We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kickin back at Shaka”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shaka Beach Retreat
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Carbondale, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kickin back at Shaka”
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Just got back from a week at Shaka Surf Camp. Super chill with friendly staff. The food prepared by Gretle was amazing. Some of the best food I have had in Costa Rica. The accomodations were super clean and comfortable. I liked Shaka because it was a bit out of town and was nesttled in the lush jungle. The walk to the beach is short and the waves are uncrowded. We got at least head high surf every day we were there. Great surf vacation spot!

  • Liked — Close to uncrowded surf
  • Disliked — No internet/phone service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank waverider79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
31
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

I'm in a wheelchair and Shaka is the only surf camp I have ever been to outside of the US that has put such a high degree of detail into addressing wheelchair accessibility...Every one who works there was so attentive and helpful when it came to making sure I was having a great time!...The beach was literally in the camps back yard, the surf was fantastic and best of all, was almost completely empty! I'd highly recommend it to anyone, especially those who are in a chair and want to experience the real Costa Rica and not the tourist traps!

  • Liked — The accessibility and location
  • Disliked — nothing...
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Wheels831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

I spent my spring break 2008 at Shaka Surf Camp in the company of old friends and new friends in the form of the staff at Shaka. We were about the first guests at the camp, and were welcomed as family by Greg & Greta, Frank, and Chris & Co.
Away from internet and cellphones, attuned to the rhythm of the tides, eating simple, delicious food, and surfing my heart out, I sloughed off the stress of living in the US and got the quietude to listen to my body, stretch, and sweat, be salty, nap in a hammock. I got patient, kind, and expert surf instruction from the staff, and have been surfing on my own at home ever since.
Shaka provided a genuine vacation at a fair price, so that my experience and interactions there did not feel commercialized, and I had a spiritual week. I will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — Simple and clean.
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DowntownBrownLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

One of my best vacations I ever had was spending time at the surf camp. I had not surfed in a long time. It was great to get back on a board again.This place gives you the opportunity to start out easy and work your way up to bigger waves.One of my favorite things to do was quad riding from beach to beach. Within 30 minutes you can be at your next destination. You can have lunch or drink a beer at the local cantina on the beach. I would recommend that you go to the beach at night to watch the sunset. The beach is not crowded at all, very peaceful place to hang out. Sometimes I would not see anyone, it was like I had my own beach. At night I would just hang out on a hammock listening to music. Now days I like to have everything set for me. I do not like it when I have to get dressed & go find place to eat. For me that is a waste of my time. I like to relax & enjoy my vacation. There at the Shaka surf camp they do all the work for you. They are the friendliest group I have ever met. I can't wait to get back down there. I know you will enjoy your trip, I did!!! Thom

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Thom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfguy808
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

i recently visited the shaka surf camp in costa rica last month. The experience was great!! good waves in a laid back and quiet town with helpful atentive staff members and surf instructors. I highly recomend this surf camp to anyone that wants to distance themselves from a tourist trap surf town.

  • Liked — the property is very nice
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank surfguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

I was told to try surfing at this beach when I stumbled on Shaka Surf Camp. I am a beginner and took a surf lesson from Greg. He was very helpful and gave me lots of good tips. I even stood up for the first time!!! I wish that I had known about the cabinas earlier, because I would have loved to stay here. The cabinas are really cute and there is a huge open air rancho with a full kitchen for dining and socializing. I imagine this place will be busy once the word gets out, as they are the only cabinas near this beautiful beach.

  • Liked — Close to a quiet beach, good for learning to surf.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CaliCoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
552 reviews
11.9 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
195 reviews
2.3 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
325 reviews
3.3 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaka Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaka Beach Retreat

Property: Shaka Beach Retreat
Address: Norte de Escuela 200 M | Village of Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 minutes North of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa, is the highly desirable neighbourhood of "Playa Hermosa." Shaka Beach Retreat is a jungle haven offering private villas nestled amongst the tropical surroundings. A short walk leads to one of the most beautiful quiet beaches in the heart of Hermosa's "Surf Zone". Perfect for swimming, relaxing on the sand, and surfing of all levels. Join us for our popular Surf and Yoga packages to experience a true piece of paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shaka Beach Retreat Hotel Santa Teresa
Shaka Surf Camp Hotel
Shaka Surf Camp Santa Teresa
Shaka Beach Retreat Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing