nothing bad to say about this hotel. My wife and I have traveled far and wide and this is truly one of our favorites. We started out in a deluxe room and after a couple of days I wanted a change and they were kind enough to put us in a cabana suite without the plunge pool. It is much different that the original room and totally worth it. Not every room has a great fiew of the ocean and this is because many are blocked by the trees. I would recommend our suite room 1521. It is the only one that has an unobstructed view that is at the cabana level. The zip lines were great...Mainor tours your way...fantastic. We fished this am and my wife caught a gigantic Mahimahi! The cooks at the hotel are cooking it for us tonight for room service! Hows that for service?? All in all a fantastic place with great service. We won't be back but that is because its our policy to never waste our time repeating a vacation. But if we were forced to go back somewhere....this would be at the top of the list!

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank juliorevereber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,522
    278
    90
    31
    16
See reviews for
652
806
18
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Let me get this out in the beginning this place is expensive. But worth every penny. Food was great. We ate at all 4 restaurants available (Carocaol, Congo's Tico's Di Mare, Papagayo and the Beach Club). They were all delicious but we preferred Di Mare. there are three pools and 2 beaches. the grounds are immaculate. the Spa, OMG the spa. I went for a deep tissue massage and i had to go back the next for another treatment, they are that amazing. As I mentioned earlier it is expensive, once you get over the sticker shock just PURA VIDA! the resort is remote it takes about 30 minutes to get to town. They resort has activities but we didn't try any. During our stay there were a few corporate events however they were well behaved and didnt give Americans a bad name, as some do (being loud, drunk and obnoxious). The staff are the most helpful. It was windy one day on the beach so the sane was blowing everywhere, I'm trying to brush off the sand and a staff member came and brought me a wet towel, asked to change my lounge chasie covering he even recommended i go to the other beach and would take my belonging there for me- WHAT- WOW!
We didn't do much except and ATV trip through Mainor of Tours you r way and Scuba diving arranged through the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cobblehillnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We had a wonderful three nights at the resort, and wish we had booked a longer trip here.

The overall service and staff friendliness and graciousness were as good as it gets...even good for the already high Four Season's standards.

The hotel's pools and beaches were better than we expected. Two wonderful beaches right there....one beach was great for snorkeling, swimming and kayaking, and the other beach was wonderful for having a drink and watching the sunset. There is also a private beach club that is currently available to hotel guests that was wonderful. We had lunch and a lazy afternoon there one day.

The golf course is beautiful. I recommend that you take the free tour of the course that is offered each afternoon to see the many ocean views and beautiful fairways. On our tour we saw monkeys playing in the trees and large iguanas sunning themselves. The tour was so nice, that i woke up and played 18 the next morning...they have all the clubs, shoes, etc necessary to rent so no need to bring your own gear.

The resort offered a number of dining options and we particularly enjoyed the variety of casual dining outlets so we could go from the sunset to dinner in our shorts, etc without getting dressed up for a fancy dinner...since this was a vacation, after all. On our final night we did dress up a little more and enjoyed a fine meal at their Italian restaurant. If we had another night, we would have gone to their steak house that is located at the golf course....we saw it by day and it had a very cool ambiance.

While we didn't leave the property (since we only had three days there), we spoke with several guests who enjoyed taking day excursions off property to the zip lines, volcanoes and other nearby sites. We also met two couples who rented a boat for a sunset cruise and they raved about it.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minibarmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2010

I used TripAdvisor as a tool to learn more about this resort, and did not read one bad review. I will follow that trend as I have nothing bad to say about the resort. I was there last week on my honeymoon and had an amazing time. We stayed for one week and did not want to leave.
We flew into Liberia and used the resorts transportation services to take us to The Four Seasons. Despite a 2 hour flight delay they were there waiting for us, and it took about 45 minutes to reach the resort. The ride was pleasant, and once you enter onto resort property, you know you are in for a treat.
Its very secluded and spread out. When we checked in we received a wonderful upgrade to a private villa-with outstanding views of the water and mountains...not to mention wildlife.
Some people mentioned that food was expensive, but I did not find that to be the case. I thought that there could have been more reasonable lunch options, but otherwise we paid what I expected. For a day at the pool with lunch and a drink for two it was about 85.00 and on dinners we paid about 175-200 every night.
We tried all restaurants and each night we said "that was the best meal we have had thus far." Carocal-great steaks, DiMare amazing pasta and seafood, Ticos the best most exotic sushi ever, Congos has a great Brazilian style dinner, and the Beach Club has an amazing restaurant as well. We only ate at Papagayos for breakfast which was great.

Speaking of the beach club, go there one day and check it out. The pool at the Four Seasons is wonderful, but this place gives you a real Costa Rican fee. The beach there is stunning as well. Great pool and great restaurant at the beach club-its about a 5 minute ride from the resort.
Also, we used Tours Your Way for our zip-lining tour and had a great experience. He was on time to pick us up and drove just the two of us to the Congos Zip Lining Trail. Very fun, and after the zip line he gave a tour of the "real Costa Rica". It was great to see the surrounding areas and we had lunch at a local Costa Rican restaurant. I would highly recommend Tours Your Way.

We also had plenty of spa treatments at the resort and enjoyed them all.
Be sure to take the morning or sunset hike as well as the cooking class. We also did a tour of the golf course which made us feel like we were on safari.

All in all, the villa was gorgeous, the pools are great, the staff is super friendly, and the food is decadent. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlMarP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

This was a truly spectacular vacation. Perhaps the best thing was our suite (which was provided as an upgrade) overlooking the ocean side of the peninsula. Imagine your own infinity hot tub as you walk in to your outdoor porch, with a direct view of the water and surrounding hills. Everything about this place is absolutely top-notch. The only setbacks were the absence of a lap pool and the large groups, sometimes obnoxious groups in attendance. But there are obnoxious travelers all over the world -- that is not the fault of the resort! If you like hills, this is the place for you! The most secluded suites are a bit of a hike, but if you are an active person, you will be able to handle it. If not, the golf carts will always take you where you need to go.

This is a pretty special place. And I almost forgot -- really excellent coffee and delicious food!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamzambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2010

This was a flawless visit. The hotel and grounds are amazing. We stayed in a canopy suite and it was fabulous. The Howler Monkeys came to visit us one morning (3:30 a.m.), but it was a very cool experience. They make the most unique sound. They allowed us to sleep in the next day, but we could hear them on the other side of the resort when we went outside. Service was flawless. We saw a ton of animals and enjoyed the adults only pool. The snorkeling was great...lots of colorful fish. The beaches are everything you could ask for. I highly recommend this hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie1Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

The resort was beautiful but we had higher expectations for a Four Seasons. They had invited a corporate group for our entire stay which significantly disrupted our vacation. The group overtook all of the pools and got drunk and loud in them all day - it felt like we were at a Marriott in Miami, not a Four Seasons in Costa Rica. Then, each day the staff started preparing for the evening affairs starting at 2 p.m. which disrupted our view and enjoyment of the beach (golf carts carting beer back and forth and tables/chairs being set up etc). Then their awards ceremonies bellowed through all of the restaurants every night making it difficult to enjoy a relaxing , quiet dinner (which I think you are entitled to at the Four Seasons prices). To top it off, we were woken up at 4 a.m. one night by the drunken couple staying above us. They stumbled in and then got into a horrible fight - the man screamed obscenties while the woman sobbed loudly. We live in NYC with upstairs neighbors so I really look forward to NOT dealing with that on vacation. We eventually complained at 5:30 a.m.. We know many couples outside of the group complained as well this weekend because the atmosphere was so disappointing. One of the managers did help us out some but it isn't enough to help me forget the disappointment of the Four Seasons.
After the horrible night's sleep, my husband got horribly sick after eating the Tuna Toradito at the outdoor restaurant by the pool. That was the last straw for me and I was very excited to move forward in our trip. We travelled to Arenal and stayed at Hotel Nayara which was 1/4 of the price and did not disappoint. I will hesitate to stay at another Four Seasons after this experience. It was very nice but just not worth $675 a night plus 10% resort fees.
This place is completely Americanized and has little character. The attractions are all 2 hours away and inconvenient. The restaurants are decent, some better than others (Caracol was nice). The service was fantastic but it's like that everywhere in Costa Rica so you do not have to pay a premium for it - the Costa Ricans are awesome. The gym, golf course, spa are all beautiful.
The resort has a lot to offer but you have to be clear on your expectations and please just ask ahead if they are allowing a corporate group while you are there! We would have never gone while this group was there. Poor choice on Four Seasons' end.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cosmo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,544 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing