We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Nearby Hotels
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel(Playa Panama)(Great Value!)
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica(Gulf of Papagayo)(Great Value!)
US$529
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$554
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$509
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection(Playa Panama)(Great Value!)
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Allegro Papagayo(Gulf of Papagayo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,665)
Filter reviews
3,665 results
Traveller rating
1,387
1,209
559
301
209
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,387
1,209
559
301
209
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clubsnack barthe oriental restaurantfirst clubsunset walkcosta ricathe grillguest serviceshigh tidemain buildingour honeymoonevery other daya la carte restaurantsfun clubocean viewair canadabeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
1,445 - 1,450 of 3,665 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I just stayed at this smaller but great hotel june 22nd.
the room was very clean the air conditioning worked great and was much needed.
the wet bar was restocked and the room was cleaned daily.
there are alot of steps you will be walking to get to food and the bar and disco so be prepared if your tired
Or have bad knees.
the pool is smaller and needs a deep end.
the food is good there is always something you can find you like. It does however close the kitchen at 1030 so eat while you can cause theres no food to save you from a night of drinking. The disco is small but if you meet people its a great place to have some fun.
entertainment runs all day but isnt too interesting.
there are lots of great rooms with amazing views to choose from given that your budget could be the only thing stopping you from getting the better rooms.
staff is great.
Brian in the fun club is rhe best and will do anything to make your stay more fun for you ;)
Juan at the front desk is the best man if you need any trips into town or things taken care of he goes far above his job and really cares.
the people selling on the beach are great people too they will make stuff you ask for and will give great prices you gotta see eddie on the beach he has amazing vases for sale. The so called pirates on the beach are yes drunks but great people who can provide cheap trips.
there are all kinds of animals on the property. Monkeys all kinds of lizards birds butterfly and when you snorkel you will love it so much fish to see.
all in all this is a smaller hotel but it packs a great value in what it has to offer.
costa rica has so much to offer just go try for yourself stay here and relax trust the staff and that you and your stuff are safe and cared for.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrBlackley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just got back from staying at Grand Papagayo yesterday, and we had an amazing time!
To begin with, I was a little nervous coming here because there were some memorably negative reviews mixed in with the positive ones. However, after having stayed there I can only come to the conclusion that anyone giving an overly negative review must either be an angry critical person with unrealistic expectations or was incredibly rude to staff and received a less than warm welcome.
No one tried to oversell us anything, the staff were all pleasant and anticipated our needs, the beach was amazingly well kept and very relaxing, and everything was very clean.
From the moment we arrived check in was smooth, and while you can't check in to your room until 3 (which is standard for the whole country) you have access to the entire resort.
We were in building 12 which is far away from the lobby, but also a lot quieter and had a gorgeous view of the ocean. The shuttles came quite frequently so it was easy to get around.
The buffet food was slightly better than expected, and the snack bar was convenient. The Italian restaurant was the best a la carte option (and contrary to other reviews booking the a la carte is a very easy and smooth experience). The grounds were well kept and gorgeous, and there were friendly iguanas and coatis that roamed about.
Also the bars were great! They will make anything you ask for, the only thing is that the drinks vary from bartender to bartender however if you have any feedback they will take it to heart.
It is also very easy to book excursions and there are tonnes available, whether you want to do ATVing, Ziplining, hike through the Rainforest, or visit a waterfall, the staff will make it happen!
The one thing we did notice, is that there were a few - not many but memorable - obnoxious and rude guests at the hotel. People who were loud, crass, treated the staff like garbage, and had no idea how other guests viewed them. However the staff handled them very well, they were gracious but also tried to make sure these people's behavior did not disturb the other guests. For example one day a loud group obnoxiously pulled a bunch of tables together in the snack bar, and spilled food, drinks, and broke glasses and shouted over one another for several hours effectively ruining half of the snack bar for the rest of the guests. The next day when they tried to do it again they were absolutely astonished that they were told they weren't allowed to move tables around and they got very mad at the waiter since they were "allowed" to do it the day before (hint: you weren't supposed to do it the first day either). I imagine these are the kind of people who write the negative reviews about staff, so before you write about how unfriendly people were here just take a second to think about whether or not you were the one at fault.
The hotel can't control the attitude and behavior of other guests, but they will always try and make the most of your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Terra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

After a very long day of planes, airports, delays, and finally taxi ride to resort, we were exhausted and wanted nothing more than a cool, possibly tropical drink with fruit. Instead the lobby was extremely loud and filled with people coming and going to Disco. The check in was very confusing - probably because we could not hear clearly - and were taken to our room assured that cold drinks were in fridge and fruit basket was waiting. Wrong! Beverages in fridge were warmer that the room and not a fruit to be seen. Tried to call the Front Desk but phone was not answered after15 to 20 rings, so we walked the considerable distance to lobby to ask about something to eat only to be informed that the kitchen was closed and fridge would be looked at the next day! Eventually, staff was able to produce two small sandwiches, two cold bottles of water, and an ice bucket. Over the next days the problems were gradually fixed including the fridge after repeated requests, complaints, calls, etc. The location, property and beach are beautiful and the grounds well maintained. The guest room we had in Building 12 needed much more attention! Really enjoyed the wildlife on the property such as howler monkeys, iguanas, blue jays, raccoons, and the poolside coati! We found we preferred the a la carte restaurants and, on the first morning we were there, made several reservations. This is certainly the place for a casual, laid back week with as many or few activities as you care to do. Although we were located at the end of the road from the lobby, we did not mind the walk with marvelous vistas and frequent wildlife.

Room Tip: All rooms have unobstructed ocean views but a number of room required going up or down steps without a railing or support. Having had knee surgery recently, I was pleased our room was on the ground floor and very quiet!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CyndiE920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The best part of the hotel is the entertainment staff. Jerald kept us laughing and dancing at night, while the pool staff kept us playing water polo, competing in table tennis competitions, and, of course, more dancing. The beach is peaceful and the grounds are beautiful.

The service staff, however, tanks the hotel. Right out of the taxi, disheveled from a long trip, the hotel staff tries to get you to buy a timeshare. The concierge is really just a disguised sales person who gets paid when you sign up to go on a timeshare tour. If you aren't interested in the tour, the concierge isn't interested in you.

Hopping a rocket to Mars is easier than making a reservations for the a la carte restaurants. The front desks receptionists cannot or will not help and gave us wrong information on how to make a reservation. But if you do go, book your restaurant reservations for the week. The food is superior over the buffet.

Beware that there is no confirmation of your room number and any extraneous charges that occur at the hotel. In other words, anyone can charge something to your room without identification or signature. We learned this upon checkout when the receptionist informed us that money was owed for a bottle of wine purchased at one of the restaurants that are incredibly hard to get a reservation at. We hadn't dined at the restaurant. We argued with the receptionist while our airport taxi idled.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had the most wonderful time at this resort...food was awesome...just an amazing vacation ...staff are all wonderful!!! Coco Beach was great especially when Costa Rica beat Italy for the Fifa Soccer game...

Room Tip: The oceanview rooms 211...section are fantastic!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank longlegz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews