We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Colina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Colina
Ranked #22 of 33 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Spent three days at the beautiful Casa Colina in Santa Teresa. A clean, spacious and stylish house with four rooms for rent. Just three minutes away from the beach, but just far enough uphill from the dusty mainroad of Santa Teresa. Owner Ariana, originally from Germany, but more then 20 years in Costa Rica now, makes you feel at home immediately, and is a great help if advice is needed. Also a perfect place for solo travellers. The rates are very good for what you get. Just go there, you won't regret.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NathanAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
28
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Hook, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Came to Casa Colina on a school adventure with 12 other students ..what a great experience. Everyone at Casa Colina was helpful, friendly, and could always point us in the right direction to have a good time. Great views especially from the top corner west bedroom, hint if you can claim that first you'll wake up every morning the happiest person in the house for sure. If you stay here take surf lessons with their surf school as well!!! What a great time!! ..will never forget it!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta, Wy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Loved the view from our room--out to the ocean across the tops of the trees. Great location close to town and the beach (no need for a car) Could hear and see monkeys and tropical birds. Breakfast was wonderful. Fruit, great coffee and very tasty every meal. Great spot for couples looking to enjoy St. Theresa and Mal Pais beaches.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffAlta_Wy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Ariana & Dave are the greatest of hosts. They remind me of what vacation should be: stress free and fun. My brother and I stayed here on the recommendation of other family members and I will return soon to my favorite place in the Americas. Breakfast was wonderful and the little cafe at the bottom of the hill suited our every need. The little town of Santa Theresa is gorgeous and has plenty to do.

Casa Colina was clean and well kept with a gorgeous view of the surf and treetops from our bedroom window. One day, all we did was sit in the rocking chairs, read and watch the sun travel across the sky.

Thank you to you both for being such great hosts. Thanks to Ariana's mother for the surf/boogey board rentals and to our housemates for the zip-line recommendations. I miss it all very much.

Room Tip: Upper Floor Central Building Closest to the Top of the Stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisOsterhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

We stayed at Casa Colina for 6 nights in early January 2011. We loved Casa Colina: Ariana is a helpful, kind and gracious host, the home and rooms are all truly beautiful with lovely views of the pacific ocean, breakfast was hearty, and the location up the hill was perfect. Our only problem was Santa Teresa/Playa Carmen itself, and if it hadn't been for Ariana and Casa Colina we would not have had a good time. Though the sun was hot and the beach was big and gorgeous with lots of variation (white sand beaches, rock beaches), and the tides were great....one had to walk through Playa Carmen/Santa Teresa itself to get to the beach, and that was a hard thing to do. The roads were loud and noisy, with a lot of ATV and dirt bike traffic at all hours. It was dry and dusty and just plain nasty. There was a lot of loud music at night...going until 3 or 4 in the morning sometimes and it made it difficult to sleep. We tend to be more quiet types who seek relaxation, and we had very little patience for the partying. Also, FYI, Santa Teresa is a surfer's paradise for a reason: that surf is BIG, and a little frightening even for a couple of fit 40 year olds. So...thank you Ariana and Casa Colina...and sorry Santa Teresa, we can't give you our vote yet.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aeusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

This beautiful, open aired B&B was relaxing and inviting. We woke up every morning to the sounds of howler monkeys. After good breakfasts were served to us each morning by our host Ariana, we were free to surf, relax, hike, and enjoy the many pleasures of Santa Teresa. We found Casa Colina to be the best value in all of the places we stayed in Costa Rica. We stayed for 4 days when we had originally only planned on Santa Teresa for 2 days because we loved Casa Colina so much. I can't waid to come back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowdani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend and we didn't want to leave! the hosts (dave & ariana) were very welcoming and friendly and they gave us great tips and recommendations on where to eat, what to do, etc.

the place itself is a 5 minute walk up a small hill from the main road, which serves to deflect almost all of the street noise. we had one of the upstairs rooms which shares a bathroom with another room, but it never was an issue. inside the wooden shutters open up wide for a panoramic ocean view, which never gets old. there's a safe and mini fridget in each room as well, perfect to stock up on imperials!

breakfast is tasty and varies daily, and it's a nice time to catch up with other guests and hang out in the local common areas. hammocks, a tv room and a kitchen abound, so there's no shortage of places to relax here. the vibe is the most important thing, and we felt so comfortable we didn't want to return to the US. thanks for having us dave & ariana and hope to see you soon!

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank outofmylmnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
El Rey Patricio
El Rey Patricio
#6 of 33 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Cecilia
Casa Cecilia
#5 of 33 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
#15 of 33 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colina

Property: Casa Colina
Address: PO Box 59 | Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
casa colina is a charming B&B just 5 walking minutes away from playa carmen beach and in close proximity to supermarkets, stores and bars. also available for rent on a weekly bases, for family or business gatherings up to 10 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Colina Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing