We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“....peeeeerfecto”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mariposa Vacation Homes
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“....peeeeerfecto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Honestly this the first time I've ever been bothered to review anything - My wife and 2 sons (4 & 6) have just returned from a very special week at casa iguana.
The house was perfect for us - very peaceful, tasteful, simple and well thought out. Location and privacy are superb. Marta the very cool Concierge was excellent and helped make the trip nice and easy.
Kids had a fantastic time and the surprise pool got a lot of use.
Highly recommend Santa Teresa (this was second visit) and highly recommend Mariposa.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you Matt ! Pleasure having you. Please come back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
104
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
215 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This review is WAY overdue (sorry Stephan)!
Let me start of by saying that all communications with Stephan before our travels were great! The Owner, Stephan, was easy to reach and quick to answers our questions. The reservation process was also simple and easy.
We rented Casa Iguana for 12 nights. The home and property was very well kept. The house itself was the perfect size for myself, husband and our 10 year old. Everything was there that we required or needed- even a blender to make smoothies with the fresh bananas and star fruit we picked! The grocery store was a 5 minute walk out the front gate- super convenient.
The walk to the beach was also a five minute walk. This walk took you to the side gate (with security lock) that opened to the public access walkway to the beach. It was perfect for my husband who wanted to run up and check the surf several times a day!
The wi-fi was actually TOO GOOD! We had fully expected to drop off the grid for two weeks! But, there it was, great wi-fi and the ability to make our Facebook friends jealous of the paradise we had found.
Marta, the property concierge, was friendly, funny and helpful when we had questions or needed to find someone to take us fishing. The cleaning clue did a great job on their every other day visits. And maintenance replied promptly to the minor issue we had.
We are hoping to return to the property...maybe bring friends and rent Casa Ying Yang!
Thanks again Stephan, Marta and Hector!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words ! Glad you enjoyed it. Please come back any time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week at Casa Pelicano on our honeymoon, and although my expectations were already high from the great pictures and descriptions, when you see how beautiful the house and gardens are in person, you will literally be blown away. The views of the garden from the living room and bedroom are stunning. There was not a single day that we didn't spend time sitting in a hammock or eating lunch out in the shade of the veranda surrounded by breathtaking beauty and incredible wildlife!! (Iguanas, squirrels, birds, great butterflies, and even monkeys!!) This was our first time visiting Costa Rica and Marta was there for us every step of the way. She had our transportation arranged, was there to greet us the second we arrived, and coordinated everything we wanted to do that week flawlessly. She knows the best and most reputable guides and instructors in the area. If you are feeling adventurous, there is so much to do, and very close by. Surfing, canopy tours, ATVing, fishing, we even saw whales! But be sure to leave yourself some time to just enjoy the gorgeous beachfront, its a super short walk from the gardens. Ana, the chef, is fantastic, friendly, and extremely accommodating (a dream for foodies like us). The staff keep the house and grounds immaculate. The town of Santa Teresa and near by Mal Pais are Have fantastic restaurants and shops. The locals are very friendly.

I really can't say enough about what an incredible place it is. Mariposa Vacation Homes, its staff, and the absolute beauty it has to offer, made this the trip, and the experience of a lifetime for us. YOU WILL BE BLOWN AWAY!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Sincerest Thanks ! Please come back again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

What a wonderful place! We had 14 days in paradise. Will never forget Casa Ying Yang, Santa Teresa. Perfect location and service at very high level. The house was of very high quality and had everything we Northerners need in a tropical environment. Thanks to Marta who arranged everything we wanted with a smile. Pura Vida see you soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pereror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Many Thanks ! Hope you return soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemsedal, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in Casa Ying Yang for 14 days, and had the most perfect vacation ever. The house was clean, modern and with all necessary equipment for a comfortable stay, even for pale, cold Norwegians. The outdoor area is even more amazing. The pool and boblebath was a life saver in the warm climate. We didnt spend any time indoor, exept when sleeping. The garden, with its locals (Iguanas, squrrils, butterflies and so on, was beautiful. Short walk down to the beach, where we stareted each day with a long walk and run before the sun got to hot. We had the breakfast-pack, so after the morning jogg, breakfast was served and then we where off to the beach for surfing, fishing at Bahia rica fishing, conopying or just exploring the area. Best vacation ever! And a big thanks to Marta for excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefan c, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in Casa Iguana and I fully intend to keep going back.

The location is first class - the private entry makes getting to the beach breeze, and there are several great restaurants a few minutes walk down the road as well as a supermarket a stones throw away.

The staff are fantastic, friendly and helpful.

Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefan c, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Muchas gracias ! You're in for a nice surprise next visit with the new pool ! Hope to see you soon. Thanks again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

To sum up Mariposa in one word would be AMAZING! I have stayed with Mariposa for three straight years and each year is better than the last. The property is located at the nicest point of the most breathtaking beach in Costa Rica, which also happens to be one of the best local surf spots, so win win! Taking a few shorts steps from the home you will be able to witness some of the most beautiful sunsets this world has to offer! The property has its own private beach access and is conveniently located for travelers with or without a rental car. A supermarket is located across the street and some of the best restaurants in town are located within walking distance.

Mariposa has multiple houses to choose from so most budgets can be accommodated. The property is well maintained and the houses are separated by beautiful dense tropical landscaping. You won’t even notice that neighbors are around. Each home offers its own private patio surrounded by the sounds of nature and the ocean. When imagining a tropical retreat on the beach Mariposa would be a location most people will have envisioned.

The accommodations of Mariposa are all A+! The homes offer a complete setup, full kitchen, bedrooms, living room, beautiful outdoor patio area with a hammock, and you will feel as if you are in a second home and not a rental property.
I would HIGHLY recommend Mariposa to ANYONE that asks and I inform all friends to stay at the location when visiting Costa Rica, so far everyone I have sent is in agreement!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefan c, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much Jeff. Looking forward to your next visit. You're gonna luv the new pool in Casa Iguana ! Be well. Thanks again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.2 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Vacation Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Vacation Homes

Property: Mariposa Vacation Homes
Address: 1.3 Km North of the Soccer Field in Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 6153, Costa Rica (Formerly Casas Pura Vida)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariposa Private Beach homes began as little more than a dream and a vacant parcel of land in 2003. Our mission is to offer private, well built, clean and comfortable houses with everything necessary to enjoy quality vacation time with your family and friends. This is an ongoing project, and every year we continue to make improvements to our infrastructure, houses and gardens. We are committed to becoming as sustainable and community friendly as possible. Our employees are 100% local (born and raised) help and we use local products and suppliers whenever possible. We are also founding members of our neighborhood association, know as AVSTN for it’s Spanish acronym, volunteer at the local public school and have served on the board of directors of the local water board and AVSTN. Mariposa Private Beach Home’s commitment to improve the quality of life of our employees and growing town extends beyond our gates, as we are involved in various community projects as the recycle program, monthly beach clean-ups, education programs in the public school, public water, roads and security issues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mariposa Vacation Homes Hotel Santa Teresa
Mariposa Vacation Homes Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing