We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Otro Lado is Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We just spent a week at Otro Lado. The beach at Santa Teresa is wonderful, and staying at Otro Lado significantly enhanced our experience. Every day was almost the same: waking up early for their delicious breakfast, take a walk on the beach to one of the convenient yoga studios, return in the early afternoon for home-made gnocchi with ragu bolognese, and hanging out in the heat of the afternoon before heading to the beach for a sunset swim. I cannot imagine a better place to spend a week. Nico and Selvaggia were perfect hosts, and the other guests were also pleasant company. Thanks so much Otro Lado!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

Helped and comforted us in hard stressful times, recommended 100%, great staff and environment! Enjoyed my short stay, Great Job Otro Lado!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason_674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband I just spent a little over one month at Otro Lado, (Jan-Feb 2012) most of the time in one of the six comfortable rooms with a private washroom and balcony, and our last three nights in one of the spacious lodges. We enjoying hot cooked breakfasts with great coffee and fruit juice every morning. The lunches were also superb with great tasting homemade gnocchi with pesto and homemade ravioli. Baggi and Nico (the Italian owners) were super helpful and very friendly, and took great care of their guests. Otro Lado is located a few minutes walk to Playa Santa Teresa surf beach, which is clean with beautiful sand and is fantastic! The lodge is set well enough away from the main road, so the dust was not a problem. The pool and yoga studio were a great asset to the resort. The rooms and lodges were cleaned every day; they are modern, well designed, and nicely decorated. There is a security guard on site very evening, to give you peace-of-mind, even though we never felt unsafe or at-risk in Santa Teresa. My only suggestion would be to add a few lounge chairs around the pool area. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Otro Lado and would stay again. Thanks Nico and Baggi!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VegetarianVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We rented the house and 2 rooms at otro lada for Christmas week. We could not have been happier. The lodge has nice rooms, we loved our open air kitchen and dining area, the owners were wonderful, the grounds were well landscaped and cozy and we were 10 minutes from the beach. Could not have found a better place!

Room Tip: If you like to cook, ask for the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyBeloit_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here for just one night in Jan, 2012, but we would have loved to stay longer. the place is tucked away off the main drag in Santa Theresa, a quiet nook. I could not tell from their website how the layout would be, but it is much nicer in person. The owners or managers are an Italian couple who went out of their way to be helpful to us. We were travelling with 2 toddlers and grandparents, so we had the whole spectrum of needs. A great pool, very clean, tremendous value, but the welcoming and helpful owners made the place stand out, hence the review.

Room Tip: we too 2 single rooms: there was ample space and the beds were super cozy. i dont think you can go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evilexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My wife and I just returned from Costa Rica a few days ago and had the most amazing time. A big part of that was our stay at Otro Lado in Santa Teresa. We spent four nights at the lodge and enjoyed the quiet, clean and comfortable rooms and the excellent food (the owners are Italian and make the most delicious dishes). The location is also ideal, as the lodge is situated across the street from the best stretch of beach (no rocks, pure sand and excellent waves for surfing) in the Santa Teresa area. I would definitely return to Otro Lado.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed for one month during a two month Santa Teresa holiday and were sad to leave the friendly environment created by Baggi, Niko and Hata.
The retaurant provided us with many fantastic meals which we returned to enjoy many times after our departure from Otro Lado.
I thoroughly recommend Otro Lado lodge to any traveller looking for the complete satisfaction package in their accommodation in Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
200 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Address: North of Soccer Field Santa Teresa 200 Mt, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £58 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing