We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hotel experience of costa rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cabinas Calocita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabinas Calocita
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best hotel experience of costa rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Chris, the owner, was very mindful of our safety and always had someone at the hotel if he wasn't around (which he usually was). He was very friendly often making jokes with us and checking in to see how our stay was and if we needed anything. Anytime we needed advise on where to go or what to do his comments always proved correct and even saved us from a disaster or two. The hotel itself is set up from the street to avoid noise and dust and has beautiful flowers, an outdoor beach rinse-off shower, and is beautifully maintained. My room and bathroom were spacious and very clean. I slept very well there with both an overhead fan and room fan at my disposal. We had access to the kitchen (also very clean) if we needed it, but the hotel was so centrally located that we were able to walk a short ways to try the different restaurants each night. Probably the best part about the hotel is the close proximity to beach access as well as the surf shops.

I can't speak enough good words about the relaxing atmosphere the hotel provided. It is the perfect place to stay for people that want to spend the majority of the day venturing out to try new things but what a close and clean 'home base' to return to. This bargain hotel turned out to be a hidden gem. I would recommend it to any and everyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melmccaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
24
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed at Calocitas for 3 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms are spotless with hot showers and private bathrooms, and there's a gorgeous garden and very functional common kitchen. Christian, the owner, is super friendly and also quite entertaining - he takes great care of the place and constantly checked to ensure we were enjoying our stay. The location is perfect, set back a little from the main road to escape noise and dust, but still just 100m from the beach and very close to a bunch of restaurants, surf shops, grocery stores and the bus stop. We paid just $40 a night for a room for 3, which is extremely reasonable. The weather was hot while we were there, but the new fans effectively kept the rooms cool for us to sleep well. Would definitely recommend Calocitas as a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elenimarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

calocita cabinas is such a great little hotel with 7 quite big rooms and privat bathroom...really nice and clean! its got a shared kitchen, chill out area and a beautiful garden! the owner christian is very nice , welcoming and really helpful.
calocita is only a couple of minutes walk to the beach and surfbreak, and close to the supermarket! theres a lot of nice bars and restaurants around as well!
i ended up staying there for one months, so i can only recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank han-1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

The only thing that through us off about this place was the owner. When we arrived he was not there and only the cleaning lady who didn't speak english was there. When he did arrive and we started asking about things to do, transportation, restaurants, he really knew nothing and wasn't helpful at all.

Other than the owner the rooms were clean and big, but AC would have been nice.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thrillaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mal Pais, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Cabinas Calocita is a great little place in the heart of Playa Carmen (Mal Pais/Santa Teresa). It is ideally located, just a 3 minute walk to the beach & surf spots. Its also very close to the supermarkets, surfshops and restaurants! The place is really lovely, quiet, simple, clean and very well-kept with a pretty little garden in the center. The owner Christian is very welcoming, friendly and always helpful! Excellent value for money, I really recommend this hotel, its the perfect place to discover the area!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lil0u78_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

We were only planning on staying in santa teresa for two days, but thanks to this lovely hostel we decided to stay for a week. It was expecially the staff that made is feel wery welcome and like home.. The only negative thing were the lack of good fans, As it got very hot in the night. kitchen area big and easy to use.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heipadeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

Great location. Great price. Clean. Helpful owner. Safe. Only prob that the upstairs rooms were a little hot but better in the bottom rooms. The owner is planning on installing more fans for next year. You can hear the waves from here. Loved it! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blawclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Santa Teresa
Hotel Playa Santa Teresa
#20 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
#15 of 33 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
1.4 mi away
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
#3 of 62 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Calocita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Calocita

Property: Cabinas Calocita
Address: Main Street | 100m north of Super Ronny 1, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Calocita offers rooms with private bath and hot water. There are 5 double rooms, one triple room and one single room. We are a small quiet hotel which stands for quality even for the budget traveller. Modern, clean and comfortable beds are waiting for you here at Cabinas Calocita.Part of Cabinas Calocita is a nice common area and a well equipped shared kitchen. Precisely the shared kitchen is typical in Costa Rica for small hotels and the people love to be able to cook their own meals or just leave drinks in the fridge. The location couldn’t be better. Quiet and calm (secluded) but still central. Just 150m walking distance to the ocean and surf break, but still (50m) off the main road what helps you sleep better. And the grocery store is also just 100m away and several restaurants are in close walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabinas Calocita Hotel Santa Teresa
Cabinas Calocita Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing