We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you so much !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed from sunday 13 until saturday 19.
Extremely friendly personal. Bárbara, Martin, Julia and Dragon. Thank you so much for making me have such an excellent holiday.
Excellent wifi connection. Very calm atmosphere. Definitely not a party place, but still a hotel where you are able to meet people and go out, while respecting the rest of the guests by not disturbing their hours of sleeping. I felt always safe in the hostel and I had the chance of meeting wonderful people from europe and locals. Overall I feel absolutely recharged after this one week holiday in Santa Teresa(what an amazing town). I am hoping that I will be able to visit again !
Much love and gratefulness

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi There! Thank you for spreading the voice about Cuesta Arriba!. We are happy to know that you had a good time! We hope to see you again in the future! Until then...enjoy the ride!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cheers
Barbara and Martin
Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

I had a great stay at Cuesta Arriba! I spend three weeks at this hotel and I enjoyed my whole stay. Met lots of good people and enjoyede the calm vibe at this end of the village. The rooms were very clean and Martin, Barbara and Julia were always helpfull if I a had any questions. I spend all my nights in the big dorm and people were respectfull and friendly all the time. It is not a party-hotel, its more a surfers hotel for people who like to surf, socialize and have a beer in the sunset.Í will be back sooner or later. Gracias amigos y pura vida!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raggaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hola Rasmus! Thank you for the nice review. It was nice to have you in the house. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stayed here!!! You can be sure we'll be here for your next visit!!! We love what we do and we'll keep doing for ever (if we can)! Thank you again!
Cheers

Barbara and Martin
Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I couldn't have been happier with my stay at Cuesta Arriba!! I was there for nearly three weeks and didn't want to leave. It was a relaxing chilled out environment and I met so many other lovely people there. Everything is kept so clean from the facilities, rooms to the pool it was great. Barbara and Martin the owners were really lovely and Julia who works there was awesome!! She was always so friendly and helpful and it was really nice having her there and chatting, she helped make my experience there really special!!!
The beach is just across the road and everything you need is around!!
Thanks for a great time guys....Miss you all and lovely Santa Teresa!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you Renee!!! Thank you for such a nice review. We are glad to hear that you had a good time here with us! and that you met a lot of nice people...we hope to see you again one day. Keep up with the nice vibe and enjoy the ride while it last!!!
Cheers
Barbara and Martin
Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hostel was fine: a very nice spot, good room, people were cool, we loved their two dogs... but, a quick warning about a couple of scams they run:

NEVER pay for your room in colonès as it costs more than what they quote in dollars. It cost us an extra $7 per night to pay in the local currency (!). They invent their own exchange rate, which was higher than any we encountered anywhere else, and charge you according to this. When we arrived they just charged us the extra cash without an explanation of why, or mentioning that dollars would cost less. If I hadn't worked out the difference in price and approached them about it they would never have told us. Make sure you have dollars on you when checking in.

Also, don't book an excursion / trip / taxi with them. We paid $45 for a taxi fare that would usually be $30-$35 because the owner booked it. We found out from the driver that when the owner books a taxi, he charges the taxi $10 for getting them the business, and this then gets passed onto you.I imagine he does the same thing with any trips, hire, rentals...etc. Always book your trips through other places, or the companies directly.

Other than that, it's a really nice place to stay. Stay there by all means, just be careful of the scams!

Room Tip: Rooms next to the pool were great. There's a bathroom shared between two rooms and it's a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuestaarriba, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you Trip Advisor for giving us the opportunity to refute such a bunch of lies from this reviewer. We have been in business for more than 10 years and have never been called such a thing. It is embarrassing to know that one of our guests thinks that we run scams! Needless to say, how offended we felt when reading this review.
First we need to say that we show our prices in US dollars everywhere we advertise our establishment. We clearly state at the time of booking that our rates are in USD paid upon arrival. This guest showed up and decided to pay his reservation balance in Colones and therefore the exchange of the day was applied for the transaction. Our exchange rate is updated daily with the Banco Nacional posts. The value of the local currency changes every day, we understand if someone can get confused and think that the room costs more or less depending on the exchange but to say “that we run a scam” that is a whole different story. To explain this better, the local currency “colones” looses value everyday against the US dollar. So if at the beginning of your trip you bought colones at one price then more than likely by the end of your trip these colones are worth less than what you bought them for, therefore, you will end up paying more colones even though the price in dollars is still the same. But why blame us for the Costarican Economy?
How can this reviewer say that he paid $7usd extra per day and never complaint to us about it? You know why? Because it is not true. If he would have mentioned his confusion to us we would have gladly explained how the exchange works and showed him that he never paid that extra money.
When booking activities, taxis or shuttles we can only say that there is a flat rate in town depending on your destination or activity. Needles to say, the hospitality industry relies on rates, commissions and tips, to think that we run scams it is absurd. We can make arrangements for our guests because that is what we do, we provide service. However, if you believe that you can get it cheaper down the road you are more than welcomed to do so. Just keep in mind that quality, safety and experience pays off at the end and that is what we want to pass on to our guests. We want our guests to have a nice experience with no inconveniences so they can recommend us to their friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Really nice place and also good value for money.
We stayed in a dorm room which was clean and spacious and only a few hundred metres from the beach. the kitchen and pool area were very well maintained. Although the bathoom was dingy and had to be shared by 3 dorms.
The only problem we found was that the majority of the good restaurants were a 2/3 kilometre walk away which resulted in us paying a lot for taxis especially in the evenings as the roads were pretty busy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnaby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hola Barnaby, Thank you for your review. We are very happy to know that you liked our facilities so much! But, we think you missed seeing our second shared bathroom though. We never mislead you in any way when you made your booking through HW. It is stated clearly on their webpage that we have an 8-bed dorm with shared bathroom. We work really hard to keep everything nice, clean and organized for our guests to enjoy! We are sorry that you had friends in a different town (Mal Pais) while you were staying with us in Santa Teresa and therefore you had to spend more time there instead of getting to know our town. We are located just 2 blocks from Santa Teresa’s centre and we are surrounded by many restaurants and coffee shops that offer not only local Costa Rican food but also traditional food from Argentina, Italy, France, Spain, Chile, Germany, Israel etc. We actually have more food options in our town than Mal Pais. It is a shame that you didn’t ask us for restaurant recommendations and instead you jumped in a taxi. The only thing we are missing in Santa Teresa is a Bank and a pharmacy but for that…you don’t need to go to Mal Pais every day! Do you? Our location is great! Actually it is very hard to match. We believe it was your mistake when booking in Santa Teresa when you really wanted to be with your friends in Mal Pais. We don’t think is fair to rate our hotel based on your dining experiences and poor research skills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed in Cuesta Arriba for two weeks. I absolutely loved this place. It's near to the beach, great restaurants and the people who worked at the hostel are very helpful. If you are an alone traveler this is the place to be. You will never be alone (unless you want to). The pool is very nice and clean and the rooms as well!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christabelpalacios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience. We are happy to know that you had a good time with us! Hope to see you next year!!!
Cheers

Barbara & Martin
Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

If you want to chill & surf, this is the perfect place. Just 200m from the beach's best surf spot and with a swimming pool to relax, its a really good price compared for what others hotels offer. The owners are mindful and eager to help for anything. Just don't expect this to be a party place, as 11pm is quiet time and you're expected to respect this, try the nearby restaurant's, pubs instead for awesome partying!

I traveled throughout Costa Rica for 3 weeks, and for me this was paradise. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dspiniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your nice review!!! We apreciate that you took some time to spread the voice about Cuesta Arriba!!! We are glad to hear the you had a good time here and hopefully we'll see you next year!!!
Cheers

Barbara and Martin
Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 27 in Santa Teresa
68 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
596 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Buenos Aires
#4 of 27 in Santa Teresa
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Selina Santa Teresa
Selina Santa Teresa
#2 of 62 in Santa Teresa
119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
0.4 mi away
Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante
Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante
#9 of 62 in Santa Teresa
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuesta Arriba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Address: 150 meters North From La Lora Amarilla, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £22 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cuesta Arriba Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial-style hotel surrounded by trees and tropical gardens with unique affordable rooms. The hotel features a communal kitchen,resting areas, hammocks and a sparkling pool in the landscaped garden. Complimentary coffee served at 8AM, free parking and Wireless is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Cuesta Arriba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuesta Arriba Bed And Breakfast Hostel
Cuesta Arriba Hotel Santa Teresa
Cuesta Arriba Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing