We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Colina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Colina
Ranked #22 of 33 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I couldn't have been happier with my stay at Casa Colina! I just returned to San Francisco, CA from a 2 month adventure in Costa Rica. I traveled the entire country and made my way into Nicaragua as well. Of all the cities I traveled to SANTA TERESA was by far the best! Of all the hostels, hotels, and villas I stayed at CASA COLINA was by far the best! Therefore, in my opinion, Casa Colina is the best place to stay in the best city in Costa Rica.

My room had a 360 view of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa! The room itself was beautiful with great woodwork.

The price is very fair.

Ari, the owner, is a saint. She is a extremely accommodating and an overall great person.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
28
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Ohhhh Casa Colina, where do I begin!?! A 10-star place among the trees, howler monkeys and ocean breezes are all you need for an alarm clock. A beautiful open design with spacious rooms and amazing ocean views from BED, that's right... you can see the ocean from BED! I needed a place to stay for a week.. or a month, I wasn't sure when I arrived, yet once I saw Ari's house, I knew this was it. Walking distance to some of the best surf of my life, just up the hill from the market, AND an amazing host. I could not have imagined a more beautiful, wonderous place. Thank you Ari, you changed my life :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doyletinfoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Where to begin...the location is excellent, a short walk down the hill and everything you would want or need (i.e., restaurants, cocktails, groceries, pharmacy, the beach, great surf, etc.) is right there. The home is beautiful and has a wonderful open floor plan yet also provides ample privacy when so desired. It is also extremely clean and well maintained. It is just far enough off the main road in Santa Teresa that you don't hear the noise so it is very peaceful and there is no dust from the road below. Ari is a wonderful host who knows the area very well and is more than happy share her knowledge regarding local customs, attractions, restaurants, beaches, surf spots, etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Casa Colina is a great place to stay if what you are looking for is a relaxing, quiet and a comfortable place. The house has an incredible and unique design, one of the best in Santa Teresa, it is simply beautiful. The house is 5 minutes away from Playa del Carmen, the views are excellent from every room because Casa Colina is placed on a hill about 150 metres from the main road, which also keeps you away from the dust. Close to nice restaurants, supermarkets and other amenities. I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Ari (the hostess) and her three marvellous dogs which will receive you with lot of love. Looking forward to coming back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esthercys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mal País, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I commented just the other day after staying temporarily at another location that Casa Colina, "feels like my home" and that I couldn't wait to sleep back in "my bed." The location is amazingly convenient with a private sort of feel. The open air setup keeps the area cool and Ari is a charm to be around. It's a great spot any way you look at it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmaderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. The cafe has such organically delicious food. They offer yoga and zumba which added so much to my Costa Rican trip. The rooms were modern, comfortable with a zen relaxing twist. The staff was very friendly and helpful with giving information about Santa Teresa and other surrounding tourist hotspots. I'm coming back next year!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islarose87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Casa Colina was home for almost 2 months and I loved it!!! Waking up to a view of the ocean and jungle green can't be beat! It's the best of both worlds, with a large kitchen and living spaces to enjoy with friends or other visitors and your own private room to relax! Plus, Ari is the best host you can ask for!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tycn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
El Rey Patricio
El Rey Patricio
#7 of 33 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Cecilia
Casa Cecilia
#5 of 33 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Canaima Chill House
Canaima Chill House
#3 of 33 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
#16 of 33 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nautilus Boutique Hotel - Wellness Retreats
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colina

Property: Casa Colina
Address: PO Box 59 | Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
casa colina is a charming B&B just 5 walking minutes away from playa carmen beach and in close proximity to supermarkets, stores and bars. also available for rent on a weekly bases, for family or business gatherings up to 10 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Colina Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing