We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,017
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Teresa(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa MarBella(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florblanca Resort(Santa Teresa)
US$452
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Cielo(Santa Teresa)
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
179
49
18
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
49
18
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomcosta ricasocial placenorthern partshared kitchenfree breakfastbig fridgeclean kitchenswimming poolquiet locationgreat surfgreat kitchencommon areasa great staysurf breakgrocery storerooms are spacious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Just got back from yet another trip to Santa Teresa and can't say enough about Barbara and Martin at Cuesta. The rooms are clean and spacious for a hostel accommodation, had a good sized communal kitchen, a great common room where you can enjoy yoga in the morning with a great instructor or chill watching a movie in the evenings.
I've traveled a lot and stayed many places and I would not hesitate to go straight back here on my next trip in.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Just got back from our Costa Rica/Nicaragua trip and Cuesta Arriba ranked among the highlights of our trip. The owners were very helpful and took their jobs seriously. The pool area is a nice touch and a great place to relax in the shade when the mid-day sun becomes a bit too much. The previous reviewer must have stayed in the same room as us because we too had a damp smell in our room, but it wasn't really a big deal for us. Not too strong, just there, but could be ignored. I agree that hammocks in front of the rooms would be nice. But all in all this is a very good place to stay in Santa Teresa. If I ever return to the town I won't waste any time looking for anyplace else to stay as I know I will be happy at Cuesta Arriba.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

My girlfriend and I spent 4 fantastic days enjoying St Teresa while staying at Cuesta Arriba – just off Santa Teresa beach. The location is perfect for surfers and for anyone who appreciates beautiful sandy beaches. On our first night we stayed in a private double room with A/C and shared bathroom, for our following three nights we stayed in a double room with a private bathroom and no A/C – during our stay (early Feb) we didn’t need the A/C at all, the rooms were perfectly comfortable without. Our rooms were clean, spacious and cool – and very nicely priced. Comfy bed.
(They also offer beds in dorm rooms – four beds to a room, I think.)
There are shared kitchen facilities at Cuesta Arriba, with coffee and toast provided for guests every morning. A Tico restaurant 30 yards up the road provides delicious and cheap food, and there are plenty of restaurants to choose from nearby.
Cuesta Arriba is run by Martin and Barbara, a truly lovely couple who helped us out with everything we needed; including advice on where to eat, providing surf equipment, booking excursions and booking travel to our next destination. They were brilliant.
One of our favourite features of Cuesta Arriba was the pool. It was somehow lovely and cool all day long, both in the water and at poolside. A welcome respite after time spent surfing.
The atmosphere when we stayed was really great. The guests we met were fun, chatty, all around decent. Everyone respected each other and the few rules in place (reasonable noise levels, quiet after 11pm, etc.).
Santa Teresa is lovely. There is no tourist trap feel, it’s just lovely.
Go to Santa Teresa if you’re in Costa Rica. Stay in Cuesta Arriba if you can.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimeForSumtingNu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I've been thoroughly impressed by all aspects of Cuesta Arriba. Barbara and Martin (and Helen) have been more than helpful, assisting with travel planning and all manner of bizarre requests. The hostel itself is clean, quiet, friendly and set in beautiful grounds-the swimming pool is a definate highlight. Having a guest fridge and kitchen is great for self catering and socialising with other guests. With the beach a short 2 min walk through the bush, its everything you need from quality, value accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyj75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We have been to Costa Rica 4 times in the past 6 years and have spent a long time travelling round. For this trip we chose to stay the whole duration in the favourite place we found whilst travelling round - Cuesta Arriba in Santa Teresa.
The setting is beautiful and they've added a pool since our last visit which is a wonderful addition to their already gorgeous garden area. The owners are super helpful and give great advice to travellers visiting them. They provide surf lessons and yoga at the hotel and they have a massive open plan kitchen which makes it easy to meet other travellers. Free wifi and free DVD hire and other touches make all the difference in this place where the service is exceptional. It is spotlessly clean and has everything you coiuld need with a choice of private room or comfy dorm rooms.
They have howler monkeys in the trees overlooking the pool and the position of this hotel makes it the pick of accomodation in Santa Teresa (we have stayed in many other offerings before discovering this gem!) It is in the quieter end of town, and directly opposite the beach access route, leading to a stunning beach - great for surfing.
It has a supermarket really close and a great tico restaurant for great cheap seafood.
We fell in love with Cuesta Arriba and spent a whole month there at the start of this year. We would whole heartedly recommend it to everyone travelling in this area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews