We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shaka Beach Retreat
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Villas Hermosas(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florblanca Resort(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Palm Villas(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Vista Villas(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
220
19
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
19
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf instructorschef joseother guestscosta ricapizza nightlearn howwalks of lifegreat surfmeal timescan't wait to go backbigger waveswhole groupzip liningsecond weeklife changingwhite waterpura vida
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Best vacation ever! Incredible location next to Playa Hermosa. Staff is outstanding. Very comfortable rooms with A/C and WiFi. Meals were fantastic! Yoga, quad tour and surf lessons are top notch. Playa Hermosa, with it's great and consistent surf, is literally steps away from Shaka. I'm definitely coming back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Get away from crowds, noise and the pressures of everyday life at this amazing retreat on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica! This place is all about chill! Beautiful cabinas, great fresh food and conviviality served in the community area. What better way to spend a day than to wake up, grab some good Costa Rican coffee and a surf board and head to the beach for a surf lesson; after a couple of hours catching some waves, head back for a healthy, refreshing breakfast and hang out in a hammock with a good book. Later in the afternoon, wander down to the yoga platform for a class! Get your prana on while listening to the sounds of jungle birds and monkeys. This place is one of the best kept secrets around!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank challengeaspentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We didn't stay on the property but we took 3 days of surf lessons from the team at Shaka (Mike, Chris, Max). Their instruction was outstanding. They successfully took me and my sons from "beginner" level to the point where we could paddle out for the larger waves.

I highly recommend the team at Shaka for surf lessons

Oh, and by the way, the beach (Playa Hermosa) is phenomenal. Not only is it beautiful but the waves provide enough variety to satisfy the beginner and the advanced surfer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank travelfam201126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our stay at Shaka was exceptional in every way. Our disabled daughters had no trouble with access and we found the day to day service to kind, personal and thorough. The rooms, food and activities were excellent and the beaches and waves were perfect! Can't say enough about Shaka - except that everyone should go - more than once:)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dwaitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Shaka was great, from the private rooms to hanging out with everyone in the rancho. There is everything you need for a relaxing and adventurous vacation. Megan the yoga teacher is by far the best and will give you a good butt kicking or help you to relax and stretch out after a day of surfing. Brent and moe are a great team and really love to teach people to surf! The food every morning and night is amazing, he really knows what is doing from his homemade salad dressing to the best tuna I've had cooked for me in my life! Maria and Carlos really help to keep the place running and looking great! I will be back again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sierra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews