We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good. With one minor flaw...”
Review of Hotel Santa Teresa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Santa Teresa
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Our stay was very pleasent. The hotel was clean and near everything. We had the time of our life. Although, be sure to pay your reservation in CASH!!! Do not give them your credit card number under no circumstances. When I got back home, I found out that my credit card number was stolen and charged more than $5,000 in stores around the south of Spain. The receptionist was sort of bad-tempered at times. But besides all that, everything was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rrm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santa Teresa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2009

Overall I was pleased with our stay at this hotel. The rooms are nice, it's all very new and pleasant. It is located in a small shopping center so there are several restaurants to choose from right there as well as other basic services across the street, and it's also close to the beach (1-2 blocks away).
However, I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast that was included with the rate of the room because it was pretty limited.
Also, the pool area is tiny and it gets crowded easily. When we were there, there was a large group of families travelling together staying in the first floor in front of the pool and they took over the pool all day, making it very crowded and noisy, so we didn't feel comfortable staying and didn't get a chance to have any quiet time by the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Hotel Playa Carmen, it is the best boutique hotel in the area. The beach with white sand and great spot for surfing was very relaxing.

Have a great relaxing weekend.

Thank GSanper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

This hotel wasn't even in the guidebooks but we had friends stay there and rave about it, so we decided to try it out. It was perfect. It offered so much more than any of the other hotels in the area that were priced twice as much as this property. It is brand new, has a great pool and bar area and the rooms are modern. Definitely try this spot if you're in Mal Pais and you can walk down the street to the best pizza place on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lovetotravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

Wow- This was a great hotel, very clean and great location, steps from Playa Carmen and right in the middle of dining in Santa Teresa and Mal Pais. They have a great little pool area with lounge chairs and a bar. I would def recommend this place to anyone visiting the area and for the price it is a steal! Plus they have computers and free internet which was a big bonus! The only complaint I had was the spa connected with the hotel, totally a tourist trap, overly pried for what you get, my boyfriend received a so-so massage and they wanted to charge him 20 dollars more when he asked the massage therapist to rub harder on a couple spots that were sore on his back, so instead of a relaxation they wanted to charge for deep tissue which it clearly was not. The massage room was not closed off and he could hear outside noise. And I had a manicure that was only good, no little arm/hand massage, and my lady was chatting the whole time with other co workers, a half hour not worth 20 dollars.

THE HOTEL IS A MUST THOUGH!


Love it love it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank banna0081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2009

We spent five of our six nights in Mal País/Santa Teresa at Hotel Playa Carmen, WE LOVED IT!! The hotel is clean, accommodating and the rooms are bright and inviting. The pool is gorgeous and refreshing. The hotel is located just steps from Playa Carmen and the location allows you to explore all dining options in the area, from the local sodas to Umi sushi, to Franks place. Everything is just steps away from the hotel and despite the hotel being in the center of it all it still is an escape tranquil and quiet its the perfect spot to relax.

Our days were spent exploring, ATV-ing, walking the beaches from Playa Carmen to Playa Santa Teresa all the way to El Peñón. It was nice knowing after the long days we could spend relaxing nights back at Playa Carmen after watching the sunset.

I recommend this hotel to everyone who is considering coming to Mal País, I think it is perfect. We spent our first night elsewhere because we wanted something remote and mountainside and unless you are OK with bugs and the commute into town for food and drink options I suggest you stay close to Playa Carmen.

We ATV-ed all along Mal País to Playa Hermosa and I have to say we made the best possible decision staying at Hotel Playa Carmen it really was enjoyable!! Thanks to the staff, we loved our stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hwood05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

We were on a motorcycling trip with friends see web site of our travels

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=376909

It seemed obvious to us that this was the place to stay. It was modern , clean had all the amenities we were looking for and was in our budget range. We wanted to enjoy the beach go on a few excursions and come back to a clean room, with great shower bathroom facilities and a nice pool. Since it was the green season the hotel was quite. The hotel staff was very friendly, the Internet was down for some reason, I think it had something to do with the rains they had the night before we arrived? The breakfast is a highlight with a buffet style ( eggs cooked to order) and espresso coffee all complimentary and served with a smile.

The staff was friendly we made friends with the bar tender and his wife. Everyone was very friendly. They have a convenient mini honor bar in the room. There is a Calspa hot tub just beyond the bar and the pool was convenient and clean

Things to do in Malpais, rent a quad and drive the back road to Montezuma for lunch Its an easy adventure which will provide a really great day.
Take a short walk down the beach to the D&N bar, the most underutilized facility I have ever seen. You have to have the best chicken in the whole world at Las Piedras. They are closed on Mondays but other than that it is a meal not to be missed. The atmosphere is exactly what this traveler had hoped for!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
157 reviews
2.7 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
333 reviews
2.1 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
153 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Teresa

Address: Intersection Santa Teresa/Mal Pais | Intersection Santa Teresa/Mal Pais, Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Playa Carmen)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £60 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Santa Teresa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Teresa Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing