We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would go back in a heartbeat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canaima Chill House
Ranked #1 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Wow. We chose this hotel over a place down the hill and were very, very glad we did. You walk in and immediately start to feel relaxed. The hotel is, as every review says, up a steep hill. Do yourself a favor, if your trip is during rainy season, or you don't like to walk, rent an ATV. The mud is treacherous. All the staff at the hotel (Alec, Pedro, owner Juan) are extremely helpful when making reservations for excursions, ordering delivery, organizing cabs, etc. The maid cleaned our room exceptionally well without fail. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Chill House and highly recommend this no matter if your stay is for surfing or just to enjoy the culture of a laid-back town.

Some tips:
For sleeping - you're in Costa Rica. You will sweat. The mosquito net helps keep the cooler air in to an extent, but be prepared for very, very warm nights.
There is no bathroom door - interpret this as you will.
Utilize the deck and pool!
Rent an ATV and do some exploring - one of the coolest parts of the trip was the drive home from zip lining in Montezuma, truly an adventure!
The hanging bed on your terrace will be one of your favorite parts of the room.
Contrary to what Frommer's may have told you, DON'T DRINK THE TAP WATER.
Be prepared to not want to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MArbuco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

It's the second time I come to Santa Teresa and second time I spend time in Canaima house. I see a lot of changes, a lot of very very exciting improvements in the hotel. It just gets better every year ! The lounge area right next to the pool was my favorite spot there ! perfect to see the monkeys playing in the trees. The staff was a great help and very friendly. I traveled alone and felt like I was welcomed like a friend. The walls that separate the deck from one room to another really gives the illusion of a private apartment although we are in a hotel. I love the fact that all the clients understand the concept of this boutique hotel: tranquility is the key word. Everybody respect each other peace and quiet; just what I needed. Juan Carlos gave me 2 surf classes: so much fun ! He has so much patience ! I can't wait to come back !!!

Room Tip: rent a 4x4 car or a quad !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

As the title says, it was just magic! We stayed there for 10 days, and that was not enough. We want to go back! The place is so fantastic, with the jungel right outside and the laidback atmosphere. The room is amazing, it is clean and have beatifull details, very romantic. The common areas was also clean and very nice.The staff is very serviceorienteded and friendly, they helped us with everything. It is actually the first time I got that friendship feeling with hotel staff, and I think that is because they were geniun interrested in the place and the guests. We have read that some people have negative experience just because of the road up to the hotel, but we disagree. The road up takes 5-10 minutes from the amazing beach, that didnt bother us at all, we didnt have ATV's - that was not nescessery. And we were very glad for the location, it was quiet and we got the feeling that we lived side by side with the monkeys and jungel. We have to admit that we had read the rewievs before we came and was a bit afraid of the hill, but we are so glad we didnt listen to that, that was peanut. There were also good restaurants, smoothiebar, surfsshop, grocery store etc nearby. This is the place to stay if you are going to santa teresa. We will come back, thats for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The chill house is a beautifully designed place that feels very relaxing with friendly, helpful staff. The rooms are very large with their own kitchenette area that's good for making yourself breakfast to have an equally enormous balcony where you can choose to sit on the swinging bed, the breakfast bar or the 4 seater table. Or you could just run laps around it. The beds pretty comfy and comes with mosquito netting (effectively making it a 4 poster bed) with a fan inside the netting making it nice and cool to sleep at night. It also has a fancy shower that has one-way mirrored glass and at one point I was showering looking at a massive..... Iguana.

The pool area and communal deck also has a vast array of interesting seating such as swinging beds, 1 story high loungers or sunken seats in the decking. The pool is small but is good for a refreshing dip. It would have been good if they had a small bar or sold beer in the fridge at reception though.

The owner, Juan Carlos, and his team were very very friendly and helpful. My girlfriend and I went out for a surf lesson with Juan as well which was really good and we both managed to stand up. As others have mentioned it has a large hill but on 2 or 3 occasions Juan drove past and offered us a lift.

With regard to hill up to the chill house I wouldn't say it was that bad apart from how dusty it was. It occasionally made it a bit loose under foot and after you'd had a shower and got ready to go for dinner you would just get covered in dust again walking down the hill. Once at the bottom though you're very close to the beach and a few of the cafes and restaurants. If you didn't want to bother with this though they have a new takeaway service in Santa Teresa which offers takeaway for lost restaurants. One day me and my girlfriend couldn't be bothered to leave so ordered a delicious Lebanese takeaway, as you have a kitchen you have everything you need to eat out on your Private balcony.

I think my one negative of the chill house is that they will take your deposit via PayPal but then only accept cash for the rest. They do make this clear when you book and I'd simply forgotten, but the nearest cash machine is an ATV ride away and considering it was the most expensive place we stayed in Costa Rica the total price was over the daily limit to withdraw cash and ended up costing £12 in ATM charges. I'd much have rather paid on card or via PayPal.

Not to end on a negative note, it was a really relaxing stay in a place that could cost a fortune in other parts of the world or perhaps even Costa Rica, so is great value.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

This place is just amazing! We stayed here for 11 nights and it was just great. We had a suite loft, which can host four people, but we only were two. The room has a very high ceiling, is open and full of light. It is nicely decorated and equipped with a kitchen, holding everything you need. The terace and the pool area also is decorated with much love for the details and very very nice to hang out, if you did not already hang out on your own private deck on the swing bed! The staff is very friendly and helpful, you feel at ease the moment you get there!

It is located up a hill, which makes coming home a bit of a workout, i liked it. And it is clearly stated on the website that you have to go up the hill. But it is more than worth it!!! I would highly recommend canaima chill house to every traveller who does not like to stay in hostels (like you did wen you were around twenty), but who still wants to be easy, a bit hippie, relaxed, just chilling.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank clawdytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at Canaima for 10 days, and could have stayed so much longer! The rooms are beatifull and clean, and the common areas lovely. The staff is really helpfull and friendly, and the location is perfect. It is up a hill, wich means its quiet at night. Some people say the road leading up to the hotel is hard. We disagree. It is 400 m to walk, but we didnt mind it at all, and you dont have to rent an ATV. when you get down the hill, you are right on the beatiful beach. Also, there were good restaurants nearby. We felt we were living in the jungel, with monkeys and frogs right outside. After beach we chilled out in the pool, and then in the jaccusi. Cant come up with a single negative thing to say about this place. If you are going to santa teresa, this is the place to stay. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Unfortunately did not stay here during this visit, but the whole family took surf lessons from the owner Juan Carlos, who simply is the best!!. Very patient and knowledgeable. Could not ask for better customer service. Speaks flawless English. Can't wait to come back for more.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#15 of 27 in Santa Teresa
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#14 of 27 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fuego Lodge
Fuego Lodge
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaima Chill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaima Chill House

Address: 400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: £68 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canaima Chill House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Eco Chic hotel" is a jungle oasis, only 500 meters away from one of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica.In Canaima Chill House, luxury is experienced in harmony with nature and simple sensations such as, relaxing on a bamboo hanging bed, listening to the amazing sounds of the jungle or chilling in our "pillow swimming pool".Sensations which are hard to explain, sensations which are simple to feel.- 4 Suites (for 2 people)- 4 suites-loft (up to 4 people)- Swimming Pool- Chill Deck- Outdoor Jacuzzi- WI-FI- Personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Canaima Chill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaima Chill House Hotel Santa Teresa
Canaima Chill House Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing