We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, quiet and laid back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Colina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Colina
Ranked #21 of 33 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Elko, Nevada
Level Contributor
1 review
“Simple, quiet and laid back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

Great hosts and a great place to stay. Close to empty beaches and nice quaint restraunts.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckridge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
28
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

Stayed 4 nights based on tripadvisor reviews and weren't disappointed, a wonderful house in a wonderful location with sea views and a wonderful host in Ariel who made the stay extra special.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopandsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Casa Colina made my trip. I went to st teresa in the middle of the rainiest rainy season and was so thankful that I had this beautiful property and Ariana's hospitality to come back to when the rain started to come down at sunset. The house is on a hill so you can enjoy a good view of the sea and a good breeze that you would not get at sea level, yet its close enough to beach to hear the waves crash at night. The house has a really cool design - its built in an open layout so you feel like you are outside yet, there are enough walls in the right places for plenty of privacy.
My room was amazing, the walls to the outside are huge shudders that can be twisted open or fully swung out so you can turn your bedroom into, almost like a terrace, and gaze at the ocean from the bed. When fully twisted closed, the shudders don't let anything in beyond small moths. Everything was really clean, the bathroom was really big and had big, high glassless windows for airflow. If you get there after dark, the house is hard to find -so make sure you get good directions for the sidestreet turn from Ariana and be skeptical of directions from locals. (Ticos want to help, so often, if they don't know where something is they will confidently guess and may send you in the wrong direction with the best intentions.) Small detail, I appreciated the good quality mosquito nets that you can tuck under the mattress and completely seal your bed off. (the kind that actually let airflow in...and keeps the mosquitos out). The rooms were nice and cool too, probably on account of the open layout, the breeze, and the big ceiling fans and the concrete floors.
Ariana is a great host, she's laid back, accommodating, flexible, makes great breakfast and has cool stories. She's lived in Costa Rica for many years, her husband runs a surf school, and her mom runs a cafe and rents quads down the street. She's practically got a farm - she's got three love big mastifs that are very well trained and keep you feeling safe at night, and she has several horses that she gives tours with parts of the year.
Small detail,
A word to the wise, after reading some reviews by people scandalized by the presence of gekkos in their rooms, there are NO accomodations in sta teresa....or the nicoya peninsula at large that will be closed to bugs or gekkos. If this bothers you, you should probably pick a different part of costa rica. This area is remote and rugged. coming to this area requires being in contact with nature and nature in costa rica involves bugs and 3 inch lizards. Think of it as really upscale camping.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turkita47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

the service of the casa colina team is optimal prepeared to give the guest an easy holliday. a supermarket nice restaurants bars and a beautifull beach is all in walking distance.horseriding surfboards cars quads and motorbikes are availible to rent in this area. on the other hand u have untouched nature wild life forest .

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derzipf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed at Casa Colina for 8 days and were totally pleased with everything there. Dave and Ari have made it their priority to make their guests feel at home and as comfortable as can be. The room was spacious and quiet and we loved the open air feel of the whole house. Ari made a wonderful breakfast for us each morning and we sat and had our coffee and breakfast while checking out the monkeys or red tree squirrels.... They were also very helpful in answering our questions and giving us great suggestions!! I highly recommend staying at the Casa Colina and i will definately be staying there again!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rokclymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week and loved it. It was really nice to get to know the owners as well. what a great location, close enough to good food and the ocean. i can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jblyth70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

My husband and I visited in April, with two other couples. Dave and Ariana were so fantastic and friendly, providing great communication before our visit, and made our experience absolutely perfect. The meals were accomodating and absolutely delicious everyday. The amenities were wonderful, and the hosts provided thoughtful help when it came to setting up transportation and activities for us. We surfed several days, did a canopy tour, rented ATV's to explore, sent the boys off-shore fishing, visited a spa, and experienced the beautiful world of Santa Teresa/Mal Pais every evening. The surf was amazing and Al, Benny, and Dave were fun, professional, but easygoing and encouraging. Our experience in Costa Rica was amazing, and a one-of-a-kind experience thanks to Casa Colina. I would highly recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgracey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
#15 of 33 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#15 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colina

Property: Casa Colina
Address: PO Box 59 | Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
casa colina is a charming B&B just 5 walking minutes away from playa carmen beach and in close proximity to supermarkets, stores and bars. also available for rent on a weekly bases, for family or business gatherings up to 10 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Colina Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing