We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kindness & friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
1 review
“kindness & friendly”
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We got to Otro Lado at the bigenning of our vacation and we have been wellcome very nicely and friendly by nico and selvaggia, the owners, an italian couple who manage very well and with a lot of passion their self thought resort.
Resort is recent and very well thought: lodges are located around the pool, very well equipped, A/C, kitchen, porch, 2nd floor balcony, private garden and hammock!
Service is very well, always available, kindly and with the right touch of familiarity.
Food is delicious: you can find the best of mediterranean cusine and sometimes fusion specials!
Position: not on the beach, far from 100mt; We have personally very appreciated because it is not directly on the main road: silent and privacy are guaranteed! Very well sleep!!!
we loved so much our stay at otrolado that we came back at the end of our tour of Costa Rica; we wanted to feel like we were at home!
Bravi!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabietto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    30
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
55
166
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I have been at Otro Lado for a brief stay and it has been abslutely perfect: the cabinas, spotlessly clean, are simple but pleasant, small details like flowers and parfumed essence make the difference. The ambiance is relaxed and kids friendly.
We ate at Otro lado every single day, breakfast with delicious home made croissants and home made pie, and lunch with simple dishes italian inspired, with the freshest ingredients, either fish or mozzarella have been our favorite. Too bad they are not open for dinner anymore : but the owners are so incredibly nice that you if you asked to stay for dinner or you had a special occasion, they (or better she, Selvaggia, cause she is the chef!) would say "non c'e' problema!" (no problem!)...
Now, back in the States, I miss her "focaccia" which is truly the best I ever had outside of Italy: even if you are staying somewhere else, you must go and try it!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miamipixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

All the wonderful things already written about this place are true. It does feel like a home away from home. It is spotlessly clean, the breakfasts were delicious, the landscaping was beautiful and the pool was a welcome oasis from the heat of the beach. We loved the walkable location to restaurants. We did need our car to get to the grocery store though. The free standing bungalows suit a family of 4 perfectly however my youngest daughter and mother were not comfortable using the staircase. No problem - there are 2 beds on the first floor as well as a full bathroom.

This place was perfect for our family. It's inviting, relaxing and I get the sense that it is a true labor of love from its owners. We have highly recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAWondering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We can't compare Otro Lado to other places in Santa Teresa because we haven't stayed anywhere else there to offer up comparisons so this will be general commentary and feedback.

Our room was 2 story: 2 single beds downstairs with a kitchenette, bathroom and indoor/outdoor shower. Up a narrow, handmade spiral staircase is the master bedroom with a balcony overlooking the pool and a bath/shower. Outside, a porch with chairs, table and 2 hammocks. Very quite and friendly. Decor is sort of a blend between Sante Fe, NM, and Hawaii. Most of the interior was carefully handcrafted - from the sinks and showers to the stairs and bamboo bathroom doors. Subtle mystic (Hindu) undertones. Be forewarned: there's parking space for only 2 vehicles for the whole establishment so we were lucky only 2 of us guests had vehicles.

We only ate breakfast there once - need to work around the Yoga class schedule in the same space from 7-8am. It was on par with other places we ate. Other good eating establishments are within walking distance.

A 5 minute walk to the beach. You'll pass a place to rent boards if so inclined. Located on the far end of the drag through town so it's past most of the traffic area.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayhawk56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2010

I just returned from spending 20 days at Otro Lado...It exceeded all my expectations. I traveled with a group of 12 women and thought it might be tricky to satisfy so many different people and tastes but everyone loved it there. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The food is amazing, always fresh, as good as any four star restaurant in NYC. (don't miss out on the croissants....we all wanted the recipe.) The houses are spacious, always kept clean, air conditioned, with fridge and kitchenette in case you want to prepare a snack for yourself. And one of my favorite parts was that each house had its own balcony, a sitting area outside and a couple of hammocks...some good naps were had on those. The beach is nearby, the pool was the cleanest pool I've seen without the overwhelming smell of chlorine. Really I just can't say enough good things about the service, accommodations and food. But best of all was the relaxed, welcoming atmosphere, the feeling of being home away from home and looking forward to returning there after each adventure on the beach or jungle. I plan on returning regularly.....I feel like i've found such a treasure.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HealthnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, MT
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2010

this is the second time we stayed at Otro Lado and we couldn;t have had a better vacation there. From the clean and private cabinas, the fact that there are only FOUR units (which means private, quiet pool time), to the amazing food that Baggi and Nico cook, the Otro Lado should be your preferred place to stay. Steps from the beach and other fantastic restaurants, the Otro Lado is the best! Also, for another fabulous meal, try Platinta, right in front of Otro Lado. Their tenderloin is amazing!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby1Missoula_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pisa
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2010

to few footsteps from the sea, a beautiful couple of Italian, manages a very beautiful reserved small resort...their gentleness and culinary prelibatezze will make you pass family moments, also when you pay the account.the rooms are solar as the restaurant, it is not the usual italian style, very more esoteric and exotic, the atmosphere is really genuine as the food of the Selvaggia...I recommend the salads and the sweets, even if I don't like they..the dog and cats are bellissimi.
happy waves peace and joy

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
555 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Property: Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Address: North of Soccer Field Santa Teresa 200 Mt, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing