We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect way to experience Santa Teresa!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canaima Chill House
Ranked #1 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

"The Chill House" perfectly describes the experience of staying here, and from the moment you check-in, you immediately feel as though you are in a relaxed state of mind.

The hospitality is top notch, and we absolutely felt totally taken care of throughout our stay. Juan Carlos and his staff truly know how to ensure that guests are enjoying themselves and finding the perfect balance between adventure and relaxation. He is a wonderful beginners surf instructor as well!

When you combine the activities (surfing, swimming, laying on the beach, ATV rental, ziplining, snorkeling, etc.) with the accommodation, as well as the food and feel of Santa Teresa, this is the ideal way to visit Costa Rica. Quite an accomplishment given the popular destination that Costa Rica is for tourists! Juan Carlos and team have the perfect formula.

We will absolutely back. Next time it will be for Surf Camp!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snakeregard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

everyone at this great spot was great. the rooms are lovely, well designed, and comfortable. each room is like a 5-star rugged but elegant private lux apartment/hotel room. the location in the woods a bit away from the main loud road is quiet and charming. monkeys in the trees. little doggies in the yard. great little pool. the owner, his girlfriend, and his staff were all super-lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natantu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Our expectations were truly high before we visited Santa Teresa and Canaima House. Juan Carlos and his outstanding staff easily exceeded our very high expectations. They assisted us with everything, they had great recommendations for our stay, they even arranged a hotel for our over night in San Jose so that we could make our flight the next morning. That hotel was also very comfortable. The Hotel is simple but has absolutely everything you need. The swinging beds were really cool to just relax on. The resident dogs, two german shepherds were really cool to have around. Howler monkeys visited in front of our room one afternoon, although you could hear them every day. The walk down to the beach to watch the stunning sunset every night was short and worth the five minute walk. The walk up the hill is pretty steep, we did end up renting a quad and I would highly recommend this as well. The quad rental place was close, recommended by Juan Carlos and inexpensive. It was an easy way to get to the top of the hill and around the area. If we could give the Chill House six stars we would, again, very, very pleased with everything there. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: The photos on the web site are very accurate. Use Juan Carlos to set up any of your adventures you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Our family of three had a fantastic week at The Canaima Chill House. Two features sets this hotel apart from many others we have stayed at; 1. Exceptional customer service. The owner Juan Carlos and his girlfriend, entire staff and two dogs are just the best. Extremely helpful in every way, with any need you might have. It made our entire stay so much more fun and easy. 2. The design of the hotel has a very high cool factor. Set high up in the canopy of trees, you really have the feeling of staying in a real tree house. It is a rustic hotel, where water pressure and temperature in the shower sometimes is temperamental, but we did not mind at all, since we were so well taken care of and everything else was great. Best beach and restaurants are very close, but we definitely agree with Juan Carlos in regards to a rental car is very much preferred.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in March and we loved this place.
Yes, there is a big hill that we had to walk up and down each day, as we did not have a car, but it was worth the effort, and you get some good exercise. You get over it quickly.
Rooms are very cool with a large deck that has a sitting area and a crazy awesome hanging bed. Inside you have a small kichen with everything you need to cook if you don`t want to go out, a fairly comfy bed on the main floor, and a loft with two single beds. The bathroom has a shower that looks outside (private enough, but there is a curtain if you need it). There is a safe in the room, but no ac, which isn`t so bad, and kind of adds to the whole experience. (You do have a fan, and we also brought one of the two that are in the loft down.)
There are a few common areas that are great for relaxing, especially a round couch on a platform above the pool. The pool is wonderful, and much needed most days. There are many beautiful birds, especially humming birds, flying around, and as an added bonus, there is a howler monkey that hangs around quite a bit.
The owner is very nice and helpful, as are the front desk guys. We hired the owner to take my son and husband surfing one day, they had fun, and he is all about safety.
Some good restaurants include Habaneros for great Mexican food, and beautiful sunsets, Zwart Cafe for breakfast, and amazing salads, and a good pizza place at Manala Resort down the road.
Aside from surfing and swimming at the beach (which is fun in the waves, and safe if you stay fairly close to shore), we rented ATVs and went to Montezuma Falls. This was a fun day, but you should be an experienced (ATV) driver.
This place was reasonably priced and I would highly recommend it.
A small warning about the DUSTY road that is Santa Teresa, you might want to wear your sunglasses to keep the dirt from getting in your eyes and a scarf over your mouth when driving ATVs or walking, much better to walk along the beach.
If you are interested, read reviews about Casa Luna in La Fortuna, where we stayed before this, and Condotel las Cascadas in Quepos, where we stayed after this.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaKO12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Such luxury for such a little price.

Beds comfy, grounds beautiful, balconys with swinging beds great too. Nice to have a kitchen.

Didn't struggle with the hill as we had a car, but we loved this place. Would return in a heartbeat. Would recommend to all.

Best place we stayed on our trip in CR.

Room Tip: Top floor room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImAlwaysOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Peaceful and relaxing lots of nooks for napping. Great staff who helped us plan our travels. Annoyingly didn't take cards for payment so we had a massive trek to the bank but generally top notch. Th shill is a killer especially after a long days surfing but it was really nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROMJOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Buenos Aires
#4 of 27 in Santa Teresa
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fuego Lodge
Fuego Lodge
#2 of 30 in Santa Teresa
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Boutique Hotel
Nautilus Boutique Hotel
#4 of 30 in Santa Teresa
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaima Chill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaima Chill House

Address: | Playa Santa Teresa, 400 metros al este del Selina Hotel, hacia el monte, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £55 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canaima Chill House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Eco Chic hotel" is a jungle oasis, only 500 meters away from one of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica.In Canaima Chill House, luxury is experienced in harmony with nature and simple sensations such as, relaxing on a bamboo hanging bed, listening to the amazing sounds of the jungle or chilling in our "pillow swimming pool".Sensations which are hard to explain, sensations which are simple to feel.- 4 Suites (for 2 people)- 4 suites-loft (up to 4 people)- Swimming Pool- Chill Deck- Outdoor Jacuzzi- WI-FI- Personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Canaima Chill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaima Chill House Hotel Santa Teresa
Canaima Chill House Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing