We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Pelicano”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mariposa Vacation Homes
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
1 review
“Casa Pelicano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My family recently stayed in the Casa Pelicano house at the Mariposa Vacation Homes. We had a wonderful experience, the house was so comfortable, clean and private. The ground were beautiful and so well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful in every way. We felt very safe and secure with their overnight security. The beach is only steps away, the surf and the sunset were amazing. The perfect family vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefan c, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, 7 September 2015
Thank you Alfred ! Hope to have you back again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
104
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed in Casa Iguana @ Mariposa in Santa Teresa on the first week of our Costa Rica journey. The house is very charming and met all our needs with only one exception. We are a party of 5, 3 guys and 2 girls with only one bathroom, but we made it work. Since we were on a family budget we didn't rent the bigger house but will consider it next time we go. Yes next time! We had a blast celebrating my husband's birthday and my son's 16th birthday (born on same day) in Santa Teresa. Our house was not right on the beach and there is a path that you take to get to the beach, but that wasn't a problem...it was like a 5 minute walk, 2 minute if you run it :-). Because we are an adventurous family, we broke up our day between walking to the beach to watch my son and husband surf, played sand soccer on the beach, back home to jump in the pool, and then doing some sort of day time activity. It seemed like we were on our own private beach since there were hardly anyone around which we loved all the privacy and family alone time. We zip lined one day, hiked Montezuma in Mal Pais, and my daughter's favorite, rode horses on the beach! Fifa World Cup was and is still going on as I type this review so needless to say it was an exciting time to be in Costa Rica! Marta, our concierge, was very professional and informative. She answered any questions that we had and guided us from the best tours to take to the best places to eat. Our family also felt safe at night as there was always a security guard on the grounds. Overall, the house was well equipped, the beaches pristine and beautiful, the ocean so blue and clear and most importantly for my birthday boys the surf went off! If you like to get away from it all and love adventure, then book this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Hbfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I really have to say that I never write reviews, but this time I will do it cause I felt in love again with the beauty of the North West Pacific of Costa Rica. We love our stay at Villa Mariposa and had an amazing time with some dear friends, my boyfriend and his parents..... all our conversations revolved around the beauty on this world, thanks to the amazing scenes this place has to offer. The sunset was a set in my memories just like a romantic movie set with amazing touches of litmus, blue, pinks and purple tones.....the sand was soft, almost white and welcoming.
The house has a nice porch with hammocks and chairs to seat out side and enjoy the nature, specially butterflies. Each room has his own ac unit which is always nice around noon. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook a nice breakfast with a table big enough to seat our group of 6 people.
The easy access to the beach make us go for quick walks mornings and afternoons... or the coffee shop that is just around the corner.
I do have to say that I was so entertained with this place that I do regret not jumping on a board and practice a bit of the body board I really love, cause those waves really look amazing and the water was warm and pleasant....... that only means that I need to visit again and pretty soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrettelSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have been all over Costa Rica and my stay at Mariposa was incredible. Stefan was a wonderful host, the property was everything you expect a tropical beachfront estate to be and it couldnt be more magical walking out on to the white sand beach. Definitely coming back and staying at Mariposa. This was a great place for family as the grounds were completely secure. Very clean and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our group of 10 friends spent a wonderful week at Casa Yin Yang. The house was amazing and we spent much of our time at the beach right in front of the house, in the pool, and enjoying meals together on the outdoor patio. Marta, the concierge, was an invaluable resource and a huge help with planning our transportation and activities during the week. The cleaning, maintenance and security staff were great and responsive as well.

This was my first experience with securing a vacation rental in another country and I was a little nervous about how it would actually turn out. However, Stefan and Marta made the process very easy. Don't hesitate to rent this great place!

Room Tip: All of the bedrooms were nice and the ACs worked well. The house is divided into two main parts, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was recently on vacation with some friends and stayed in Casa Yin Yang. The grounds are well kept, lots of wildlife to look at on the premises, and plenty of space to spread out (we were 10 people). The cleaning staff was friendly and accommodating, especially our concierge Marta, who was outgoing and very knowledgeable of activities in the area.

Beautiful destination if you're looking to unplug and bask in the beauty of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here 2 weeks last year and 10 days this April 2014. This gated house has everything.We have a big family so some of us stay in places close by and use this house to gather. Nice big kitchen with windows and doors that open out to the ocean surf. Huge stone patios with lots of tables and sitting around the pool area. The girls come every morning to keep everything clean and nice. Concierge Marta was their in a flash if anything came up that needed attention so very helpful.
We have been to the Santa Teresa area many times and this is our favorite house.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tetertotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.2 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Vacation Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Vacation Homes

Property: Mariposa Vacation Homes
Address: 1.3 Km North of the Soccer Field in Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 6153, Costa Rica (Formerly Casas Pura Vida)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariposa Private Beach homes began as little more than a dream and a vacant parcel of land in 2003. Our mission is to offer private, well built, clean and comfortable houses with everything necessary to enjoy quality vacation time with your family and friends. This is an ongoing project, and every year we continue to make improvements to our infrastructure, houses and gardens. We are committed to becoming as sustainable and community friendly as possible. Our employees are 100% local (born and raised) help and we use local products and suppliers whenever possible. We are also founding members of our neighborhood association, know as AVSTN for it’s Spanish acronym, volunteer at the local public school and have served on the board of directors of the local water board and AVSTN. Mariposa Private Beach Home’s commitment to improve the quality of life of our employees and growing town extends beyond our gates, as we are involved in various community projects as the recycle program, monthly beach clean-ups, education programs in the public school, public water, roads and security issues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mariposa Vacation Homes Hotel Santa Teresa
Mariposa Vacation Homes Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing