We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I am a bit of a picky traveler- cleanliness is of utmost importance to me- and I assure you, this place was MARVELOUS. Absolutely perfect. Perfect service. Amazing housekeeping. Great food. Superb location. Before traveling here, one must note that it will be a bit expensive, but I personally believe that the extra money is well worth it. Not one complaint about this hotel. My only complaint about the entire vacation was our stay at the Paradisus. After one night there, we checked out and went back to the Four Seasons!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATXATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,444
    265
    85
    30
    15
See reviews for
616
770
18
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2010

This is by far one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at as a family. The staff was wonderful and gracious. We stayed in a villa with our own plunge pool and the view was breathtaking.

Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jepjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwyn, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We stayed at the Four Seasons over Memorial Day weekend. The resort setting is beautiful, with beaches on each side of a thin part of the peninsula. The rooms are well furnished and very comfortable. The public areas, pools, and restaurants are highlights. While expensive, we found the food to be excellent, with a wide variety offered at 5 restaurants - we particularly liked Di Mare, the Italian restaurant. Service throughout the resort was first rate, especially on the beach as they set up your chair, offered refreshments and water, and served lunch by the adult quiet pool.

As for activities, we played golf and thoroughly enjoyed the course - great condition, water views from almost every hole, and you can decide how much of a challenge you want based on 5 sets of tees. We also did the Witch's Rock zipline tour, arranged by the concierge, which was a highlight. Beyond that, various members of our family used the spa, the fitness center, water sports, or relaxed on the beach. Also, we rented a car through the hotel and drove to Tamarindo(about 1 1/2 hours) for a day of surfing. All in all, plenty to do for all ages and interests.

BTW, we made our arrangements through Whatahotel, which offered some awesome "freebies" - free daily breakfast, $100 off of golf and an upgrade from a garden to premium room, based on availability. I figure these benefits were worth about $1500/room over the 5 nights we were there.

All in all, a fantastic place for a family vacation.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yomick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

World class resort elegantly situated on an incredible peninsula offering a wonderful beach, golf and resort experience way off the beaten track. Though grand in scale, thoughtful use of resources and in harmony with the culture and environment. This is a one-of-a-kind resort. We appreciated our room just steps from the shore, including a fully furnished screened-in patio room, and the sound of gently breaking waves at night. Service, as you would expect from the Four Service staff, was impeccable. The golf course was in great shape and had various ocean vistas. We enjoyed a twilight hike over the scenic trail and plenty of snorkeling in warm ocean water. We highly recommend the Witch's Rock canopy zip line tour near the entrance of the resort. Safe, adventurous 1/3 day excursion with exposure to the rain forest, troops of monkeys, and ocean views.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

My husband and I traveled to Costa Rica for our Anniversary. We picked the Four Seasons as we are huge fans of the Hotel chain, and always have a great experience. Unfortunately, our expectations were a bit disappointed with this trip.

Upon checking in, we were upgraded to a suite. However, we soon discovered that there was construction right next door, which was definitely distracting to our relaxing experience. We called and complained, whereupon they moved us to another room. The new room was nice, clean, and a bit closer to the pool/beach. With the Suites, you have to take a golf cart, which can be an annoying wait when you want to get somewhere and the employees are busy elsewhere. We also ended up having to hide bottles of water so that the maid would bring us more, as they only left us 2 a day. You could buy a refillable bottle if you wanted, which, at the room price, should be complimentary. The shower and lights also had to be fixed by maintenance when we were there.

The other disappointment was the food. There are 4 restaurants on site. When we were there, there were usually only 1-2 open: the bar area (with limited menu) and one other one. This was due to the large groups that were there, I think. The Food Service was busy preparing food for big dinners on the beach and events in the hotel. So the actual guests were put on the back burner. So, the food choices got old. The prices are expensive for the quality of food you get as well.

Lastly, there was a few groups of college-age folks that were playing their radios and smoking at the pool. Not your ideal scenario when you want to sit and relax.

Overall, we were disappointed in the experience. The hotel would be fine for a couple/few days to spend on the beach after some adventures in the rainforest. But not for longer than that.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank cab_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I cannot describe the level of service this place offers. If I so much as lingered near a chair by the pool, a waiter (employee of the resort) would instantly appear, address me by name, and ask if he could get me anything. If I said yes, say, "I'd like a daiquiri" (sp?), he/she would reply, every time, without fail, "Absolutely, Mrs. ______!" It seemed as if every time we left the room, someone came in and straightened it up. Folded my clothes, picked it up, replaced dirty towels, wiped the counters, emptied trash (which NEVER accumulated), etc. The service was impeccable, the facilities equally as impressive.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank heroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2010

My family and I stayed at the Four Seasons for the first week in May, It was amazing!! My Husband and I have traveled all over the world and love tropical destinastions. Costa Rica has exceeded our expectations by far! We Loved the service of the resort and the staff was very attentive and focused on the guests. The only let down was the pool very open and not very private. Beaches we to die for... May was a great time of year to come to Costa Rica, we only had one large rain shower and the rest of the week was bright and sunny! We have two kids 9 - 12 who were desperate to see wildlife and zipline so we decided to adventure off property. We have had friends who came perviously 6 months before us and they reccomended Alejandro from ALexCRtours. We went to the Boriquen adventure center and played all day. The kids went horseback riding and did the zipline and also went in to the Hot spring and mud baths... what an expieriance. His service was very private and custumed to just our family's needs. We ate Lunch at the best resturant where we enjoyed local food and atmosphere. We will be back next year for another family vacation

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Machilla_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,425 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing