We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view,good service but poor food”

Rumbas Beach Club Bar and Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View
Dining options: Reservations
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great view,good service but poor food”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Excellent view & service. The food was not good. There were 3 in our party. 2 ordered the beef au jus sandwich. We were informed only enough beef for 1. This came with 2 very thin slices of dry beef on a large bun with sort of a salad on it. The beef in no way would cover the bun in one layer. The jus was terrible,strong & salty. Another ordered the burger . Was large but he said it tasted rancid so did not eat any more of it.. It took me 4 orders to finally get something they had. The chicken wings were tasteless & dry. No coating of any kind & tasted greasy. I only dared eat one. All our french fries were greasy. The onion rings were greasy also & the batter not crispy at all. I must say our waiter was very good. I am sure I will not return to eat there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capey46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good for lunch or snack”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I got there last weekend, I liked because is just in front of the beach, no walls, so you can feel the joyfull of the place. They prepare a good "nachos" but the chicken they prepared was so salty. They change it, with good manners.

Recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andres H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uvita, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food reasonably priced”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The bar is right by the beach...we found the the staff were real friendly. They serve good food - we didn't have to wait long to get it and they serve adequate portions....we certainly were not hungry when we were done.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jrgould45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rumbas is terrific”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Just ate at Rumbas for the second time this week! There is no comparison with the old Beach Club. New owners/managers are doing wonderful job. Food was very good, drinks were excellent and the service is Outstanding. One waitress is from the Sports Bar where she always offered unparalleled service and friendliness. Other waitress is from Aquasport and she is also most helpful and delightful. We will be back often!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food & pleasant atmosphere on the beach”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We had lunch at Rumbas Beach Club and found the food to be excellent. I had the Cesar Salad and my wife had the Rumbas salad. The service was good and the restaurant was clean and comfortable. We took a walk on the beach after lunch since it was only a few steps away from our table. We hope to go back for dinner sometime. The lunch menu has many selections and we hope dinner will be as good as our lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBoatBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rumbas Beach Club Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
 
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing