We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra star added for pleasant owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zula Inn Aparthotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I was a little nervous when I advised the owner we would not be checking in, but he was quite gracious about it. We had booked through booking.com.

We booked a two-bedroom bungalow which was more of a one-bedroom with a bed in the large living area.

We did not stay after finding a large hole in the back door and a dirty kitchen.

The pool area looked nice.

Although over 90% of tourists to Costa Rica are from the U.S., I later noted a disproportionate number of reviews from Canada and Israel. Most of these reviewers also gave glowing reviews to the Zula Restaurant down the street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZulaInn, Owner at Zula Inn Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear guest,

Sometimes I wondering why keep working hard when every single person can effect your results with out even be a part of the experience ....
How can a person give a bad review with out spending even 1 min in my property...?
Just for record, if a client have a problem with a hole on the door or a dirty kitchen, you should tell us first and give us a chance to fix the problem... I could easily solved it. But instead you chose to run away without explanations and give me a bad review that will effect all my great work, ranking and starts. I can't satisfie all of the people that staying with me - but ill sure try!
Now it's too late - but please for next times - stay in a place and experience all it has to offer before you posting a bad review.
And please take a good look again on all of my reviews - their internationals from a lot of great people from great places - Canada, U.S.A, Israel, Sweden, Costa Rica and many many places....
Thanks and keep traveling - just wiser....... Rotem Avraham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

This place is wonderful and is a bargain. We stayed in casita #6 for 5 nights and enjoyed how quiet it was since it doesn't sit directly on the main road. Our A/C worked great at night when we used it and the wifi worked great too. The casita was clean and kept clean daily. The rancho area is beautiful and surrounds a pool with lush landscaping. There is an honor system for beers and sodas that are kept in a fridge in the rancho.
Avi and Rotem went above and beyond for us when my husband and I dealt with a thief. They are great people and run a great place. We would definitely stay here again. There are many pricey places to stay, but we had everything we needed included a small kitchen and larger size fridge and coffee maker. There is a road leading to the beach almost across the street. It's in a great location close to the rest of the town.
Did I mention their restaurant is great too? Fresh hummus, pita and more. Just a short ways down the street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeisureTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

What a great place! Great hospitality, great people! Our room was cleaned to perfection every day... The hotel owners also have a great restaurant in Santa Teresa Called the zula restaurant, highly recommended ! Go stay there, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Einat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We found Zula Inn through a couple of traveling friends we had made on our trip in Cost Rica. As we walked into to book at Zula Inn we were greeted with such warmth and ease that it made our whole experience super positive. Rotem and Avi are so helpful and made our stay so enjoyable. Zula Inn is situated in a beautiful part of Santa Teresa walking distance to the main part of town and right across the road from the ocean. There is full air conditioning, wifi and a beautiful communal area complete with couches and just overlooking the pool. The suites also have kitchenettes and it made eating in super easy and fun. Awesome find!! We absolutely loved our stay here!! Thank you Rotem & Avi!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahtravel0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My group and I narrowed down our options in Mal Pais/Santa Teresa to a few hotels. When we arrived in the area, we decided to stay at Zula Inn due to its location and value. However, we would come back for several reasons: it is a good deal for the rooms, the pool is well-kept and necessary in the heat, and most importantly, because the staff was wonderful. We needed their help with a variety of things like calling the bank when one of our cards wasn't working, scheduling a surf lesson for us (which was awesome with Del Soul Santa Teresa), scheduling a taxi pick up for us, getting advice on how to get to other parts of Costa Rica etc. While some of these services may be considered standard for hotels, the level of service and the way they delivered the service at Zula Inn makes this place unique. We enjoyed the other guests and some have been coming back to Zula Inn for 5+ years, which shows that even with the many hotel options in the area, Zula Inn is worth the repeat stays. The owners take pride in the property and live right next door so if you ever need them, they are there and they will answer the door! They take privacy on the property seriously and other positive aspects of the hotel include its on-site services, the lounge area by the pool, the convenience of drinks in the lounge area fridge (in case you don't feel like making a trip to the store), the security of the rooms and the property as a whole, the private parking area that is setback from the road, the WiFi in the rooms and public areas, the in-unit kitchens, the large bathrooms, the A/C, the cable TV, comfortable beds, and easy access to the beach across the road. The rooms are single-story cabanas (standalone homes) with a seating area and hammock out front, which are nice touches that help you relax and spend time with the people you are traveling with. I just really loved how flexible the owners and staff were and how attentive they were. So, give it a try and you'll see what I'm talking about!

Room Tip: See attached pictures for an idea of room #2. In terms of location on the property, all of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerATL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

If you are looking for a low budget place, nice and quite to just move around Santa Teresa and the others beaches this one will be for you. The place is relax and pretty much you have to go by your own, again, if you are one of those that want to play as a king or queen this is not for you. Happy stay!!! Rent a quad motorcycle is a good tip to go around!!!

Room Tip: All are the same!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pericos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I have stayed here for the past 7 years on my annual surf trip. It's quiet, clean, & secure. Rotim & Avi are two brothers who immigrated from Israel about 10 yrs ago. They own/operate the Inn and Zula restaurant. Each of them speak Hebrew, English, & Spanish well.
I never worry about leaving a camera or computer in the room. Their cleaning & maintenance staff are well trusted. They have surfboards, ATVs, etc for rent, and if they don't have it, they can get it. Prices are very reasonable, and each room has a kitchenette in case you want to eat in. I would recommend their restaurant as well. Best falafel, hummus, & pita bread in town (?country).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlapt101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
135 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#8 of 27 in Santa Teresa
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacifica Surf Studios
Pacifica Surf Studios
#24 of 27 in Santa Teresa
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zula Inn Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zula Inn Aparthotel

Address: Playa Santa Teresa | 1 Km From the Crossroads to the Right, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £41 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zula Inn Aparthotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zula Inn Aparthotel features nine self-contained bungalows, all with views of our lush tropical garden and pool. Set back from the road in a quiet location, the hotel is only a two min walk to the white sandy surf beach of Playa Santa Teresa and it's consistent year round waves. Enjoy poolside relaxation in tropical gardens and take in our view of the jungle. Tha rancho next to the pool offers sofas, hammocks, cable T.V, free WI-FI internet, coffee and soft drinks. Zula Inn is also a short walk to all the shops and restaurants around our beautiful town of Santa Teresa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Zula Inn Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zula Inn Aparthotel Hotel Santa Teresa
Zula Inn Aparthotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing