We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo
Nearby Hotels
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel(Playa Panama)(Great Value!)
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only(Gulf of Papagayo)(Great Value!)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection(Playa Panama)(Great Value!)
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vista Bahia Beach Resort(Playa Panama)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Villas del Papagayo(Gulf of Papagayo)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica(Gulf of Papagayo)(Great Value!)
US$529
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,856)
Filter reviews
1,856 results
Traveller rating
1,485
255
83
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,485
255
83
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschao pescaoostrario bhongotapas restaurantcevicheadult poolfour seasonsarepasstraw hatsbeach clubfamily poolflip flopsbeach baggolf cartbay viewcosta ricamixology class
Filter
Updating list...
1,525 - 1,530 of 1,856 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for a week here. The facilities are great (our suite was huge and one of the nicest I've stayed in), the staff is exceptional - special thanks to Brian who always was there when we needed anything. Antonio, Francois, Xira, Johann, Marlon and everyone else was also very friendly. So if I was just rating the facilities and service I would give the place 5 stars. But, the location and food/drinks available were not ideal - so 4 stars is more accurate.

The hotel is located in an area where there is really nothing else nearby. This proved to be inconvenient when we decided that we didn't like the food offered at the three on site restaurants. We tried all three restaurants (breakfast and lunch are available only at Rio Bhongo) and they ranged from adequate to bad. Breakfast was OK (we got it free with Diamond status) but limited. Lunch selections were also limited and nothing special. Dinners were unfortunately not good. We tried Chao Pescao a few times - Tapas was so so, but the pizza was good (strangely the pizza was only offered certain nights). Ostra, the "upscale" restaurant was very disappointing (it has good reviews on here, which I don't understand). The menu at Ostra is very limited and the food we got (2 ceviches, lobster entree and seafood bisque entree) ranged from not good to really bad. The best thing about the meal was the few small pieces of bread that accompanied the food. The cocktails were also disappointing at all three places.

We ended up driving 45 minutes to Playa de CoCo for meals a few times and also ate a lot at the Dive Bar at the Marina. The Dive Bar has good food, better drinks and is less expensive - highly recommend it. You definitely need a rental car if you don't want to spend a fortune on cabs.

I would like to say that I would go back to the Andaz, but I think the drawbacks mentioned above are just too significant to ignore. They did a beautiful job incorporating the hotel into the landscape and the architecture is spectacular. The service is also top notch - most staff knew our names after the second day. But the quality and limited variety of food available made it less than the perfect vacation it could have been.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anonymust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the Andaz.

I'm sad to read you did not enjoy the dinners at our restaurants and I would welcome the opportunity to learn more about your comments and recommendations. Besides the close by Marina, which you enjoyed, there are also several other restaurants on the Peninsula. By car the beach towns of Coco and Hermosa are great to explore as well and I'm glad you had the opportunity to do that.

Thank you for your comments on the facilities and the exceptional staff. We will keep it up!

With best regards,

Michael Schmid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

If you want to get away to relax and not spend you life savings then this is the hotel for you. In beautiful Costa Rica on the North Pacific. Venture out to enjoy the beauty or just relax at the resort. Enjoy the complimentary steam room and private retreat.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blossom-Hill-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for recommending the Andaz!

I'm glad you enjoyed your time at the resort and appreciate you added some pictures to our TA gallery. We hope you will be able to join us again for some more relaxation.

With best regards,

Michael Schmid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We went on our first trip to Costa Rica and stayed at the Andaz-an amazing, relaxing, calming experience!! The entire staff was incredibly friendly and polite, they were at our service whenever we needed anything! The breakfast servers, the pool team at the main pool, and the team at Chao Pescao were tops! The bar experience at Chao Pescao was an experience we won't forget- fresh ingredients, local infusion, and specialized cocktails!! World class- you feel like you're the only guest at the resort. The rooms are spread out, quiet, clean- amazing showers and view from each room, comfortable beds, plenty of closer space and storage for suitcases! I dream of the day I can go back- the tours they recommend are definitely worth it- as are the jet skis on the beach!! Thank you!! Pura vida- Costa Rica!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Jessica,

Tuanis! (that is the local phrase for: too nice!) I'm glad you enjoyed your birthday trip.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback after your recent stay. I hope your dream will come true and you find time to visit us again.

We look forward having you back - Pura Vida!

Michael Schmid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Free Wifi in the entire properties. Staff are professional and always helpful. Rooms are huge, trendy and nice. No complain but the stay was too short! Keep up the good work! You are serve with a welcome fruit punch. Then, golf cart send you to your room. Kayak, snokels are included at the beach. Jet ski was $110USD an hour. Would totally return. Keep up the good work and the professionalism!

Room Tip: Wake up early and start your day early!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Run_ar0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward having you back ... for a longer period this time.

Pura Vida,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hotel Andaz Peninsula Papagayo is excellent on many fronts: rooms, staff, service, location, food, amenities and ambiance. Our family stayed here for three nights and we were completely satisfied with our stay. The staff made us feel special by doing many things - they called us by name, they knew our dietary requirements, they responded quickly to our requests, and they were always helpful with appropriate information.

We would gladly stay there again if an opportunity arises.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 1 and it seemed very quiet ant private.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sevalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

we truly hope the opportunity arises for you and your family to come back to the Andaz.

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your wonderful feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope your good memories will last for long!

Pura Vida,

Michael Schmid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews