We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to come back to. For sure.”
Review of Fuego Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fuego Lodge
Ranked #1 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A place to come back to. For sure.”
Reviewed 27 April 2011

After 2 weeks of traveling all over Costa Rica, we got to "Fuego Lodge" in Santa Teresa.
and we stayed there for 12 nights... we just couldn't leave this place!!!
The owners are an young amazing couple, they helped us with everything - from driving instructions, to restaurants recommendations & surf lessons.
The location is great, 5 minutes walk from Santa's amazing beach. We stayed in the Penthouse, which is fully-equipped with new AC, kitchen, TV (with million channels), dreamy balcony with wild view, and 2 comfortable double beds! The apartment is full of light & well
WiFi connection - the fastest I had in all Costa Rica, and I have to mention the perfect pool, which became our "office" during our staying :) After staying in 7 different hotels, Fuego Lodge is by far the best we had in all Costa Rica.
Don't miss it!!
Boaz

Room Tip: Ask if the Penthouse is available..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Boazc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
67
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

this is a real gem in Santa Teresa. Great rooms, clean and cosy, with tv, ac, hot shower and everything you can think of, the pool is perfect to pass day after day in, and the owners are amazing people. I stayed for 5 nights, didn't want to leave and since then sent all my friends to stay there and everyone says there is nothing like it!

Can't want to come back again!

[--]

Room Tip: The suite is amazing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adida8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tofino
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

The Fuego was the absolute perfect place to chillout.
You can party down the street and stroll back to the most peaceful setting on the edge of the jungle with monkeys howling in the background.
Barbara and Itae (ee-tie) were the perfect hosts and the place was great. Great beds, AC, pool, and warm showers. Your belongings are safe in your room and your car/ATV is safe in the yard and this can be important in Costa Rica.
Santa Teresa doesn't really have a downtown it is a few kms of 1 street with accommodations, restaurants and surf shops scattered along the way. It is a short walk from Fuego to all of these. 4 mins to one of the areas best beach breaks, 2 mins to my favorite casado restaurant on the whole peninsula, 2 mins to the grocery store and 1.5 min walk to a great surf shop.
Barbara and Itae were incredibly helpful when renting an ATV, surfboard, taxis, dinner recommendations and so on and so on.
Completely relaxing and memorable thanks to the owners who are young and have great energy.
I can't wait to come back and will be recommending Fuego to every Costa-bound surfer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2011

If you're like me, you've been sitting there, pouring through tons of reviews and wondering how you're going to decide. You're probably really focused, maybe even a little stressed and tense cause you absolutely have to make the right decison on where to stay. Right? You only have a a precious amount of time off, and you want it to be perfect. Well congratulations you found the place you're gonna be staying.

My buddy and I arrived in Santa Teresa on Dec 29, planning to stay at Fuego for 3 nights. .....So 17 nights later....we were still at Fuego. Barbara and Itay...well, just like all the other reviews say, are the best. Somehow, wothout knowing it, they cast a wonderful little spell and you feel totally at ease. They are simply themselves.....such good natured and kind people.

The rooms are great. Very clean and well appointed. We stayed in the apartment on the 3rd floor. I fealt like I was in my apartment at home, except I wasn't. I was 5 minutes walk from a spectacular beach and even closer to a ton of great restaurants. I was on the edge of the junge. Surrounded by the sounds of life. I was waking up to parakeets and eating mangoes off the tree.....and on and on and on.....

I could go on and on, but I think you get the picture. Oh, and if you're lucky, you might be able to book Itay for a surf lesson.

Pura Vida indeed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Not a hostel this is for couples and familys and the surfer with more than a quarter in his pocket. This was my best nights sleep in my whole trip to CR they have a great pool area and the staff barbara and Etiah are the coolest people ever. They were so helpful on our trip and made it for us to. She went out of our way to get us a room at another spot and then so we could come back and stay with her for new years. this was the hardest time of the year to find a place in santa teresa. but we stumbled on this one last minute and it was amazing go here and stay for more than a week your stupid not to.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed at the Fuego Lodge (Orquidea) for a couple of weeks in Nov 2010. We actually stayed in all 3 types of accommodations and loved every minute of our stay. We started in the new Cottages and liked the modern design of them. They have cool polished concrete floors, A/C, lots of natural light, very nice beds (not the usual when traveling in CR), tall ceilings and a fantastic bright tiled bathroom. We then stayed in one of the 2 story Apartments and again it was a great space. They have lots of room with a sweet little kitchen, dining area, A/C, big couch and TV and a private bedroom upstairs with a really nice deck. This room was great because we had some guests visit while we were there and it still allows for some privacy from the bedroom. For our last few nights we stayed in the Penthouse and what a way to wrap up our stay! The layout is basically one huge room with a bathroom. The natural light is very bright, great little kitchen, A/C, comfy bed and super sweet deck with a view (great sunsets!). We really liked the modern designs at the Fuego and it’s a nice change from the usual accommodations around CR. We slept in VERY comfortable beds, with A/C, and no mosquitoes (some of our other friends staying at other places were not so lucky). We enjoyed the location which is off of the main road just enough to be safe, secure, quiet and free of dust but it’s just a short walk to the grocery store, restaurants and the beach. The pool is awesome and looks cool at night with the lights on. It has a sweet outdoor shower and nice furniture surrounding it. We thought Barb and Itay were great and offered us just the right amount of helpfulness and privacy. We highly recommend the Fuego and would come back to stay in a heartbeat. Thanks so much!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montanalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We had been travelling around Costa Rica for two weeks when we arrived at the Fuego lodge for a week of relaxing and surfing. We were amazed how beautiful it was. Gorgeous suites, lovely pool to relax in after surfing or to sit by in the evening and Barbara and her husband were really nice and helpfull the whole stay. If you are going to Santa Teresa, this is the place to stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisling-JanWillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 26 in Santa Teresa
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuego Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuego Lodge

Property: Fuego Lodge
Address: North from the soccer field 100 m | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica (Formerly Orquidea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fuego Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuego lodge, is a family-owned business.We offer 6 units, One and Two-bedroom apartments, a Penthouse or Honeymooners Suite, and 3 Pool Front Suites for up to 4 persons each.All have AC, private bathroom with hot water, free Wi-Fi, Fridge, safe & Coffee Maker. Some also have kitchen and Satellite TV, phone, and daily cleaning service and fresh towels are included in all arrangements.We are located in Santa Teresa, about 1.5 miles from Mal Pais’ main cross road, inside a gated property, on a private and quiet location, off the street yet in the middle of everything, 5 minutes walk from groceries stores, bakery, pizza places, 7-8 restaurants, yoga centers, and with beach access only 500ft from here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fuego Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuego Hotel Santa Teresa
Fuego Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing