We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Four Seasons in Costa Rica is a fantastic resort hotel. Food at all 5 restaurants was outstanding. Service could not be better. We had a 3 bedroom villa with plunge pool. Acomodations and housekeeping were excellent. Used the Spa & fitness center multiple times and again could not ask for any better.

Booked airport transfers and 4 excursions with Minor from Tours Your Way (found on this website). Great service. Had a great time on Zip lines, swimming under natural waterfall, hiking in the rain forest, horseback riding on volcano and river boat trip to see wildlife including crocodiles.

Overall great all around experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texastraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    279
    90
    31
    16
See reviews for
665
816
19
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, PA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Our visit to Costa Rica combined the luxurious papering of the Four Seasons Resort with the wonderful tours and airport transportation provided by Tours Your Way.

ARRIVAL
Upon arrival at the Liberia airport, we were greeted by a driver provided by Tours Your Way. You can use the transportation provided by the Four Seasons as well, as both are the same cost. Our driver took care of our luggage and we were off to the hotel. Like most things in Costa Rica, they are a bit of a drive, so you should be prepared for that going in. Most things you want to do are at a minimum 45 minutes to 1 hour away at least, no matter where you stay. And the drive from the airport is about 45 minutes as well – but it goes very quickly as you take in the new sites of Costa Rica. The resort is located on the peninsula of Papagya and is part of a luxury condominium and private residence complex. When you first arrive, you will come up upon a grand entrance and guard house. All of the lawns are well manicured as there is a very large golf course on the facility as well. Those who are used to the sites of golf complex will feel at home as you enter the facility. As you make your way to the hotel, you travel on a very winding road with views of the Pacific Ocean, the golf course, and several of the private residences. After passing one more guard station, you arrive at the hotel entrance and are greeted by one of the hotel employees who then take your luggage. As we stood at the front desk, we were provided with cold wash cloths and a passion-fruit smoothie. Both were very enjoyable and a nice welcome.

ACCOMODATIONS
As one would expect, the accommodations were top notch. There are three main buildings which accommodate the deluxe and premium rooms, and there are companion buildings that house the suites, some with their own plunge pools. The three main buildings all have great views – and ours was on the 3rd floor facing out to the beach (of which there are two beaches on each side of the peninsula). The room was very nice, adorned with dark woods and neutral colors and a very well appointed bathroom with a soaking tub, glass enclosed shower, marble sinks and floors, etc. The room also had a 48” flat screen TV and a fully screened in, fully furnished patio (sofa, table, two chairs, and an ottoman). Both the patio and room had a ceiling fan and the room had very nice air conditioning (that it actually got cold in the room if you set it too low). The room also had its own safe. The TV stations were mainly (75%) Spanish-speaking, so if you have kids or need the English channels, you will be a bit limited. They also provide wireless Internet, all be it for a hefty price of about $60 for the week (ouch!).

FACILITY
The location of the Four Seasons is in the heart of the peninsula, so you are surrounded by the forest, the beaches, and the sights and sounds of the “jungle”. Moreover, the architects of the Four Seasons did a fantastic job incorporating the resort into the landscape and conversely, incorporating the landscape into the structural aspects of the resort that everything seamlessly blends together. For example, no matter the room you select, you will hear the waves of the ocean (unless you are in a suite which tends to be set back more so from the ocean than the primary rooms). Another example is when you are eating breakfast or at the pool you hear the various tropical birds calling out almost all day.

ACTIVITIES
The hotel itself provides for some great activities. There are three pools – two family or open pools and one adult only or quiet pool. The pools are located in the center of the resort and then on either side of the pools are access to each of the two beaches. One beach is geared more for relaxation while the other has water activities. Those activities (all free) consist of snorkeling, boogey-boards, canoes, and even wind surfing. There are non-resort provided services at the beach, but the Four Seasons does not recommend using them. Those items consist of the jet skis, scuba, and fishing expeditions. The resort also provides access to many of the typical tours you can do while in Costa Rica. However, as I noted in the beginning, we used Tours Your Way to book all of our tours and like many of the others on TripAdvisor, I would highly recommend Tours Your Way. Mainor is the owner of the company and he and his team provided us with several experiences we will not soon forget. We are not the adventurous types, so we did have some reservations using more “group” oriented tours. We liked the fact that we would have a personal experience that we could tailor to our liking and not feel like we had to run with the pack so to speak. We did two tours with Tours Your Way – the Congo Trail Zip Line and the Horseback Tour. Both were incredible experiences. I’ll provide more information on those under a different review so I can do them justice, but in summary, I would highly recommend you do both of these (at a minimum) if you can – even if you are nervous about the zip lines (like I was).

SERVICE
Like one would expect at a Four Seasons, service is top notch. To quote my son, “…no one ever said ‘No’, we can’t do that…” The staff made a point to learn your last name and greeted you when they could using your name. When at the pool or the beaches, the staff there would place a towel cover on top of the cushioned lounge chairs and provide a rolled towel for your head. They would also come around and offer cool spray mists of water, cold wash cloths, small sample sizes of various smoothies of the day, popsicles on a stick, and even frozen fruit. At each pool they had a station that provided fresh infused water, suntan lotion, and bug spray (more on that later!). Anytime we needed something, the staff was always accommodating with a smile. Even upon our initial arrival they delivered the luggage and provide us an overview of our room – and when I attempted to tip them, he said “no thanks – we just want to make sure you enjoy your stay”.

DINING
The Four Seasons has five restaurants, of which two are very casual, one is middle of the road, and the other two are more upscale. The two upscale restaurants are Caracol and DiMare. Caracol is a steakhouse located about 5 minutes from the main resort at the golf course clubhouse, while DiMare is located inside the resort. Overall both of these restaurants are very good. The steakhouse offers the typical options – rib eye, filet, NY Strip, etc, along with some local offerings. DiMare offers Italian but with more of a Central American twist of sorts (using local fish and seasonings). The middle of the road restaurant, Papaguyo’s, is mainly used for breakfast and lunch for most guests, but it also offers a nice selection for dinner. Food there is good – not “wow” – but good. The other more casual locations are Titos, which is an open-air contemporary bar situated between DiMare and Papagyo’s. Tito’s provides an upscale casual environment with drinks and a bar-like menu, including sushi. And like DiMare, the sushi includes some traditional items with a Central America twist. The last restaurant is situated outside next to the main pool area and offers lunch and dinners. This is the most casual place to eat and has a more limited menu. For those with kids, all of the restaurants provide a kids menu of the typical chicken fingers, fish sticks, spaghetti and meatballs, etc., but they can also order from the regular menu and kids under 12 get the menu items at ½ price (which is nice). Overall, I would rate the food choices and quality as very good. As a side note, prices are on the expensive side, so don’t be shocked. On average, dinners ran about $200 for two adults and one kid, and lunches ran about $90 as did breakfast. We are not drinkers, so this was mostly without alcohol apart from an occasional glass of wine with dinner.


NICE SURPRISES
As noted earlier, the Four Seasons is located within a complex that accommodates the resort along with private residences, condominiums, and the golf course. One pleasant surprise we had was the tour of the golf course. This is offered daily at 3 PM and you follow one of the golf staff around the course in your own golf cart as he takes you to various holes where the views are spectacular. He also seeks out various wildlife like the white-faced and howler monkeys, as well as other local species. On our tour we saw many iguanas, the white faced and howler monkeys, and saw many different types of birds. The 1 ½ hour tour was a real great surprise. The other surprise was the Beach Club, which is the facility that is provided to the condominium residents (and homeowners). This facility is offered for free to the Four Seasons guests (since it’s in the same complex) and is a short 5 minute shuttle from the Four Seasons resort. The facility has two pools, a sports bar, a restaurant, and an incredible beach. The surprise is that this is not promoted very much at all by the Four Seasons (although when you ask they are happy to tell you about it) and yet the facility is great – and you can room charge from there as well.

AND NOW, THE BUGS
I know, you’re in the tropical rain forest, so you should expect some bugs. And we did, and we brought bug spray. All and all, it wasn’t as bad as I had expected, but it is something you have to be aware of. Most of the places at the resort are “indoor-outdoor” – meaning, even though you’re in a nice restaurant with A/C, they keep the doors open to the outdoors. So, bring bug spray and use it, especially at night as you go out to dinner. If you’re on the beach in the sun or at the pool, you’re good without the bug spray, but if you’re a shade dweller, you’ll need to spray to keep the mosquitoes at bay. Again, it wasn’t anything that got in the way of our enjoyment, but you just need to remember to apply the bug spray when you head out.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RussNorthWales_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

My wife and I just got back from the FS with our 2-year-old and we had a blast. We stayed 6 nights in the building closest to Playa Blanca (Room 3306) and could not have asked for anything more. They had toys for our son when we checked in and snacks/candy for him waiting in the room. And many of the staff in the lobby already knew his name, which he loved! The room was on the 3rd floor facing the trees and just beyond that, the ocean (well, the beach with the smaller waves). We were celebrating our 5th Anniversary and there was chilled champagne in the room when we got there. Our first morning we were having breakfast on the porch and saw a family of monkeys swinging through the trees – My son was beyond excited.
The hotel location is perfect. The way it’s laid out in between two very different beaches, we had a lot of options. The “kid’s beach” has a bunch of boats and tons of sand toys for kids to play. There’s really nice beach chairs with shade and the staff is constantly checking to see if they can get you anything. The pools are in between the beaches and they are great too. Staff came around with popsicles each afternoon and would come around with a kit to clean people’s sunglasses. Their attention to detail is top notch – Every single member of the pool staff knew our names and would go above and beyond to put a smile on my son’s face. (And they turned down several attempts I made to tip them!) The other beach is closer to the adult pool and seems more geared toward grown-ups, which is fine since the waves are a little big for smaller kids.
As far as other amenities go, my wife and I really loved the gym/spa. It’s one of the best gyms I’ve seen at a resort – Equipment is brand new and staff is constantly handing you cold towels and water. It’s directly above the Kids For All Seasons, so my wife and I could take turns hitting the gym and playing downstairs with our son (kids have to be 4 at this location before they can be left without a parent). KFAS has pretty much everything a kid could ever want and the staff is there is beyond friendly (they even have kids DVDs you can borrow for your room). We also took full advantage of the Beach Club on two different days (definitely go and check it out if you have time!) There’s a sports bar for lunch, a lap pool, and a bigger pool with a very shallow area that our son loved. The beach there is fun; huge waves and black sand.
We typically never eat at a hotel when we’re on vacation, just to try and get out and see the local area, so I was apprehensive about staying at the FS for most meals. But we really enjoyed all of the restaurants and only “repeated” once at DeMare on the last night. Between the steak restaurant, DeMare, and the other places, we really felt like there was plenty of variety. Also, we didn’t know before we got there, but kids under 5 eat for free, which is a great deal! Pretty much anytime our son wanted a hot dog or an apple juice, it magically appeared from somewhere! There’s live music in Tico’s Lounge every night so it’s a fun stop before/after dinner and draws a decent crowd.
We didn’t take advantage of a lot of the excursions since we were traveling with a toddler, but had a great time on the Trail of Giants tour seeing more monkeys and wildlife (think we had Miguel?) We also went to the marina one day for lunch just to check out the scene. I booked airport transfers through Mainor and Tours Your Way and they could not have been nicer. (Ask for Marlon – my son was still talking about him days later!) The golf course is beyond impressive and I definitely plan on playing a round when we go back.
It wouldn’t be a complete review if I didn’t mention a couple small negatives…. Like prior reviews, I wish they would just include wireless Internet in the rooms. The housekeeping staff was incredible, but skipped our room one night (not a big deal). We would have liked to get a babysitter for one dinner alone, but it was $20 an hour (3 hr minimum) plus their cab fare, so $100 bucks for 3 hours (no thanks). We had a sitter at the FS in Punta Mita who came from the kid’s club and I think it was $12 an hour! And I thought there would be an Ipod speaker/alarm clock like at other FS hotels, but we just had this small, round clock on the bedside table. Again, not a big deal since we weren’t in the room very much.
I’d say this was one of my all-time favorite vacations. It can be a little pricey, but it’s totally worth the expense. Feel free to send me a TA message if you have any questions, I could talk about this hotel any time! Happy Travels!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay (way too short) over Mem Day weekend. We just caught the tail end of the big storm, so the weather was perfect for the most part with some spotty rain. We had a Premium room (2408) with a gorgeous view of the ocean (and we fell asleep to the soothing waves). It was like being in a treehouse minus the bugs (screened in balcony was key). The staff was genuinely happy to help out with anything, which I'm sure can be attributed to the open and friendly nature of Costa Ricans.

The property is secluded and unsurpassed- from the entrance to Papagayo to your choice of two beaches and a few pools. It's not as big as some resorts, but feels more boutique-y. Our fave meal was at Di Mare (screened in patio!) where the chef made us our own custom tasting menu of three pastas and three entrees. If you pick up wine in town, there's a $25 corkage fee, $20 at the beach club. My husband LOVED the golf course which was beautiful and afforded views of the water and some wildlife too. On his second run when he took advantage of the 2pm twilight rates (free club rental in the $120), they let him go out slightly early, and he played by himself with plenty of daylight to spare.

We had one day of adventure, where we went with Rainor from Tours-Your-Way run by Mainor (they are cousins). He was really friendly and the driver, Caesar, was great as well. We did the Hacienda Guachipelin – Adventure Tour. We were picked up early and driven for ~1.5 hrs to one place where we joined about 75 (!) other people for all the activities. Although it might be less expensive to join the same activities by booking directly through the Hacienda Guachipelin, we thought it was worth it to have private transportation there and having Rainor drive the van to meet us during the tour while others were on a schoolbus (there was one other couple w/ us from the 4S). The ziplining was exciting, and the horseback riding was fun, but they really should have limited the number of people allowed to participate (for wait times and safety issues). We literally had to wait for everyone to finish every activity with just a few people working the ropes. Because it had been raining so much, the rapids were very high for tubing and I ended up flipping over and getting dragged on the rocks, resulting in a 3 inch gash on my stomach, several on my elbows and knees, and lots of bruising. We missed the rest of the day (no refund...) and I paid a visit to the doctor at the 4S (great that they have medical attn available- esp if you have kids! It was $100 for a visit, but worth it. Mainor's company also offers transfers from the aiport, but for 2 people it's the same price as using the 4S transport ($80 each way).

The Four Seasons is worth the splurge, and there are lots of free activities (cooking class with Sean Murray, chef of Di Mare, was a highlight, but must sign up early), and kayaks, snorkeling, and mini-catamaran sailing is all complimentary. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I am a bit of a picky traveler- cleanliness is of utmost importance to me- and I assure you, this place was MARVELOUS. Absolutely perfect. Perfect service. Amazing housekeeping. Great food. Superb location. Before traveling here, one must note that it will be a bit expensive, but I personally believe that the extra money is well worth it. Not one complaint about this hotel. My only complaint about the entire vacation was our stay at the Paradisus. After one night there, we checked out and went back to the Four Seasons!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATXATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2010

This is by far one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at as a family. The staff was wonderful and gracious. We stayed in a villa with our own plunge pool and the view was breathtaking.

Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jepjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwyn, PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We stayed at the Four Seasons over Memorial Day weekend. The resort setting is beautiful, with beaches on each side of a thin part of the peninsula. The rooms are well furnished and very comfortable. The public areas, pools, and restaurants are highlights. While expensive, we found the food to be excellent, with a wide variety offered at 5 restaurants - we particularly liked Di Mare, the Italian restaurant. Service throughout the resort was first rate, especially on the beach as they set up your chair, offered refreshments and water, and served lunch by the adult quiet pool.

As for activities, we played golf and thoroughly enjoyed the course - great condition, water views from almost every hole, and you can decide how much of a challenge you want based on 5 sets of tees. We also did the Witch's Rock zipline tour, arranged by the concierge, which was a highlight. Beyond that, various members of our family used the spa, the fitness center, water sports, or relaxed on the beach. Also, we rented a car through the hotel and drove to Tamarindo(about 1 1/2 hours) for a day of surfing. All in all, plenty to do for all ages and interests.

BTW, we made our arrangements through Whatahotel, which offered some awesome "freebies" - free daily breakfast, $100 off of golf and an upgrade from a garden to premium room, based on availability. I figure these benefits were worth about $1500/room over the 5 nights we were there.

All in all, a fantastic place for a family vacation.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yomick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,575 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing